We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has been ...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parador de Tordesillas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parador de Tordesillas
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tordesillas
Soure
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Has been ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This Parador used to be a preferred choice for me for many years. Our last stays have however been a bit disappointing: rooms are still clean and fresh in summer, restaurant has little to do with their standards a few years ago (uninteresting food, expensive).
It still allows for a welcome stop in the way from France to Portugal, but for the price you can have better hotels and restaurants in the area.
It's a pitty this hotel is no more a good example of what spanish paradors used to be.
It would desserve a rebirth ...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Augusto_LHCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    246
    105
    29
    24
See reviews for
149
305
3
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tavira, Portugal
Level Contributor
179 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

This Parador is not as bad as some of the reviews suggest. Yes it does give the impression of being dingy, due to the low-power eco-bulbs they are using. Staff were in general fairly friendly - not much English was spoken but this is Spain!!! The rooms are largish with dark wood and old-fashioned furniture which also adds to the dinginess and the views out of the windows don't help either. But it is quiet. It is less than one kilometre from the centre of town in a wooded setting. There is plenty of parking, also indoor and outdoor pools. As a stop on the way to somewhere else it is sufficient.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I enjoyed my overnight stay at this Parador. Granted its not in town but it certainly was more than adequate for a comfortable over night stay after a rather rough ferry crossing from Portsmouth to Bilbao.

Our destination was Lagos in the western Algarve and we wanted to break the journey and enjoy a good nights sleep and a good meal in a decent hotel.

We are familiar with the Parador hotels and tend to enjoy staying in them.

The hotel and room were spotlessly clean - the service was good and the restaurant served up excellent regional wine and good local dishes.

The location is ideal as a stop over being close to the main roads heading south .

It worked for us and I would certainly use it again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loganjame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
123 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed three nights on business. The hotel was quiet throughout which meant a good nights sleep was had ! The bar and resturaunt were also quiet.
Menu was the same each night and food was ok but nothing really imaginative or remarkable.
The outdoor pool was drained at the time of my visit, the indoor pool was usable but very small.
The hotel is easily accessable and handily placed for onward journeys.
I found this a pretty much run of the mill, functional but unremarkable hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I like this hotel mainly as it is set in it own grounds and is nice and quiet with plenty of car parking. The rooms are large and extremely clean and the staff pleasant and helpful. The restaurant now opens at 8.30 pm where it used to be 9.00 pm. WiFi is available free in the public areas and no code is needed. If I remember correctly breakfast is €14 but if you have just coffee/tea and toast €4. I will be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMW8a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
509 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Parador Tordessillas was such a let down. We had stayed in so many fantastic Paradors that we could not believe our misfortune at arriving at the Parador Tordesillas. It's too far outside the town to walk in but that doesn't matter anyway. We thought our Sat Nav had malfunctioned when we arrived at the Parador. The words " You have reached your destination" were greeted with disbelief. Surely not we said. The Parador looks like a roadside motel. If we had not pre booked and paid we would have driven on. The welcome was not much better than the exterior. We were taken to a room on the ground floor near the swimming pool. The room was dark and depressing though spacious. A small barred window looked onto a very small and tired, neglected grass area. The swimming pool looks nothing like the online photos. Seats were left haphazardly around the pool. No cushions and little resemblance to the photos. Sad and neglected. The lofty bar/lounge is gloomy and soulless and the bespectled waitress looked equally as miserable. We decided to drive into Tordesillas in the hope of at least finding some culture. Oh dear. Tordesillas is like the place that time forgot. The Plaza Mayor is tired and miserable with a couple of grotty bar cafes. Further exploration only confirmed our first impressions.
Dinner that evening at the Parador was very poor and ridiculously priced. The same, miserable, bespectacled waitress was doing double duty in the restaurant and bar. Her demeanour had not improved, she was in fact downright sullen, to all the diners. There weren't many of us.
The following day we decide to visit Valladolid. What a beautiful city. Be careful about parking. If you see green signs DO NOT PARK. These are for residents only. A helpful traffic warden pointed this out to us and advised the underground car parks. Luckily we found an on street disabled bay not too far from the main square. If you want retail therapy Valladolid is for you.its really much too large to explore in a couplenof hours or so but still worth a visit. Drive around the outskirts and it's very attractive.
Reluctantly we headed back to the Parador. We decided to give the town another chance thinking that as it was Monday there might be more going on. We enquired, at hotel reception, about the church, the Convent and the Arab baths in the Convent. Our enquiries were met with much shoulder shrugging and don't know. Don't care comes to mind. Still, we got back in the car and drove up to the town. The place didn't look any different to the Sunday except for a few more tourists who didn't look very happy. The church was closed. Tourist information closed and the Convent and Arab Baths, you've guessed it, closed.
We returned to the Parador to pack and shower. A repeat of the previous nights dinner was not an option so we decided to have something in the gloomy bar from the not very inspiring bar menu. The only decent thing was a glass of Cava. The same waitress was on duty.
The following morning we rose early for breakfast,very eager to leave. Others seemed to have the same idea. The attitude was much the same. No smiles no welcome. Breakfast was okay but avoid the bread. I think it was bread. It was with much relief we checked out at 8.30 am.
We met other unhappy guests . whether anything will change I don't know. I can't think what would improve this Parador.
As for Tordesillas, the best thing about it is the view in the rear view mirror.

Room Tip: Don't bother. Don't go to this Parador.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldstar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Actually the mediocrity of the Spanish Paradors is not a bad thing as you know pretty well what you are going to get. They are always clean and the rooms are comfortable and often the buildings are splindid old castles. This one is not old but still comfortable. The negative is, as often the case, the poor quality mediocre food. And they charge top dollar for it too! Some of the extras like the free glass of Sherry with dinner and the sweeties at bedtime seem to have neen cut. Lastly why dont they have at least one BBC news channel?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seadog229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tordesillas
0.8 mi away
Hotel Torre de Sila
Hotel Torre de Sila
#2 of 3 in Tordesillas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
11.3 mi away
Pago Del Olivo
Pago Del Olivo
#1 of 1 in Simancas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
22.2 mi away
Castilla Termal Balneario de Olmedo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Silken Hotel Juan de Austria
Silken Hotel Juan de Austria
#9 of 39 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#1 of 6 in Medina del Campo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
15.8 mi away
AC Hotel Palacio de Santa Ana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Tordesillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Tordesillas

Property: Parador de Tordesillas
Address: Calle Salamanca 5, 47100 Tordesillas, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Valladolid > Tordesillas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tordesillas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Tordesillas 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Parador de Tordesillas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Hotel Tordesillas
Parador De Tordesillas Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing