We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What atmosphere. Nothing like it in the UK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Ciudad Rodrigo
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ciudad Rodrigo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2014

I had always wanted to stay in the Paradores and on this trip I'm staying in 7! This was a great start; a 14th century castle with suits of armour and tapestries everywhere. I was on half board and dinner was excellent with a good and varied choice from the menu. We even had a free aperitif before the meal. One little criticism (now that we've sampled other Paradores to compare it with) is that the staff are a little stern; no warm welcomes or goodbyes from reception or friendly chat from the restaurant staff.

Room Tip: Room 105 has a balcony with great views and sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank go9ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 648 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2014

Whenever I get a chance to stay at a Parador I don't miss it. Neither have I ever been disappointed. But when you go to this Parador you get more than a beautifully appointed room and comfortable beds, not forgetting the outstanding view from the window of your balcony.
Ciudad Rodrigo is one of those beautifully preserved medieval towns one should never miss. Small, fully walled and the old castle, now Parador, the centre point of the town. It is a gem, don't miss it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room giving you a view of the city walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 31Extensivetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Accommodation as expected in an historic building. Our room was of a fair size with a small balcony overlooking the countryside and had the sun until after 9pm. Bathroom a little small. Free wifi and free parking. Staff very helpful. No drinking water supplied in room.
Good restaurant (see separate review) and comfortable drinks lounge.
Ask to see the tower - the views are fabulous. And while in town, walk round the city walls of which the parador is a part.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear have better views (some have no view at all) and may have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Awesome hotel. A 14th century castle and it looks it. Perfectly renovated with all comforts of the 21st century. A couple of minutes walk from the center of town which are abundant with cafes (pastry shops), bars (tapas) and restaurants.
The hotel's indoors decorated with a medieval theme.
Friendly and helpful staff. Prices are affordable. Rooms clean and spacious. Close to Madrid.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cms1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Finding the hotel did present my SatNav with a bit of a challenge through the streets of the old town, but we were glad we made it.
Reception was very friendly and efficient. We were shown 3 rooms and given the choice. This may have been because we were 3 nights, and I think for many it was a one night stop.
Room was a good size. although not much of a view. Decent bathroom.
The hotel itself is facinating. Old castle, with its own tower you can go up. Also walk around its ramparts, and the 2km walk around the town walls starts and finishes here.
Lovely garden you can sit out in, with views across the river.
Breakfast is normally a decent buffet, and you can order eggs and bacon to go with it. For some reason though, with no explanation on the first (Monday) morning, we were just served fruit and a plate of cooked meats. No buffet laid out. As the waitress did not speak English, we have no idea if this was because they were quiet or not.
Ate dinner one night, which was fine without being spectacular.
The old town is lovely to walk around. The Portugeese border is about 20km away, and make a great day trip.
Would happily repeat if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skipton_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This parador is popular because the city is a well frequented tourist town. The whole building is an old castle with suits of armor, tapistries, and wendy staircases to the rooms. We had a standard double which had all the regular features of a parador but with less square footage. There are lots of levels of stairs but no elevator. It is tough if you have baggage. The breakfast was great with lots of interesting local specialties. My only issue was the size and the higher price.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cafdouilleuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had never stayed in a Parador until we had the opportunity of visiting Ciudad Rodrigo as part of a Peninsular War guided tour. I would certainly stay in one again if they are to this standard. The rooms are well proportioned, with air-conditioning that works (not true of the other hotels we stayed in!). Very quiet, with attractive decor.
The town itself is delightful and full of history. It is worth getting plenty of information about the town prior to your visit so that you can appreciate its past.
We had a very good value lunch in the town square. Its worth checking out all the cafes as some do offer more traditional cuisine, not just chips and more chips!!
The breakfast in the Parador was interesting. Plenty to choose from, including chocolate cake (which was fine as it happened to be our sons birthday that day, so he was delighted with it)!! However, the waiting staff had very limited English, probably less that our Spanish, so fried eggs were impossible to order.
In general, we had a lovely time in Ciudad Rodrigo and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy_Dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciudad Rodrigo
15.9 mi away
Hotel Domus Real Fuerte de la Concepcion
Hotel Domus Real Fuerte de la Co...
#1 of 1 in Aldea del Obispo
402 reviews
23.1 mi away
Abadia de Los Templarios
Abadia de Los Templarios
#1 of 2 in La Alberca
750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hospederia Audiencia Real
Hospederia Audiencia Real
#2 of 6 in Ciudad Rodrigo
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Conde Rodrigo I
Hotel Conde Rodrigo I
#4 of 6 in Ciudad Rodrigo
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arcos
Hotel Arcos
#3 of 6 in Ciudad Rodrigo
121 reviews
23.7 mi away
Dona Teresa
Dona Teresa
#2 of 2 in La Alberca
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Ciudad Rodrigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Ciudad Rodrigo

Address: Plaza Castillo 1, 37500 Ciudad Rodrigo, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Ciudad Rodrigo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ciudad Rodrigo
Price Range: $80 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Ciudad Rodrigo 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de Ciudad Rodrigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing