We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Preserved, natural, but not always nudist.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kedrodasos Beach

Kedrodasos Beach
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Kissamos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the best beaches in Chania prefecture, quite untouched and unexplored. Many travelers use the area around the beach as a free camping spot. It is actually a cedar forest next to the beach. It is also a favorite beach for naturists. The road up to Elafonisi is quite good and then you need to take a non asphalt road for about 10 minutes. Then you also need to take a walk path for another 15-20 minutes. No matter the time you will need to go there, it's sure that you will enjoy that unique beach.
St-Laurent du Var, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Preserved, natural, but not always nudist.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

In July 2014, we struggled looking for this "nudist beach".
Thanks to this conversation, we decided to ask the locals to explain us where to go to reach this beach. We finally found someone who explained us this (and it was clear enough):
When you go down to Elafonissos by car, after having passed many green-houses, you will get a sign on your left, to Sklavopoulos, take this direction. The road will then become a track; at the first intersection like a T, go left; a the second T intersection, go right, and then drive during around 1 or 2 kilometers, following the yellow arrows, until you reach a parking place.
We were surprised to see all people with clothes; so at the end of the beach, we removed out clothes; a few hours later, another couple joined us naked as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
12 Thank Olivier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    28
    7
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Gorgeous beach - very quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

This beach is close to elafonisi but it is much quieter and just as beautiful. It is difficult to find but if you turn off left on the dirt road signposted for paleochora before you reach elafonisi and look out for little yellow signposts you will eventually (after going through a lot of greenhouses!) reach a car park by a little stone hut. There is a path down to the beach from there. We went on a beautiful day in May and there were a total of ten people that I could see on the whole beach. The water is warm and calm and there are plenty of rocks to shelter behind if it is a bit breezy. Absolutely stunning! There are no sunbeds or cantinas so bring whatever you need and take your rubbish away with you - it is also a nature reserve due to the juniper trees that grow along the shoreline.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammerfest, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A nice and unspoiled beacharea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I went there this summer with a friend. It was many people around, many of them using it for a freecampingarea. We went away from the mainbeach and found a small bay where we were more or less alone, just slept on the beach with a sheet under us and a thin sleeping bag on top of us.
The best with the area is that it is not very crowded and that it has several small beaches where you also can have some privacy. It is also a area were it is ok to be nude, and with clothes on, all after what suits you most..

The area is also a kind of protected area as most of the trees there are cedar trees that are protected by the government.

The beach is not so populated due to the fact that you either need to walk for half an hour or more or drive ten minutes on a bumpy dirtroad with bad signing. Just positive in my mind :-)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank roytoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
339 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Nice small beach with clear clear water”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Rather congested around the rocks. Well placed though for local food and refreshment and sun loungers and umbrellas available.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Reports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

No words to describe that place. Just wonderful. Nothing to add
It's also a nudist beach

Please don't ruin the beach!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank LumbardaDOCG D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kedrodasos Beach also viewed

Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
 
Falassarna, Chania Prefecture
Akrotiri, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Kedrodasos Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing