We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lacking cretan hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rooms and Studios Bikakis Family
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Kissamos
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have been coming to crete for many years and generally the level of hospitality we have received has been excellent. I am afraid however that our short stay at Dukakis rooms was the exception. Maybe we got them on a bad day but the welcome we received was poor and any other interaction was equally disappointing. The rooms were ok-ish but we won't be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alasdair m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 138 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had researched what was available in the area and did a 'walk round' before enquiring if rooms available. We stayed 8 days here and can recommend. The room was tastefully decorated, the shower curtain kept water within the shower tray (a new experience!) and was plenty of hot water. there is a room safe too.
The buffet breakfast would do credit to a much larger establishment.
These rooms are close to the bus office making it easy to visit other resorts if you are reliant upon public transport. We found the family helpful and informative.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eurogit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Pluses:

Normal B&B for not longer than 4nights stay, budget. Very good localization - only 300m walking distance to the beach. If you are lucky then you'd get a room with seaside view.
It's well-situated also for public transport (ktel) if you want to organize some trips around without having car, then you've no problem as the bus stop is 100m away and the sign 'Bikakis Family apartments' is shown as well.
There's Carrefour and few mini markets closely.
Quite quiet area (except some voices of nature like birds or insects).
Bed linen and towels included in price. Room was okay with private bathroom. No TV-set in the room. Fridge worked fine.
You could find few shops, gyros restaurants, taverna and bars nearbly.

Minuses:

Air-conditioning for extra charge. No stuff at the hotel, so there was no one competent to welcome us, do check-in and show the room, after few calls made by Greek woman one of man came to us and showed everything. The same situation while check-out.
Wifi worked terribly, there was no connection each time you tried to connect so I had to restart main portal manually then it worked for 30minutes only and the problem continued.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karin861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

After an exciting bus journey from Elafonisi which required us to change bus, and involved a rather precarious incident whereby we were nearly seperated from our bags were it not for us desperately banging on the side of the bus to make it stop, we eventually arrived in Kissamos, and luckily for the Bikakis family, the first thing we saw was a sign for "Rooms to Rent" guiding us 50m down from the bus station.
We stumbled upon the building; some children and presumably grandparents were sitting outside on the patio. The fact that no one could speak English apart from the word "room" did not put us off, and alas Giannis (the owner) soon turned up. Giannis, making good use of his Greek negotiation skills, began to tell us the prices of how much it would be to stay the night, the price of breakfast, would we like to buy tickets for Balos beach etc.
Bamboozled by the situation, and tired from the long bus journey, our negotiation skills were not up to match. However we did manage to agree a fee of €35 for the room, with a free breakfast.
In order to make us feel like we had got a "deal", Giannis patted me on the back and then proceeded to whisper that the "people upstairs had paid €45 for a room with breakfast" and that it would be good if we "didn't tell them" about our deal.
Feeling like like "special guests" we then went to the room. It was a very nice room with a very nice view. A small balcony allowed us to sit outside and admire the good sea/ orchard view which was on offer. The downside was that air-conditioning incurred an additional €5 charge, which we could not afford, and that the free Wi-Fi only worked in the kitchen area and did not work in the room.
Giannis was equally puzzled by the fact that the Wi-Fi did not work in the room.
When we went into the kitchen area to connect to the Wi-Fi, Giannis was very apologetic and expressed his puzzlement as to why the Wi-Fi did not work in the rooms. He pointed at the various routers plonked in the corridor and explained that "someone is coming tomorrow" to fix the connection. You can't criticise his lack of effort, and at least we were able to connect to the internet in the kitchen area.
Giannis let us take a knife and a plate into our room that night to have our own snacks which we had bought in the local market. We went out and explored the town of Kissamos, which is much less touristy and much more Greek than some places in Crete. Although it may seem funny to see lots of different children driving motorbikes be careful when crossing the roads!
The next morning we got up early for breakfast and the other guests eyed us with wry smiles as we made our way to the buffet. Perhaps Giannis had told them they had received a breakfast deal too and to keep quiet about it to other guests - if so- you have to congratulate Giannis on concocting a fool-proof web-of-lies to make everyone feel like special guests. It kind of works I guess.
The breakfast was VERY good. Even if we had paid for it I think it would have been worth it. There was bread, ham, cheese, tomato, cucumber, tea, coffee, yoghurt, cereal, cake amongst others and all as much as you want. Perfect for filling up for the busy day ahead. The grandmother-type figure who knew no English started talking to me in Greek as I was filling up my coffee cup. She talked for quite along time. When she stopped, I nodded my head and puffed some air out of my nostrils in an attempt at a laugh hoping that what she had said had been a joke of some kind. Obviously this was not the reaction she had been hoping for because she looked at me, then turned around and went back outside. If the "family feel" you are hoping for is "crazy old grandmother" then I think you've found your hostel! I am joking, but seriously I didn't have a clue what she was talking about.
Giannis was there providing a friendly service- also perhaps making sure no one was about to unravel his web-of-lies...
After breakfast we paid for everything, Giannis told us how to get to Gramvousa (Balos beach) and we bought some boat tickets from him ( €25 each, but it is the same price as at the ticket booth).
The tickets to the port can be bought from right outside Bikakis's place (the bus station- the place where the bus from Chania/ Elafonisi stops).
All in all, it was a good stay. It would have got 5 stars if the air conditioning had been free, but maybe if your negotiating skills are better than mine you might be able to talk Giannis into it.
I doubt it though,- the man draws a hard bargain.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

with my boy friend we stay for 2 days in the rooms of familybikakis and we enjoy our stay , the mother of the 2 boys she is perfect person and always very nice and smile woman , she give to me same pies very nice we like it .The rooms are clean and nice ,they have ac and ventilator, the wifi is free they give you and cattle if you like , we give 30 euro per day and the breakfast so big and nice .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ariana p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

we stay 3 days with the familybikakis nice experience to stay with the cretan family we like and we go again , the rooms are not so big but very clean from the balcony we enjoy the view to the sea and garden antonis he help me for my tours to balos and falasarna ,we go again in September.

Room Tip: nice rooms and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Everything about Bikakis hotels is worth remembering. The hospitality, the smiley hosts, the breakfast and the quality of the accomodation. All the rooms have a fabulous sea view, which you can enjoy in the spacious balcony. There is a welcoming family feel, which makes the stay very enjoyable. I felt welcomed, looked after and I have been offered the opportunity to experience and be part of the Greek culture. This afternoon when I came back from the beach, the hosts Antonis and Yiannis said to me "Welcome home". This was a moment that I will treasure. Some of the advantages of staying at Bikakis' accomodation were the easy connection to nearby beaches such as "Falasarna" and "Elafonhsi" and the handy links to local businesses (car rental companies).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kissamos hotels
0.2 mi away
Mirtilos Studios & Apartments
1.2 mi away
Mediterranean Studios Apartments
0.3 mi away
Galini Beach Hotel
Galini Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kissamos
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kissamos
Hotel Kissamos
#6 of 18 in Kissamos
184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Christina Beach Hotel
Christina Beach Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kissamos
204 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hermes
Hotel Hermes
#17 of 18 in Kissamos
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms and Studios Bikakis Family? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms and Studios Bikakis Family

Address: Polemiston 1941, Kissamos, Crete 734 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kissamos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Kissamos
Price Range: $22 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Rooms and Studios Bikakis Family 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a beautiful family environment you can really enjoy your vacations either in summer or winter time. "Family Bikakis" rooms and apartments are located just 250 metres from the beautiful beach of Telonio in Kissamos , they are very equipped with all the necessities that insure a very comfortable stay . All rooms and apartments have balcony with a very nice view , a mini fridge , electric fan , electric boiler and some of them have air conditioner and there is also central heating for winter time . We offer breakfast in our cafe - TV bar or in your room . While taking your vacation you can visit some of the most interesting and beautiful places in West Crete . Crete Bus Service Motofun Autofun bike & car rental With us you will enjoy the well known hospitality of "Family Bikakis" that guarantees your vacation to be one of the most unforgettable . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Rooms and Studios Bikakis Family reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooms And Studios Bikakis Family Kissamos, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing