We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Sceneary”

Balos Beach and Lagoon
Book In Advance
More Info
$182.83*
and up
Full-day Tour of Balos and Gramvousa by Boat with Diving
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Kissamos
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
83 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sceneary”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were not sure if we could get there by my hired old car (Hyundai Getz) or better to take a organised boat tour, because some reviews said that 4x4 was essential. After checking several pictures of the rocky dirt road on Google Photo, we decided to go by our car, and we made a good decision at the end.
It was true that the 7km road between the Front Gate (paying Euro1 per person) and the car park was very rocky and dirt. But there were many small normal cars at the front/behind of us as well as in the car park. Also, the sharpest slope in the middle of rocky road was paved. So, you do not need to worry anything as long as you drive carefully and slowly.

Tip One: If you are easy to get car-sick, going by a car is not recommended. Your body will be shaken all the way by rocky road for 7km. Your beautiful beach holiday will be spoiled if you got car sick.
Tip Two: If you go there by a car, make sure you have enough fuel in the tank. You usually use 1st and 2nd speed gear all the way to the car park and back (14km in total).

After getting to the car park, you need to walk down to the beach for 20~30 minutes, but the sceneary is undescribable and stunning! We were so glad that we did not take the boat tour. Otherwise we would have missed this beautiful sceneary. Yes, on the way back to car park from beach was a bit tough. But we walked slowly, and it was not too hard.

There was a toilet in the car park (50 cent), and free toilets near beach.

This was one of the best beaches in Crete!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank mm_kiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,193
    926
    292
    117
    46
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Balos Lagoon”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Breathtaking Beach,for those who dare to walk a little bit further.
No facilities down there, Only you the sea and the sun!
So be prepared to spend the day there, and have a light,torch in order to return safely.
You can enjoy the sunset from the hill over the beach.

AAA Class Sunset View

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lefteris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“secret beach”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

one of the best beaches I've been to. Worth the dangerous drive up the mountain. There's a short hike down to the beach as well. Definitely leave a day to spend at this beach.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

One of the best beaches I have seen! We decided to drive after a few local people told us that it wouldn't be a problem and that apparently the boat is very crowded and stops at a nearby island first for 3hrs with no beach which we didn't fancy!
Was an of road dirt track along the cliffs for about 1/2hr which was an interesting drive!!!! was abit worried about tyres as it was a small rental car and read a few reviews about should only do it in a 4x4. Was fine though and at the car park there were about 50 cars parked in there (no one had a 4x4)

1/2hr walk down cliff path to beach. We had a 16month year old to carry and three year old which walked it both ways so if she can do it!! There are donkeys to take people up and down but weren't any when we were coming up, typical! Beautiful beach was told not to swim in the lagoon bit on left due to water being dirty with all the people that have swum in it so we swam on the open sea part but was definitely worth the trip as was very beautiful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxanneandfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Just amazing”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The perfect beach. The road is not that easy, but any kind of car are able to reach the parking area. From there you have to walk almost 30 minutes but it worth. The view from the hills are great. You will find at the beach a bar with food and drinks.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ulysses F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balos Beach and Lagoon also viewed

Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
Akrotiri, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Balos Beach and Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing