We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food! Amazing Service!”
Review of Can Pope

Can Pope
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $36
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 4, 2019 via mobile

We have been traveling all Spain for almost 2 months now, and we can conclude that from 3 michelin stars restaurants to chiringuitos de playa, Spanish cuisine is one of the best ones in the world.
Can Pope is no exception; we had a great lunch today and left completely satisfied.
As started with had the spicy steak tartare with fries... it was delicious. For the main course we tried the rabbit and the black rice, Both dishes were excellent. They are made in a closed charcoal oven , and you can definitely feel the flavor and freshness of the ingredients. We also had 2 desserts, both of them homemade and recommended by the house, one of them is a Rumanian dessert we have never tried before and it was a great surprise. We ended with a couple of orujos and some homemade blueberry chupitos out of this world.
Owner ( chef) and wife ( pastry chef) are very attentive and you can tell put a lot of detail into everything, Restrooms were very clean as well.
The pre-set menu, that offers you many options comes with wine & coffee. Excellent price/quality relationship.

Date of visit: January 2019
2  Thank cxcastano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 479 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2018

The owner is very nice. The restaurant looks great and the food is fantastic. We enjoyed the evening very much.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Harel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2018 via mobile

We visit this restaurant for a lunch every time we are in Sant Feliu de Guíxols, so now it's time to write a review.
I usually go for the seafood dishes, so also this time. The starter, a "cod flan", was quite innovative and very delicious. Their fideua couldn't be better. Both set menus are good and value for money.
In addition to good food and wine, the ambiance is something special due to the friendly owner and his staff.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank gxnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018 via mobile

The menu was very tasty. Tartar steak that was not hand cut, was with machine. The main course was black rice that was great and also caldoso rice similar than paella but with little soup. Both paellas were delicious . Service was also great.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Santi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018

This is a must visit. The food is excellent, diverse, and prepared with real care. The staff wonderful. Family members dedicated to providing an wonderful experience. Make reservations - it gets very busy. then sit back and enjoy the experience.

Date of visit: November 2017
2  Thank YR-LGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Can Pope also viewed

Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
Sant Feliu de Guixols, Costa Brava
 
Sant Feliu de Guixols, Costa Brava
Sant Feliu de Guixols, Costa Brava
 
Sant Feliu de Guixols, Costa Brava
Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
 

Been to Can Pope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing