We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope I´ll see you again!”
Review of Sunny Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunny Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Kissamos
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hope I´ll see you again!”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Me and my husband have stayed in Sunny Bay in June 2010 and June 2011 and we hope to be back in summer 2012. The rooms (with seaview ) are really great. The pool is big enough if you want to stay there and the beach is clean and great for swimming. The staff is really great, specially Stavroula the owner is very kind and helpful. The breakfast is quite allright and you don´t leave the table hungry! I strongly recommend this hotel if you want peace, quiete and a relaxing holiday in a nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: Rooms with seaview are just wonderful and great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inkkuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    90
    20
    8
    0
See reviews for
76
104
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I stayed here for two weeks in June 2011.This is a family run hotel and the standard of service was excellent. The facilities were more than adequate but the main feature I should like to comment on is the genuine friendliness and helpful attitude of all members of staff. Nothing was too much trouble and I whole-heartedly recommend this hotel for a relaxing holiday on a beautiful island.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TomTom5959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I ve been twice at Sunny Bay Hotel with my familly and for sure we will come back again!It is a lovely family rated hotel with an excellent hospitability that makes you feel like being at home!The owners Roula and Nikos are always happy and available to fulfill any wish you have ,while their son Kostas has the best service at the pool bar (best cockteils too!).The rest of the stuff is very kind and well trained.The rooms are big and clean with nice balcon either with sea or pool view.The philosophy of the owners concerning the food (breakfast and dinner) is that quality is above quantity!We agree!Besides the hotel is at the proper position to visit wonderful places of Chania!Thank you for making our summer holidays,a summer dream!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louizan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Sunny Bay hotel is worth recommending. The personnel is very polite, the rooms are clean and the food is very good. There is a wonderful atmosphere there. A brilliant view from the rooms on the beach and the sea, which is next to the hotel. Kissamos is a charming town, quiet and peaceful. I hope that I will go to Sunny Bay next holidays :)

Room Tip: Rooms with view on the sea are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MajaaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

STaff and pool are very nice but that's all. Food is very narrow in its variety and sometimes very much stinking with heavy pork. We went on HB and in fact after a nice meal in tavernas we ate only some vegies for dinner as there was anything tasty. Food is for 1 or 2* hotel.

Side sea view rooms are very windy - wind noisy whistling under the entrance door to the room so we felt more like in Siberia, we had to use towels to clog it. SO if you have choice - we didn't - choose rooms with sea view - north exposure.

The beach very pebble one and small , no walk along the beach possible due to big stones uncomfortable to walk.

In the sorrounding many not finished houses (the Greeks had their house credits turned down and as they spent it on living and not building ...) look like in a poor or after-war area, so it does not seem like pleasent view and reminds you smth did not very well in the place - meaning no escape from reality.

The hotel has no garden or grass area. No trees in the area either. If you look for cicadas - not there.

A very windy area.

Cheap car rentals - Seicento even 20EUR/day if you feel safe in such a car.

Room Tip: north exposure - sea or swimming-pool some of the rooms have exposure on the staircase - you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WarsawEdyta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnver, Manager at Sunny Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Edyta
Concerning the food we cannot change your opinion. May you prefer other type of cousin but I would like to inform you that all the meats are fresh and high quality, from local butcher and cooked every day in the hotel.
About the room, you are the first who didn’t like the room in front of the sea, even with wind. The winds are happened and we cannot change them, but is not all the time and of course is not like Siberia.
The surrounding not finish buildings are some under constriction new houses and there are no so many. Kissamos is a calm, country place, so don’t compare it with a capital. Unless you escape better from reality in places like Manhattan.
About the green and trees? I don’t know… look at the pictures you caught in the hotel!
I think you're a little unfair with your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

In Kissamos this is the best place with a pool behind and sea in front of the hotel.
Accomadation is new and proper run by a nice and warm family from Creta Topolia
Kissamos is a nice little town with still a lot of rest and a nice long beach with more places to visit a long the whole beach: pirate beach, camping beach, several hidden restaurants etc.
From Kissamos you can visit world best beaches Balos by boattrip and Elafonissos, and Falasarna ( sunset ! ) by car. Also Hania is only 35 km. This side of the Island is still quiet !!! Kids loved to swim in theHotel-pool and the sea. We stayed in a room with seaview! We will be back if we have money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ben k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We loved the hotel. The room was great and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorwayVero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kissamos hotels
0.0 mi away
Galini Beach Hotel
Galini Beach Hotel
#2 of 16 in Kissamos
388 reviews
3.4 mi away
Balos Beach
Balos Beach
#1 of 2 in Kaliviani
411 reviews
0.6 mi away
Christina Beach Hotel
Christina Beach Hotel
#6 of 16 in Kissamos
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#1 of 16 in Kissamos
345 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nautilus Bay Hotel
Nautilus Bay Hotel
#4 of 16 in Kissamos
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mirtilos Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Bay Hotel

Property: Sunny Bay Hotel
Address: Kastelli Kissamos, Kissamos, Crete 734 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kissamos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kissamos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kissamos
#9 Family Hotel in Kissamos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunny Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the sandy beachfront of Kissamos, Sunny Bay Hotel offers accommodation with sea or pool views, traditional Cretan cuisine and free Wi-fi. Kissamos's centre is an easy 10-minute walk. Sunny Bay's restaurant serves an extensive buffet of local and international dishes during breakfast and dinner. The indoor and pool bars are perfect for drinks. Staff can provide beach umbrellas or arrange bicycle rental. Sunny Bay features a games area with table tennis and billiards. An on-site store is available for necessities. Each air-conditioned room includes a private balcony with seating. Rooms also feature satellite TVs and well-stocked mini bars. Famous Falassarna beach is just 15 km away and the archaeological site of Polyrinia is only a 10-minute drive. Chania Airport is 50 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Sunny Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Bay Hotel Kissamos, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing