We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful ride” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chepe

Chepe
Ranked #2 of 31 things to do in Chihuahua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

The train was wonderful. One of the highlights of the tour. We also enjoyed sn excellent lunch in the dining car. Felt safe. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
3 Thank englekingl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    188
    62
    21
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“World's most amazing train journey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

If only as a feat of engineering, the Los Mochis to Chihuahua train journey is impressive with the train travelling along 405 miles of rails, crossing 36 bridges and going through 87 tunnels. The scenery is spectacular encompassing deep valleys, mountains, forests, sheer drops (not for the faint-hearted if you have the window seat) and waterfalls. The journey takes you from sea-level at Los Mochis to 8,000 ft at Copper Canyon. The train stops a few times en route taking on the locals (adding a colourful flavour to the trip) and food and handicrafts are sold on the platforms.

We stayed in Divisadero, a little town perched on the rim of the canyon with eagles flying outside our bedroom window!

A trip of a lifetime and highly recommended.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank SandraL68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A beatiful way to see Mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I took the train from Los Mochis to Chihuahua in January 2010. We had an amazing time, the train ride is just beautiful.

We traveled first class and it was a comfortable way to watch the scenery fly by. What beautiful scenery it is too, little towns, lovely rivers, natural vegetation and of course the canyon itself. The train journey is also a great feat of engineering with many large bridges over water, very steep areas and many tunnels through solid rock.

We stayed our first night in Divisadero and the view from our room, right on the edge of the canyon was just breath taking. It's well worth getting up early to watch the sun come up over the canyon! Also some lovely walks from town to explore the canyon. Divisadero is a real gem and it is well worth the time to check it out.

Our second night on the train journey we stayed in Creel, the town itself was fairly small with not too much going on, but we had a lovely car tour through the surrounding area before getting back on the train.

We finished our journey with a couple of nights in Chihuahua and were very presently surprised. Coming from Australia before we only thought of little dogs when thinking of Chihuahua, now with think of a beautiful city with an amazing cathedral, lots of wonderful history and beautiful murals. I am sure we could have found even more delights if we had, had more time!

All in all the Copper Canyon railway journey is a trip I will never forget and would recommended to anyone with an adventurous spirit!

PS. The train is quite a step up to get onto it so heavy suitcases are quite hard to get on and off quickly, packs would be much easier for this!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank flamingofancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Have to try it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

If you want to sight see the region, this could be the means of transportation. Not that great service, it is expensive, but one of those things you have to try, if going to the barrancas for the first time.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
206 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A Bucket List Item”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just a superb rail journey. One not to be missed by any train enthusiast. A really wonderful experience but do it from El Fuerte not Las Mochis otherwise you will have to get up really early. There area lots of nice hotels in El Fuerte which is also a great place to visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chepe also viewed

 

Been to Chepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing