We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed horse ranch in beautiful landscape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Paraiso del Oso
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cerocahui
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I traveled northern Mexiko with the CHEPE train in the beginning of 2013 and bumped into the Paraiso del Oso Ranch close to Cerocahui by coincidence (Anas son gave me a lift from the train station in Bauhauichivo when the bus to Urique was already gone). The Ranch has clean comfy rooms with fire ovens for the cold nights and you can watch the horses from your bathroom window. The landscape around is rough, but beautiful and it`s a very quiet place, great to relax.

You`ll be easily adopted by Ana and Diego Rhodes and their extended familiy (childen, grandchildren and some tarahumara kids roaming around). I was interested in the culture of the local indigineous Tarahumaras so I visited a couple of their remote villages with Diego - he knows a lot of People there and often visits the Tarahumara and he`s also setting up a foundation supporting School Kids with scholarships and Laptops for School.

You can hike, visit Cerocahui or Urique, horseride or just relax, and once you succed to get there (makes sense to inform Diego Rhodes before your arrival that you`ll come so they can pick you up at the train Station) you don`t want to leave this place anymore.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sopsroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 102 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were greeted at the train station in Cerocahui by Hugo who took us to the Pariso del Oso Lodge. On the ride from the train station we asked if there were bears ( el oso) in the area. Hugo laughed and said no. The name of the Lodge came from the rock formations looming over it.

There he was “Yogi Bear” clear as a bell watching over us from our room. This is totally a family run Lodge – built from scratch by Doug (Diego) Rhodes and his wife (parents of Hugo). It’s everything you would want a Lodge in the mountains to be!

With the rooms heated by wood burning stoves, the lobby by a huge fireplace and lighting in the bar by kerosene lantern, the atmosphere was rustic and very romantic.

Hugo and his sister, who did the cooking, treated us as royalty.

A MUST STOP ON YOUR TOUR OF COPPER CANYON!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I recently made a Copper Canyon Trip, and just happened to luck out by staying at the Paraiso del Oso Lodge over Christmas Eve. First of all, we were met at the train station by Doug, aka Diego, who has a larger than life personality and immediately drew us in with his tall tales and down-to-earth charm. The Lodge itself is charming, with wood burning stoves in the rooms (don't worry if you aren't a "fire-starter," they provide a fool-proof kerosene soaked starter), and a great common room to eat meals and have a few margaritas or beers at night. On the first day, Diego took us on a road trip down to Urique, and we enjoyed the incredible views and bumpy dirt road. We also stopped by the Mission in Cerocahui, and got a chance to see the local kids go house to house looking for a manger. Afterwards, they returned to the Mission and brought out the traditional pinata. I was amazed at how the kids lined up, smallest to largest, boys on one side and girls on the other, and took only 3 swings each. There was a mixture of Mexican and Tarahumara children, and it was amazing to see the colorful dresses of the Tarahumara girls.

That night, Christmas Eve, groups of Tarahumara started showing up in the lodge, and sitting quietly, until there were more than 100 people inside the lodge. Diego assured us that they would be dancing, but they continued to sit quietly, until, with no warning, the dancing began. They donned "crowns' with flowers, and proceeded to dance the night away, literally, stopping only to go to the Mission for midnight Mass. I am relating this second hand, because there was no way I was going to go out in the cold of the middle of the night, and there was also no way that I was going to stay up until six am! In the morning, the lodge was still full, until it was announced that the Pinata was going up. My husband volunteered to go up on Diego's van to man the Pinata rope, and once again the kids lined up peacefully and took their turns (although, once it cracked open, pandemonium ensued). Afterwards, all the kids got to file into the lodge to get one present each. It was darling to see them coming out and cuddling their stuffed animals and toys. When everyone had received a gift, the different groups slowly started meandering away.

Thanks, Diego, for a chance to experience this wonderful Christmas Eve with you and your family. By the way, Diego's grandchildren were some of the most delightful, well-behaved kids around and I especially liked little "America," who shared one of her pinata lollipops with me!

Room Tip: All the rooms have beautiful views of the "Yogi the Bear" rock formation. We honestly did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nursetommey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stop in this place on my drive into Urique Canyon and knew I had to come back and spend some time. Great place...Doug, his family and staff are great. Great place just to hangout and enjoy the great solitude and the amazing birding. You will love the views and their is an amazing amount of birds in the surrounding woods.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Copper Canyon's beauty is legendary, but Doug Rhodes, known as Diego by his Mexican fans, gave us an experience of a life time. Rather than be content with the splendor of the canyons, he took us inside to the real Mexican people he serves through his generous gifts of time, money, and support for the Tamahumara children. "Diego is here, Diego is here!" shouted the children with glee at the schools we visited. On a small flat clearing on our descent to the town of Urique, we played soccer with the agile children, swam in Rio Urique, and joined Diego in his tireless commitment to educate the indeginous people. Oh by the way, the food was subperb, the bed's the most comfortable on our trip, and the Margaritas were out of this world.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

I arrived at Paraiso del Oso as part of a larger group participating in the 2012 Copper Canyon Ultra Marathon. Diego was extremely helpful in arranging transportation and making our pre-race stay at Paraiso del Oso a wonderful experience. The surroundings are spectacular (we climbed up to the stony "oso" on top of the cliffs and visited a nearby cave), the food was good and plenty, both for carnivores and vegetarians. Diego also seems like a godfather to all the local kids. He helps them stay in school and they just love him. You feel at home with Diego, his wife, son Hugo and the entire team.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

From the beginning we had hands-on service planning the trip, travel advice, and upon arrival. It is a lovely setting, not far from the rim of the Canyon. The adobe-like rooms are 'rustic comfortable' with all the amenities and heated, as needed, with easy-lite wood stoves. A large lodge with good food; we were indeed treated like family. We went on a custom designed five-day horseback trip into the Copper Canyon with Hugo guiding, and Diego as support. Couldn't have been more secure and fun--these guys know the country, the people, and how to do it right. Overall, except for hearing of some food shortages among the Tarahumara due to the drought, it was a wonderful and fascinating adventure.
Regarding the drug situation: From the moment of landing in Los Mochis, on the train, and into the Canyon, we experienced nothing but kind and caring people. Along with Diego and Hugo's guidance, it would seem one would have to be very foolish and looking for trouble to actually find it. We felt very safe.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank christopher w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Paraiso del Oso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paraiso del Oso

Address: KM 12 Camino Bahuichivo a Cerocahui, Cerocahui 31149, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Chihuahua > Cerocahui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cerocahui
Price Range: $122 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Paraiso del Oso 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a beautiful and tranquil Huetoibo valle, 10 mnutes from Cerocahui, the Paraiso del Oso welcomes Copper Canyon visitors with great meals, a welcome Margarita and personalized service.There are neither telephones nor television to disturb your enjoyment of this magical place, instead you awaken to songs of wild birds and the view of the Yogi Bear look-alike rock formation overlooking the Hotel.Horse rides and nature hikes are available to Tarahumara cave archaeological sites, the Sangre de Cristo gold mine, and a nearby waterfall. Sightseeing vans offer tours to the Cerro Gallegos Canyon overlook and to the historic pueblo of Urique at the very bottom of the Canyon. All meals, free wireless Internet, and transfers from the Bahuichivo train station are included in your stay. The Paraiso del Oso has an extensive public service program that helps Tarahumara students and education in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Paraiso del Oso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paraiso Del Oso Cerocahui
Paraiso Del Oso Hotel
Hotel Paraiso Del Oso Cerocahui, Mexico - Chihuahua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing