We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Parador de Ciudad Rodrigo
Nearby Hotels
Hostal Mirobriga(Ciudad Rodrigo)
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Arcos(Ciudad Rodrigo)
$48
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Conde Rodrigo I(Ciudad Rodrigo)
$60
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lusitano(Vilar Formoso)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$48
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$105
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Conde Rodrigo II(Ciudad Rodrigo)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (710)
Filter reviews
710 results
Traveler rating
308
258
109
23
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
258
109
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townthe riversuits of armourcar parksurrounding countrysidenarrow streetsservice was excellentmedieval castletasting menuplaza mayorsat navjunior suitebeautiful gardenworth the climbfantastic viewsgreat castlesuperb location
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 710 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This parador is popular because the city is a well frequented tourist town. The whole building is an old castle with suits of armor, tapistries, and wendy staircases to the rooms. We had a standard double which had all the regular features of a parador but with less square footage. There are lots of levels of stairs but no elevator. It is tough if you have baggage. The breakfast was great with lots of interesting local specialties. My only issue was the size and the higher price.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cafdouilleuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had never stayed in a Parador until we had the opportunity of visiting Ciudad Rodrigo as part of a Peninsular War guided tour. I would certainly stay in one again if they are to this standard. The rooms are well proportioned, with air-conditioning that works (not true of the other hotels we stayed in!). Very quiet, with attractive decor.
The town itself is delightful and full of history. It is worth getting plenty of information about the town prior to your visit so that you can appreciate its past.
We had a very good value lunch in the town square. Its worth checking out all the cafes as some do offer more traditional cuisine, not just chips and more chips!!
The breakfast in the Parador was interesting. Plenty to choose from, including chocolate cake (which was fine as it happened to be our sons birthday that day, so he was delighted with it)!! However, the waiting staff had very limited English, probably less that our Spanish, so fried eggs were impossible to order.
In general, we had a lovely time in Ciudad Rodrigo and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy_Dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is a super hotel sitting on the walls of the lovely old town of Ciudad Rodrigo. The welcome was freindly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable. The Hotel has good parking important in this walled town. I also thoroughly reccommend a visit to the tower (ask at reception) for the splendid views.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Having stayed here on our way to N Spain for Christmas, we came on our way back even though it was 100 miles out of our way. Staff delightful. Our two dogs made very welcome. Even had food bowls and dog food provided! A really beautiful place and another happy stay. Thank you to all concerned.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Foxtrot0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We arrived early afternoon from the Parador of Segovia.
On route seeing many birds of prey gliding and riding the thermals.

The signpost for the Parador was obscured from view behind a small tree (see my photo).

We stayed here for 3 nights. The parador has its own car park within the castle complex. There is no garage parking here. Reception staff are very welcoming and helpful. Our room was small and dark, and the bathroom was in need of updating (see my Photo). The room overlooked the car park, with the mandatory early morning refuse collections.

We asked at reception if there was a room with a balcony available (they only have 4) and they duly obliged. We packed our cases and left them in the porter’s room and set off to explore the old town. On our return we had been moved to a lovely new room with balcony and a view of the gardens and countryside. The suit cases had been taken to the room and a lovely silver platter of fresh fruits and a large bottle of mineral water had been left in the room for us by the reception staff.

I will say at this point that all the parador staff are polite and very helpful.

The parador in September 2013 was under staffed in respect of the bar and restaurant. There was only one waitress taking orders and serving the meals with the occasional help from the bar man who had to leave the bar unatended while helping in the restaurant. They both worked very well under the circumstances.

The outside bar garden is in dire need of TLC (see my photo).

As others have said the castle is truly wonderful and do not be put off from visiting this parador as I am hoping that the staffing levels are only short term and the remedial work will be done.

Breakfast offered a poor selection which was to be the standard of the 5 paradors we stayed at on this trip and I’m sad to say not as good as they were early in May of 2013 and before. In our opinion it was not worth €18. Again there was only one waitress.

The dinner menu is subjective as we all have different tastes, but we only had dinner here on one night.

I have read so many coments in the tripadvisor reviews where the reviewers have not had good dining experiences in some of the paradors
Some of the menus can be rather short on choice you can always ask for something that is not on the menu if they can oblige they will.

If you require an alternative venue for dining try the Restaurant Conde Rodrigo1. Excellent food & the staff were very efficient and very pleasant. It’s extremely good value for money and is in the hotel Conde Rodrigo a 5 minute walk from the parador, situated very close to the Cathedral. We ate here on two nights out of the three.

We always before we leave for our parador trips research for alternative restaurants to eat at as a backup just in case the parador menu does not suit us. We rarely have had to use the alternatives we have picked. A little time spent researching on the internet at home can save you time when on your holiday.
I personally store the directions in my smart phone and can be seen walking with phone in hand looking like I expect another crazy tourist.
Probably get muged one day.

It’s only a short walk from the parador to the plaza mayor which unfortunately is full of parked cars which really detracts from the overall appearance.

The new town is worth a walk around. There is a working convent. You can enter the grounds and also buy some of the nuns produce.

Sugested Trips

This trip can be done either from Ciudad Rodrigo or Jarandilla de la Vera paradors.

A drive to the Parque Natural Las Batuecas-Sierra de Francia is a must. The roads are very good stoping off at Villanueva del Conde, Miranda del Castana, La Alberca. And then up & up you go to Santuario de la Peña Francia. It is an absolute must see. (The name of La Peña de Francia probably makes reference to the immigrants who came from France in the 11th and 12th centuries.)

The sanctuary is now run by the Dominican monks. Practically inaccessible in winter by snow). They have just improved the road by widening & laying a new surface also installing galvanized steel barriers and is excellent.


GPS coordinates for Ciudad Rodrigo parador reception are N40.596160: W 6.535647

Room Tip: Ask for room with a balcony they only have 4 all have a good view of the river and country side.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jonsmith51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews