We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MUST VISIT IF YOU ARE GOING TO CRETE”

Balos Beach and Lagoon
Book In Advance
More Info
$182.83*
and up
Full-day Tour of Balos and Gramvousa by Boat with Diving
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Kissamos
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Strumica, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“MUST VISIT IF YOU ARE GOING TO CRETE”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This beach/lagoon is the best i've ever been in my life. Great crystal water,pink sand simply amazing. We went there from Chania with bus and its one and a half hour ride.First you go to Kissamos and from there u can pick if u want to go with bus (and change the bus there is one older bus who goes to Balos) or to go to the port and go with boat. The road is kinda crazy with rocks and stuff and u will go like half hour at max speed od 20 km/h. After that there is 2.2 km walking through the mountain and the rocks, but when u reach that spot where u can see the whole lagoon u forget about the trip and the traveling.You feel like u are on some other world or lets say paradise. its amazing i dont have enough words to describe Balos. So if u ever go to Crete this beach is MUST VISIT

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Krste91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,193
    926
    292
    117
    46
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful to see, not so friendly in person”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The beach and lagoon are amazing and beautiful. The only issue was it was so windy that it was impossible to enjoy. Many people were taking shelter in the little cafe on the beach. The wind howled with a noise that made it impossible to relax or sleep and then the sand constantly blasting us made us want to leave very shortly after arriving.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ed72oc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“WILL NOT DISAPOINT, WORTH THE DRIVE FROM HERAKLION!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

MOST BEAUTIFUL BEACH I’VE EVER BEEN TO! IF DRIVING, LIKE US: We used google maps/ gps. Add 30 mins to your calculations, the last part of drive does not work on the google maps. Follow E75-90 east bound. Highway name will change to something like E67-90 after Heraklion, before Chania, keep going. Highway will end on it’s own & turn into a smaller busier street. When roads get tight, follow signs to Neo Chorio / Kaliviani / Balos. U will pass through Neo Chorio 1st, then Kaliviani 2nd, then into the Balos peninsula. Memorize your path, there aren’t signs when u leave to help u get back on the highway! Pass the Balos Beach Hotel to start your dirt road journey that take 30mins! Costs is 1 or 2E per person (July 2014) to access Peninsula, regardless if u visit beach or not. 90% of road is dirt. YouTube videos don’t look bad, but it is. Road is full of sharp rocks that don’t budge = flat tires / motion sickness / sore neck / damaged cars. Goats all over the place. There are local vendors selling items on dirt road. Buses go down here, be careful! Parking lot fills up fast, many have to part on road, turning the road into a single lane. FOR THOSE ALLERGIC TO BEES! Bring your EPI-PEN! We passed 600 or so bee hives, bees r everywhere on the road, some even visited us all the way to the beach. Never got stung. BATHROOM in parking lot is disgusting, it a dirty hole in the floor India / China style contraption costs 50 cents. No umbrellas of ur own allowed, u must rent. Price = 6E for 2 chairs & 1 umbrella (JULY 2014). Ticketing guy will visit you on the beach. Is a 30 min hike from parking lot to beach! Leave heavy plastic coolers at home, opt for lightweight, soft lunch pack. Wear sneakers! There are spots to stop for rest & photographs. ATTN PHOTOGRAPHERS: Balos lagoon is best lit in AM before Noon. Around 12:30 ferrys will enter the harbour & park there all day. High noon makes the water look more turquoise & the sand more pink. At sunset, the sun will be behind the Tigani, & boats have left, for a great pic. Bring your wide angle / fish eye lens. There are snack bars at beach, I did not use. Bathrooms are very far walk from snack bar, I did not use. There are nearby changing stations & clean water rinse off. Trash barrels far away, fill up fast. Sand is nice pink, lots of small seashells. Some trash, lots of tar balls, I sat on one & stained my bathing suit. Partial nudity allowed. Deep areas for snorkeling, shallow areas for playing, I just wish the water was a little warmer. U are allowed to walk the entire Tigani if u desire. Small rickety wooden dock near local small boats, cool for taking pics.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank CurlieQ42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing scenery, hard access”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Balos beach is very beautiful with shallow crystal clear water. You need to walk a lot in the water if you want to swim. The lagoon itself is not very pleasant - water is very shallow and hot, and smells like sulfur.
Access by boat is slow - 1 hour from port of Kissamos, and 10 minutes walking among the rocks from the boat to a good part of the beach.
If you are looking for the perfect beach, I would recommend visiting Elafonissi instead of Balos.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilian359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great beach, please preserve it”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Balos beach was known to very few locals until a couple of decades ago. The first time I went there I was astonished by the beathtaking scenary, the clear warm waters of the lake and the sea. Everytime I visit since then, I am disappointed to see that the place is slowly deteriorating. The first thing that comes to mind is that there should be a limit on how many can swim at Balos at the same time! I hope that the locals and the authorities react properly to protect the place.
In any case, if you have not seen the place at its original state it's certainly worth to visit. You can take the boat from the port of Kissimos and get there. You probably need to book in advance during the peak season (July-August).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank e m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balos Beach and Lagoon also viewed

Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
Akrotiri, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Balos Beach and Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing