We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A True Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zaharias Taverna

Zaharias Taverna
Ranked #10 of 80 Restaurants in Kissamos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $21
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional Greek food. We use only locally produced food of the highest quality. We also produce our own wine and Raki. We are open for breakfast until late and offer free wifi and a very friendly welcome.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A True Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We "happened" upon this delightful taverna while exploring the west end of Crete as a group of 8. The meal was outstanding... the best that we enjoyed while on this island. The owner created a meal for us that was absolutely delicious from start to finish. All 8 of us would strongly recommend Zaharias to anyone fortunate enough to be traveling in the area. It made for a great "grand finale" for our vacation!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    100
    45
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An unexpected delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Saw this attractive taverna from the car on our way through Platanos, and stopped for lunch. What a pleasant surprise. We were greeted by the friendly owner who spoke perfect English, and was the spitting image of (the late) Richard Todd the actor. His own fresh farm-grown produce was amazing, and we were treated like VIPs. He showed us his small family museum inside the taverna -- quite fascinating. We'll definitely be going there again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank das_hms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Laid back atmosphere and great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

What a wonderful surprise to find this taverna on our way back to Chania from Falassarna Beach!

We loved the place, it's ambience, food and laid back feel so much that we kept going back.

One of our favourites was the stuffed zucchini flowers (local specialty), which goes really well with their great tzatziki. We also shared one of their oven-baked chicken dishes…and it was delicious.

The staff was wonderful and very interesting to talk to…in several languages too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DuoCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and great welcome we would definately go here again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

The food was very good quality and there was plenty of choice available, the staff also gave good advice about what to choose and were so friendly and helpful. We went on several occasions whilst on holiday as it was the best in the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WaleshappyShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greetham, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous place, fabulaous time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We visited this taverna several times during our stay in the area. The food is excellent with excellent ( very friendly) staff and service.
Don't hestitate to try the tradional greek dishes like the cuttlefish stuffed with feta and the goat casserole.
We will certainly be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaharias Taverna also viewed

Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
 
Kaliviani, Kissamos
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Zaharias Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing