We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveler rating
39
67
37
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
39
67
37
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews food was average amazing views very nice hotel lovely town sea view costa brava pau barman toiletries vegetables terrace bay euros hill barcelona
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 159 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

An hour and a half from Barcelona, what a lovely town Sant Feliu is, and what a nice hotel Montjoi is. As we arrived and parked under the trees in the dark, the hotel seemed a twinkly haven on the hill. In the morning it was clear that, with our sea view, we had found a wonderful holiday home.

A short walk from the beach and town, it was a pleasure to wander into the pretty town and lie on the sandy beach. The hotel pool was refreshing and clean, and the sun deck is a pleasant place to relax.

Most evenings there was music on the terrace, and on our last night we enjoyed a magician. Our room had a balcony overlooking the terrace and looking out over the bay - a super view.

The food choices were pretty good, vegetables in particular were fresh and plentiful, though it would be nice to have freshly cooked eggs for breakfast (and nobody outside Britain understands bacon!)

Our teenagers were the oldest young ones, and the hotel seems to me to be ideal for families of all ages. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank DunxEnright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BravaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Montjoi by Brava Hoteles, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

Dear Duncan E,

Thank you for reviewing positively your stay in our hotel. Reviews like yours encourage us to keep working and striving to offer the best of us.
We hope to see you soon again in our hotels.

Thanks for your confidence,
Brava Hoteles’ Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

We visited the Montjoi on what was probably the last weekend of Summer. But neither the hotel nor the town felt crowded or rushed, which was a good start.

Even better, we arrived early (before 11am) but had the room ready. I guess this is more down to luck than anything else, but it is still a positive note.

The Montjoi is a very nice hotel, super clean, with comfortable rooms, and a killer view of the beach. It seats on a hill, which might be a challenge for people with mobility problems.

Our room was a sea-view one, and I definitely recommend that. I don't think the room is any better than the rest, but waking up with the sun and the sea is priceless.

The rooms are well kept, simple, comfortable, and of a reasonable size, and, aside from a kettle, it has everything that you need, including good and free wi-fi.

Bathroom is huge (ours had a whirlpool tub), but I think they could have done better with the toiletries. Little sachets of shampoo and mini soaps feel unnecessarily cheap.

The pool is large and sunny, and overlooks the sea too. A good place to relax after the long walk through the Cami de Ronda (the coastal path -- more on that later)

The only other service we used from the hotel was breakfast. This is not my favourite part of the day: to wake up and see the spectacle of people piling up food on their plates. A good breakfast for me has one croissant, coffee, and orange juice. Unfortunately the hotel let me down on 2 of those things. The coffee from the machine is seriously bad, and the orange juice is not even remotely fresh. But I completely understand the challenges of offering breakfast and catering to so many people and tastes at the same time.

All in all, a good experience, and I will certainly be back there for another weekend break..

Saint Feliu Guixols is amazingly quiet for a town in Costa Brava. 40 km south, Tossa del Mar seems to keep all the tourists in, which is great. You can see it at night, where most people going out for dinner are locals with their families. The beach close to the hotel is very nice, but without a question, the main attraction of the region is the Cami de Ronda. It is a coastal path way of about 6 km (it actually can go on for much longer) that takes you to the next two beaches (Sant Pol) and further down Sa Conca, which is worth the walk. Through out the way there are many natural pools to try and breathtaking views. It goes up and down lots of stairs, but the trail is completely safe and well marked.

I definitely recommend a weekend there if you are in Barcelona. It is just 1 hour driving.

Room tip: go for a room with a sea view and balcony
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jcn_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BravaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Montjoi by Brava Hoteles, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

Dear jcn_uk,

We really appreciate your comment about your stay in our hotel. We are really glad to read that you enjoyed your holidays with us and we will be very happy to welcome you at our hotels in the future.
Thank you for trusting us.

Best Regards,
Brava Hoteles’ Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

We stayed a week at the Hotel Montjoi in August and had a fantastic time. The hotel is in an incredible location, with wonderful views over the bay of Sant Feliu de Guixols. The staff are amazingly friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean, the food is tasty and the overall atmosphere pleasant and relaxing. There were a few little niggles such as the eggs and bacon being cold on a couple of mornings, which was disappointing, but as soon as I mentioned it they hastened to fix the situation. The barman by the pool was charming and always had a smile even when very busy. Entertainment in the evenings was also fun - bands most nights and a great magician on our last night. A warning about the pool - it is very nice, but with hardly any shallow end, so with children it is a little worrying. And despite the 9.5 feet depth, they say no diving. Air conditioning and wifi are very good and it's five minutes walk to the beach. Pool table and chess were fun in between all the swimming and eating. Loads of big pluses, but I think just a little more could be done considering the price - some nice shampoo and toiletries, tissues in the room...nothing enormous, just those few extra touches. But overall a brilliant stay.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusannaMaroti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BravaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Montjoi by Brava Hoteles, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Dear Susanna,

Thank you very much for reviewing positively your stay in our hotel. Comments like yours we like and we hope to see you soon again in our hotels.

Thanks for your confidence,
Brava Hoteles’ Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

Spent five great nights here in early June. Superb view of the bay from the small and vertiginous balcony. Plenty of free parking available, although we passed by a couple of weeks later and the car park was full. Buffet food was good. Staff were pleasant. The star of the restaurant was Anna P. from St. Petersburg who travels to the Costa Brava every summer to work for Brava Hotels. She glides around with calm and poise. A vision of beauty and fitness. A potential Bond Girl in the making!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ChekOwtCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BravaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Montjoi by Brava Hoteles, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Dear Charlie,

Thank you for reviewing positively your stay in our hotel. Reviews like yours encourage us to keep working and striving to offer the best of us.
We hope to see you soon again in our hotels.

Thanks for your confidence,
Brava Hoteles’ Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

Amazing views from through out the hotel. Nice, spacious room with strong air conditioning. Nice pool and grounds. Convenient and spacious parking.
What really makes Hotel Montjoi special is the staff and the food. The front desk staff was friendly, relaxed and welcoming when we arrived around 2:30 pm, and they were kind enough to let us know that their restaurant was open for lunch till 3 - and what a meal it was! For 17 euros we were treated to one of the best meals ever and the service was prompt, professional and courteous. Everything from the artistically arranged fruit salad, the pasta carbonara, grilled bass, a 1 1/4" thick veal steak to the exceptional deserts deserve praise. Despite arriving late, our service was among the best I've ever experienced - two young men provided formal service in a prompt, professional manner while being invisible (finished plates would seem to disappear, water glasses were mysteriously refilled and new courses appeared without interruption of our conversation - perfect!). The breakfast buffet was also superb.
That evening we walked through the hotel's common area (filled with families playing board games), and we went another level down to the outdoor patio with other guests to gaze at the harbor and sea. Again the staff was there to unobtrusively take care of our needs.
Bravo Hotel Montjoi!!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorCal-Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BravaHoteles, Director General at Hotel Montjoi by Brava Hoteles, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Dear NorCal-Joe,

We really appreciate your comment about your stay in our hotel. We are really glad to read that you enjoyed your holidays with us and we will be very happy to welcome you at our hotels in the future.
Thank you for trusting us.

Best Regards,
Brava Hoteles’ Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews