We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Kissamos
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  
Ways to Experience Balos Lagoon
from $43.20
More Info
from $511.58
More Info
from $773.06
More Info
Reviews (9,770)
Filter reviews
9,770 results
Traveler rating
7,134
1,722
588
215
111
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
7,134
1,722
588
215
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dirt road beautiful beach boat trip kissamos port donkey taxi flip flops rental car parking place parking space white sand worth the effort by foot an umbrella warm water breathtaking views an adventure natural beauty
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 9,770 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

One of the most beautiful beaches and places I have ever seen! The water is so clear. The colors are amazing. The sand is so fine! You simply don't want to leave when you are there despite the fact that there are a lot of people there!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Florencer282018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My rating is just for the lagoon and water not taking in consideration the conditions and the crowds. Apart the fact that is windy, i really liked the sand, the pink sand and one of the best azzure water colors that i’ve saw.
We went there by boat from kissamos(cretan daily cruises - reviewed also). The boat had the 1st stop at Balos lagoon and we were lucky to spend 3h here. Half an hour before our departure another big boat arrived and in 10 min the people were swarming the beach.
I don’t know how the road is but from the sea we could see a long vehicle queue parked(boat left at 11:20) so i believe there will be at least 1km to the point that we have to descent to the lagoon itself.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank 767catalinr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited by car so cannot comment on walking or by boat.
The views from afar of this beach are amazing and extremely inviting, however sometimes the wrapper is better than the chocolate inside.

Getting There.
1. An 11km drive down a very stony bumpy track, narrow in places and lacking guard rails. Nervous or non confident drivers just drive on by.
2. Carpark is full very early so expect to park on the road and walk. (We arrived before 11am and had to walk nearly 1km)
3. There are two toilets in the carpark, but very aromatic and take own paper.
A few minutes walk from the car park gives you an amazing view of the beach and lagoon.

Getting to The beach and Lagoon.
1. A long walk (30min) down the side of a cliff on a mainly steep uneven path (you've got to be fit.) And feels even longer walking back up. DO NOT TAKE YOUNG CHILDREN. Every child we saw on the path was in tears.

Beach and Lagoon.
1. Toilets, beds, umbrellas and refreshments available on the beach.
2. The lagoon has a sandy muddy bottom, and the smell reminds you of the toilets in the carpark.
3. The beach area has better sand and clearer water but attacts visitors.
4. It gets very busy. The beach is busy from visitors that have driven, but then the boats arrived. 1st boat arrived and 100-200 people walked off. The 2nd larger boat arrived (car ferry) and probably 1000 people walked off completely flooding, and overcrowding, the beach.
5. No natural shade on the beach.
6. Very windy
7. Refreshment prices are very reasonable.

Leaving.
1. A long steep walk back up the cliff
2. If you've parked on the road you need to turn around, not easy on a narrow track with a long drop.
3. Space can be tight when passing vehicles coming the other way, and some don't seem to be very patient.

Summary
It looks lovely from the pictures, and from afar. Doesn't live up to the hype. There are many other beaches in Crete that are just as nice and nmuch easier to get to. If you're going to go then go early and leave before the boats arrive (midday).

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful place. We ended up taking a boat from Kissamos since we had two toddlers along. Warm, shallow, crystal clear water. A must-do when in Crete.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Rebeccah1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice lagoon. The full view only opens when climbing up. Definitely worth seeing and taking amazing photos.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Marykasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews