We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay there to feel as a royal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parador de Ciudad Rodrigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Parador de Ciudad Rodrigo
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ciudad Rodrigo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
106 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Stay there to feel as a royal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

Sleep in a middle ages tower in a especial atmosphere. Nice room. Breakfast as always in Paradores, excelent. The dinner as well very good. And the best: the views of the restaurant. You feels as you were the lord/lady of the tower.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akashiwo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    175
    83
    16
    10
See reviews for
99
288
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strensham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Our first visit to a Parador, on a trip around five of them. All the staff were very helpful. My wife is disabled and they were quick to help her on the passenger lift. Breakfast was prepaid, and was as good as other comments said they were. We didn’t eat in the Parador in the evening, after seeing the (generally) negative comments. However, the Plaza Mayor had only ordinary places to eat.
The booking agency, Keytel were brilliant. We paid them a visit before booking, to get advice on accessibility, and spent an hour there. All of their suggestions were excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

This is a hotel located in a historic building in the old quarter of a historic town. It is accessed via some frighteningly narrow streets, but there is ample private parking when you arrive. I give the staff ten out of ten for friendliness and politeness and they were very quick to notice from my passport that it was my birthday and offer me a small gift on arrival.

Our room was clean and spacious and (unusually for Spain) the TV had lots of channels to choose from. The bathroom was clean and modern. The hotel enjoys excellent views over the river valley.

The breakfast was outstanding and beautifully presented. The only reason I have given this hotel a rating of 'very good' rather than 'excellent' was that the food at dinner let it down. There was a good wine list and we enjoyed our shared starter of local specialities, but the main course was stodgy and not very exciting. More attention to the dinner menu and this hotel would be absolutely first class.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SherwoodSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

This Parador is one of the best, located in an old castle, with panoramic views over the surrounding area. The interiors are superb and tthe rooms - while a little old-fashioned and perhaps a bit small - are good quality. The service is also very good, and as a fluent Spanish speaker I found the staff to be friendly and helpful although I gather that the level of English is a bit mixed. Those over the age of 55 are eligible for rate reductions in Paradores.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cascaispickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

We arrived late afternoon and had to ask the way into the castle as signposting was a little sparse once reaching the castle walls. The grounds are large with cobbled streeets to explore within the castle complex and there are magnificant views across the valley. The hotel has its own car park within the castle complex. Reception was large and the staff very helpful. The room was clean and very comfortable. There is a bar which also provides food which is open most of the day to cater for many of the sightseers/tourists who visit the castle to enjoy the walks. We decided to have dinner in the grand looking restaurant which had some tables with views over the valley. The restaurant was clean, tables very well presented with good space around. Unfortunately the restaurant did not open until 8.30 (Spanish culture of eating mid evening). We arrived at 8.45 and were the only ones in at that time. The meal was average and was warm not hot which was surprising as there were very few others dining.
Breakfast was in the same restaurant had a good selection of cheese/pastries/meat/ fruit etc but once again the scrmbled egg and bacon which were both over heat trays were cold..
If you stay here we would recommend you arrive early enough to enjoy the walks and maybe eat in the bar/bistro instesd of waiting for the restaurant. If your room overlooks the car park you may be awakened about 6.30 by delivery and refuse trucks.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Passportholder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
263 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

Good one night stopover on a Spanish road trip. We had room 113 which was a superior room we think. It had a nice feature semi circular bedroom and a separate tiny sitting area with a large and bright bathroom.
Dining room and food just parador standard i.e. pretty poor. If I were to return I would investigate eating outside. Breakfast uninspired but adequate.
One day in Ciudad Rodrigo is great – you can walk around the walls, across the town and cover the er.. hot spots in a couple of hours max. Recommend a side trip to La Alberca which was another pretty (touristy!) spot to lose a pleasant hour or so.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fleetcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

We stayed at the Ciudad Rodrigo parador for one night, travelling from Pinhao in Portugal en route to Salamanca.

We had an unfortunate start, when my partner unsuccessfully juggled the heavy room key and our camera, and dropped the wrong one. Our room was small and dark, but clean and cozy. I suspect that because we had booked on a cheap(er) deal we were allocated a room with a view of the car park, other than the prettier views I imagine are available.

The hotel has a historical feel, but is relatively small and there are few seating areas outside the main bar / lounge. We ate our own snacks there later that evening, obeying the principle that you should avoid eating out on a Monday night. The best part is the outdoor garden on the ramparts, shady and secluded, with lovely views over the river, the plain towards the Portuguese border, and the setting sun.

The hotel forms part of the walls of the centro historico, and is perfectly placed for exploration. The old town is like a de Chirico painting: ochre-coloured, mysterious and largely deserted.

Breakfast is always a treat at a parador, but this was a little disappointing. There was plenty of choice, yet (possibly due to the constraints of the room) it was not as lavish we experienced at other paradors. The few tables with a view appear highly prized: you may need to wake early to secure one.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmcateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciudad Rodrigo
15.9 mi away
Hotel Domus Real Fuerte de la Concepcion
Hotel Domus Real Fuerte de la Co...
#1 of 1 in Aldea del Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hospederia Audiencia Real
Hospederia Audiencia Real
#2 of 6 in Ciudad Rodrigo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Conde Rodrigo I
Hotel Conde Rodrigo I
#3 of 6 in Ciudad Rodrigo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Abadia de Los Templarios
Abadia de Los Templarios
#1 of 2 in La Alberca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arcos
Hotel Arcos
#4 of 6 in Ciudad Rodrigo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Conde Rodrigo II
Hotel Conde Rodrigo II
#5 of 6 in Ciudad Rodrigo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Ciudad Rodrigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Ciudad Rodrigo

Property: Parador de Ciudad Rodrigo
Address: Plaza Castillo 1, 37500 Ciudad Rodrigo, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Ciudad Rodrigo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ciudad Rodrigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Ciudad Rodrigo 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Parador de Ciudad Rodrigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing