We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Small Mountain Town Refuge With a Big Heart”
Review of Hotel Jade

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cerocahui
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Jade
Ranked #1 of 1 Cerocahui B&B and Inns
Mazatlan, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Small Mountain Town Refuge With a Big Heart”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel Jade and its lovely owners made our visit to Cerocahui a most memorable one. We were completing a train tour of many of the small villages located in the Copper Canyon and had chosen Cerocahui as a base to later visit Urique when my husband became very ill. As we hadn't made any lodging reservations, we were grateful for Francia, one of the owners of Hotel Jade, who offered us a charming & affordable place to stay (including transport to and from Bahuichivo station) and who catered to our every need. Francia had a full car of tourists for the 40 minute ride to Cerocahui but she waited until my husband was ready to travel, giving him the front seat with window down in the 'dog-happy' position that would allow him some fresh air. During the next 3 days, Francia and Alberto ( who also offer affordable tours of the spectacular canyons) demonstrated their concern with kindnesses too numerous to count. We found the beds comfortbale, plenty of hot water (though the pressure in the showers a bit low), and simple but delicious food served in the family-style kitchen. While my husband was recuperating, 2 of Francia's friends that were visiting Hotel Jade, took me 'under their wings' for walks through the town and the beautiful forested country side with the clearest stream that I've seen in Mexico.
We left with full hearts and with more gratitude than we came with. While the lodging and amenities at Hotel Jade were more than adequate, we found the service and the heart of its people simply unsurpassed. If we stay in Mexico another year, we will definitely revisit Hotel Jade in Cerocahui.

Room Tip: Ask to view all available rooms. Don't be shy about attempting to negotiate a lower room price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cecilia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    37
    7
    9
    11
See reviews for
29
46
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a surprise when we arrived at Hotel Jade. We were travelling on a budget and most backpackers had been basic, clean, but not very friendly. Francia's (who owns the guest house) made us feel welcome and for a small price would cook delicious home cooked food for us also. The rooms were not only clean, but had a beautiful view of the valley below. We could see horses and men ploughing fields from our bed! It was amazing. Francia was so sweet and would advise us on trips we could do in our price range. She arranged everything for us. I would recommend this guest house to anyone that is heading to the Copper Canyon, it was one of our favourite stops on our trip.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms and each are identical with a small balcony overlooking the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzibarkinmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Hotel Jade is the perfect option for people with small budget, who is curious to discover in an authentic way Cerocahui and its surroundings. The owners of the place, Francia and Alberto are very welcoming and excellent guides of the region. With them, you can do very nice
walks for a very cheap price in comparaison of others hotels.
The rooms are cleans and confortables but better for people who are not sensitive to the cold therefore there is not heating...but we would say it is part of the adventure!
Special recommandation for the food which is very good and home made (and cheap).
We spent two very good days there!

Guillermo, Alexandre and Clemence

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clemvaugi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Upon our arrival we were approached by one of the hotel owner, how luchky were we! She was offering board, transportantion and excursion for a reasonnable fare. this is a very small place so choice of hotel and excursions is not there. The room was clean, altough small. We had a bit of a problem to get soap and hot water, but we could live with that. The beds were confortable and clean. The meals we good without fuss. Most espacially our guide Alberto, the owner was a friendly and available chap, very friendly and generous. He was stopping whenever we wanted along the ride to and in Urique. What a good and safe driver. The dirt road to Urique is quite diffcult for a bad car or bad driver. He did the extra mile to show us the surrounding attractions.

I will recommend their services to anyone going to Cerocahui!

Josée and Alain

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

There are a number of options near the top of the Urique Canyon, but this is the only one it is sanely sensible to use. The others are incredibly overpriced, profiting from the lack of available accommodation and taking the opportunity to charge even more for tourist services over which they hold a monopoly.

While I was there I was at the top of the canyon while a vehicle from Hotel Mision deposited a bunch of miserable people for a few minutes' look into nothing but clouds on a heavily misty day. They'd already paid excessive hotel charges and a high fee for the short drive to this point, and they saw nothing before being taken back to the train station.

Hotel Jade is no luxury place but it its management is friendly and flexible and their prices
are very reasonable. Sure, you will have to be prepared for a slightly dingy room. There are plenty of mosquitos either and you'll likely find some blood spots on the bedding from mosquitos squashed while feasting on customer blood at night. The management is rather
lacking also -- they forgot about my dinner request the second night and came up with only some heated recycled vegetables when I asked what was going on after 8 pm.

However, they arranged for two local boys to take me hiking at minimal cost. These kids
really knew the area and took me to some fabulous viewpoints and were cheerful and
helpful. The owner took me and two other guests on an excursion to the base of the
Urique Canyon the next day, and he was highly considerate in chasing after and collecting
me when I ran too far afield and did a great job stopping for photo opportunities. His wife
smilingly took me to the railway station the next morning, stopping off at a great local place for a takeout burrito.

So, this place is hardly luxury, but it is great value and should definitely be your choice rather than pandering to the greed of the alternatives.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank patisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cerocahui
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mision
Hotel Mision
#1 of 2 in Cerocahui
152 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Oso
Hotel Paraiso del Oso
#2 of 2 in Cerocahui
99 reviews
20.0 mi away
Posada Barrancas Mirador
Posada Barrancas Mirador
#1 of 20 in Copper Canyon
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Cerocahui Wilderness Lodge
Cerocahui Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cerocahui
35 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hotel Mansion Tarahumara
21.8 mi away
Hotel Divisadero Barrancas
Hotel Divisadero Barrancas
#1 of 1 in Divisadero
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jade

Property: Hotel Jade
Address: Dom. Conocido, Zona Rural, Cerocahui 31104, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Chihuahua > Cerocahui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cerocahui
Also Known As:
Hotel Jade Cerocahui, Mexico - Chihuahua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing