We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fraud”
Review of Hotel Mision

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mision
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cerocahui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2006

The service was more or less OK except for a tour where we were put into a rented van with no guide and no English Speakers. What was outrageous was their "Mision de Cerocahui" wine. We love trying local wines and were delighted to read that this hotel produces their own wine. Imagine our disgust when we took a bottle to our room only to discover that it is not only not only not their wine but is not even a Mexican Wine. They buy cheap wine, resticker it, and sell it at outflated prices. We saw this wine at other hotels offered by the same chain. Beware of Balderrama hoteles!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Don_W2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 174 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego, CA
343
Reviewed May 12, 2006

This is the only hotel in Cerrochui, a small, picturesque town in the Copper Canyon. The description of lush gardens and vineyards was an overexaggeration to say the least. The swimming pool is tiny! The food was maginal to poor....and given the sparse rooms and accomodations this was another Balderamma rip off. Cokes $2 each....wine with dinner $5 glass!! There is nothing to do (a good look at the town's Mision takes about 30 min) and that's fine if you like to hang out and read...but the constant noise of the TV or loud Mexican music made the beautiful lobby area unusable. Outside on the narrow patio in front of your room you could hear the noise of the 100+ girls at the Tumarhara boarding school next door....and often blarring music from the houses next to the hotel. The tour to the rim was nothing more than a ride there. The "tour guide" could not speak any English and was really just a driver....he was distracted and disinterested even when I tried to ask questions in Spanish. Another rip off of $30 each!! Not sure if the view of Urique(which was amazing) was worth it. The hotel was definately not.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2006

Bahuichivo/Cerocahui was part of my 8-day roundtrip independent train trip. This place was my least favoriate as there simply was not enough to do here. It has great potential for ecotourism however the hotel staff probably needs to be replaced. The guide we had the morning of the Gallegos Lookout was Spanish speaking and myself and another person on the tour just happened to speak Spanish otherwise my opinion of the tour might be different.
The food in the hotel is what I call American-Mexican as I think they are accustomed to the over age 60 crowd who can't tolerate real Mexican food. And the staff seems to be accustomed to the type of people who just sit around and not very active.
The rooms were O.K. again nothing spectacular.
The Urique Gallegos Lookout is touted as the most spectacular scenery in the whole Copper Canyon however I found Posada Barrancas equally impressive with much more activities.
So all in all I wouldn't recommend this as a stop. Spend an extra day at the Posada Barrancas Mirador or another more interesting station.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank texasredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2005

sorry, can't recommend--overpriced, food questionable.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lalo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2004

Hotel Mision in Cerocahui, was our second stop in our Copper Canyon Adventure. Secluded in a small town, Hotel Mision has the charm of an old Mexican hacienda; the inner courtyard is a welcoming walk for all guests, and the small vineyard adds to the charm. The food and service is great; don't expect high cuisine, this is real mexican country food (nothing like the "real" mexican restaurants in the U.S.). the rooms are large and comfortable, keeping with the rustic look of the hotel. My wife and I did a hike to the cerocahui waterfall, don't miss it, it is well worth it. Try to go in early september, it is days before the high tourist season, and you'll experience more of the real Mexico. I can't comment on the price of the hotel, I booked my tour through the Balderrama Hotels and tours (Parent company of the hotel) and paid $521 pp for 5 nights, train ticket, meals, and tours!! can't beat that deal, trust me. see my other reviews, on my trip, Hotel Posada del Hidalgo, Mirador, and Santa Anita.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank ahuizote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2003

The hotel may be a little overpriced (it should be $50-$75 cheaper), but it is a great place to stay and get away from the outside world. Plus food is included and the staff is great.

9  Thank mexicoted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 10, 2001

At $250 per night I found the hotel to be greatly overpriced in relation to the services provided.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cerocahui
153.1 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Oso
Hotel Paraiso del Oso
#2 of 2 in Cerocahui
99 reviews
20 mi away
Posada Barrancas Mirador
Posada Barrancas Mirador
#1 of 20 in Copper Canyon
452 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hotel Mansion Tarahumara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Hotel Divisadero Barrancas
Hotel Divisadero Barrancas
#1 of 1 in Divisadero
224 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cerocahui Wilderness Lodge
Cerocahui Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cerocahui
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mision? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mision

Address: Domicilio conocido | Cerocahui, Cerocahui 33040, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Chihuahua > Cerocahui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cerocahui
Price Range: $183 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mision 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named in honor of an impressive 300-year-old Jesuit Mission in the picturesque village of Cerocahui, Hotel Mision is located in a high fertile river valley of apple orchards and vineyards surrounded by The Sierra Madre, about eight miles from the Bahuichivo train station where the Chihuahua al Pacifico -- Chepe -- railroad stops daily. Guests are transported by hotel buses from Bahuichivo to Hotel Mision along a picturesque mountain road. Unusual rock formations and beautiful streams help make the 35 minutes ride anjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mision reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mision Hotel Cerocahui
Hotel Mision Cerocahui, Mexico - Chihuahua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing