We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Beware of overbooking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Chihuahua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn Chihuahua
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Chihuahua
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beware of overbooking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Overbooking a hotel and informing returning guests with reservations that there is not a room for them is a bad business practice; however, by experience and observation, one in which the Quality Inn in Chihuahua engages. It reflects badly upon the hotel and its front desk staff which has to interact with hotel guests.

It happened to me on a recent (16-17/10/2013) stay at the hotel. It also happened to a group of eleven Mexican ladies traveling together during the same period. They were not picked up at the El Chepe train station as arranged and moved to another hotel late at night. A couple from Morelia on the same city tour with us was displeased with the hotel, initially not being given the type of room they reserved.

We stayed at the Quality Inn, Chihuahua for four nights on two occasions. Reservations were made and confirmed well in advance and again reconfirmed. Our first stay was quite satisfactory; however, the last stay was not and left me questioning what the Quality Inn satisfaction guarantee really means. To me it means that the first to arrive and have their reservations honored will be satisfied; all others beware. We travel quite a bit and recognize these things happen, but it is unusual with confirmations and reconfirmations made directly with the hotel and in person.

I communicated this to Mr. Jorge Barud the Manager, Quality Inn Chihuahua. Mr. Barud was kind enough to take time to respond: “Let me tell you that it is unusual overselling rooms however on this date due to a system failure we had that oversold, unfortunately we need to move some customers to other hotel . . ” and “On both stays you were change to a better room [implying for an inconvenience]. . . and we charge the same rate for both nights.”

It is unclear to me what level of room we were moved to versus our printed reservation which clearly states “king bed, non-smoking.” However, it is very clear to me what transpired on the second stay arrival, when after much deliberation we were given a small room with two beds next to a service closet with a small window to an interior evacuation stairway. The question of rate differences was raised and addressed, but in the grand scheme of things is (and was) a moot point. We were fortunate, as others were turned away.

The hotel is well-situated. The front desk, particularly Lupita del Cruz, Francisco Lara and Oscar Nava are very friendly. The restaurant is alright, but not great. In overbooking, it appears their hotel of choice to move people to is the Palacio del Sol. The review rating given is balanced between our opinion of hotel quality, satisfaction of service and apparent hotel policies.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank takatrip713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    66
    22
    13
    4
See reviews for
29
37
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

After staying here back in May of 2013 for our trip to Copper Canyon, we went back to Chihuahua and stayed here again from Sept. 26 to Sept. 30th. The hotel location is perfect because it is in the center of town and we absolutely love being so close to the plaza, the cathedral and to many other historical places. We enjoyed the cultural events that took place over the weekend right in front of the cathedral and the Plaza de Armas. In this event there were a lot of street performers. It was crowded but it was still fun for us. Earlier in the day we had walked in the street that is closed to traffic so it was easier and faster to get to the other historical buildings near by. Many buildings were still decorated with patriotic colors because of Mexican Independence Day on Sept. 16. The hotel's staff were really courteous and helpful. There are taxis available on the street corner if you want to go somewhere in the city. The hotel has a business center available so we had no trouble printing our boarding passes on Sunday. Our room came with continental breakfast and it was perfect! The clerk at the front desk said we could have upgraded to full breakfast by just paying the difference. They serve this wonderful wheat toast (they make their own breads and pastries) with breakfast that we enjoyed so much I ended up buying two huge loaves to bring home. Across from the hotel there is a parking lot which gets really busy on the weekends but it did not bother us. If you want a quiet room ask for a room away from Victoria street. I must also mention the food at the restaurant is top notch and really tasty. We had dinner here almost every night. We enjoyed the buffet one night and food from the menu on the other nights. The prices are reasonable and the service is impeccable. There is a seafood restaurant across the street which we also enjoyed. I definitely would recommend this place if you are traveling to Copper Canyon or just visiting the city. If you need a wake up call, make sure it is written in the book so don't miss your early departure. My only complaint is that they provide you two large bath towels but only one hand towel. We loved our stay and can not wait to go back! Ah, Chihuahua!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mibaba4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here before going on the train to Copper Canyon. It is right behind the 400 year old church, the local food and trinket market is around the corner. The very touristy area of bars was 4 blocks away. We wandered around 4 evenings and felt perfectly safe. The entire historical plaza is being rebuilt, I will be anxious to see all the improvements when they are done. Many streets have been turned into pedestrian ways and massive investment in public transportation and bike lanes have been added. It's hard to find the hotel because of the road closures, just remember Cuarto Street. We loved our stay and will return! The people in the hotel were nice, someone was always available to translate. The facility was American Standard, clean and modern.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I had the chance to stay at this hotel at the beginning or our trip to Copper Canyon and we also stayed here for two more nights after we came back from Copper Canyon.
We had a nice room with two queen beds. The only thing I did not like is they only gave us two very large towels but not enough hand towels. Our room had a window but the view was the one of another room. They do give you free local calls. They forgot the give us a wake up call on the early morning when I needed to be up at 4 am to get ready for boarding El Chepe train. Luckily, I had brought a small battery operated clock in my luggage. The location is very good because you can walk to the cathedral, the main plaza and shopping stores which are very easy to get to since the street is closed to traffic. Right across the street is a restaurant called El Mezon de Catedral which seemed a happy place to be on the weekend. There was a free event in the plaza on the weekend. We saw some boxing on Sat. night. One thing we really liked was the food at the restaurant in the hotel. The servers were good and the food was excellent and reasonable priced. For us there was no need to go looking for another place to eat because we found it all there. We had breakfast couple of days and dinners couple of days too. There are other places across the street if you prefer. We chose to eat at the hotel because the place is spotless clean and the servers were very good. I will stay here next time I go to Chihuahua. BTW, there is a pharmacy right next door just in case you ever need one. Good luck at making your travel plans!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mibaba4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

A clean and decent hotel in dowtown Chihuahua. Comfortable rooms. Staff is very helpful.
Restaurant is barely OK if yo don't have any other place to go, especially for dinner. If lunch, many option near by. I had lunch across the street in a very tidy seafood place which is much better than the hotel's dinning option.
PERFECTLY SAFE TO TRAVEL TO NORTHERN MEXICO, with the necessary precautions. Don't harbour second thoughts because of Travel Advisories.

Room Tip: First time I got one in the 4th floor right next to the elevator engine room and had is changed righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dirans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

lovely friendly staff, however the hotel is kncker and needs a massive update. Great for a 1-2 night stay max. Not suitable for longer stays as it would make you a little 'loco' as there no facility to work in your room or relax at night in the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelshell76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
354 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Nice looking hotel and great location, however needs updating. Those big TVs from last century do not look good in a hotel nowadays. Only one tiny bottle of water per room and very cheap disposable cups. Not enough ac outlets and difficult to get the few available.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ETame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chihuahua hotels
1.0 mi away
Ibis Chihuahua
Ibis Chihuahua
#10 of 26 in Chihuahua
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Encore Chihuahua
Ramada Encore Chihuahua
#5 of 26 in Chihuahua
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fiesta Inn Chihuahua
Fiesta Inn Chihuahua
#16 of 26 in Chihuahua
3.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Chihuahua City
2.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chihuahua
Staybridge Suites Chihuahua
#3 of 26 in Chihuahua
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chihuahua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Chihuahua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Chihuahua

Property: Quality Inn Chihuahua
Address: Victoria 409, Chihuahua 31000, Mexico (Formerly Hotel San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Chihuahua > Chihuahua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Chihuahua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Chihuahua 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the city downtown behind the Cathedral very close to government offices, banks and museums of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Quality Inn Chihuahua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chihuahua Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing