We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveler rating
129
26
3
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
26
3
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflamenco singerthe ownerquaint hotelstayed here for one nightprivate terracedining roomhot springshamfresh fruitgreat hospitalityquiet streethelpful hostsexcellent coffeeold buildinggreat terracesix nightsother guests
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 161 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile

The restaurant is inside a family owned hotel and in a great setting with its terrace overlooking the gorge. Had a great dinner there and served by a fantastic waitress. Leg of lamb and black rice with seafood were pre-ordered and the flavour was great. Don't miss the chocolate soufflé!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank HKT1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2017 via mobile

my wife and I stayed for 1 night in early October,the sisters who run the hotel were very nice and informative about the local area ,lovely clean room and we ate on the terrace overlooking the gorge it was magic ,really nice town and don't forget the hot springs Kevin +Diane

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank kevin52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017

Quaint hotel in this small town. Paid a bit more, based on other reviews, for the room with private balcony. Worth it! great views. really a deck, much more than a balcony. You do have to walk up a very narrow spiral staircase to reach the room, so beware if you are not relatively fit or have excessively large luggage.

Also beware, the famous flamenco singer has retired to Cadiz, and his daughter(s)? run the place. We were there for 3 nights in late August, holiday time in Spain, and the restaurant was closed for two weeks.

Breakfast was still served, and very nice.

Upon check-in, we were told to help ourselves to sodas, waters, etc. from the fridge behind the bar, as the hotel was hardly staffed, we were mostly on our own.

We took advantage and grabbed a few waters and sodas during our 3 days.

Surprise, when we checked out there was a 15 euro charge! IT sure seemed like the beverages were offered gratis. I didn't bother making a fuss. You might want to enquire on check-in exactly what the policy is.

Oh yeah, one other annoying thing. The Kitten and cats that patrol the public deck, and came up the spiral stairs to our deck as well. No way to eat outside with these guys pestering you. We and other guests had to eat our breakfasts inside, and we could not leave our deck door open as the cats were patrolling all night.

Air conditioning is a free standing gizmo int he room...won't do much.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank murphy90403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2017 via mobile

Curious to see how the best guest house/hotel in Spain was as the new generation within the family took over. Well, some small changes, and improvements, to compliment amazing value for money, wonderful views, and a character so relaxing....we will be back....soon.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Stringerbean49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2017

We arrived early evening with very muddy bicycles. Our hosts helped us bring our bicycles through the hotel to their terrace. In Spanish towns, there are no backyards in which to clean a bicycle. Our hosts lent me their garden hose and a corner of their terrace to clean our bicycles. They also gave us some lubricant for our bicycle chains. We used the terrace as the safe, off-street storage for our bicycles. Our hosts have a couple of bicycles there too.

Dinner
We were late arriving so missed dinner in the hotel for the first night. There are several bars/restaurants nearby. Our hosts recommended a couple of them. The recommendation we chose, Bar Ochoa, was excellent. Bar Ochoa tested my meagre Spainish, but the Ochoa owners/staff made the test a pleasant experience. The second night we ate at the hotel. Again, an excellent meal, excellent wine, but no Spainish test.

Breakfast
The breakfast in the hotel is very good. It is not a Spainish breakfast - fruit, fruit juice, toast, eggs, bacon, tomato, pastries, and excellent coffee. Enough to set one up for hiking along the Rio Alhama, which is just down the hill/cliff from the hotel. Quiet music in the morning is often flamenco singing. The owners/hosts of the hotel are flamenco singers/musicians during their little spare time, google Paco Moyano.

Room
The hotel is in an old building, 1745. It has been renovated to be very comfortable, but retains and shows the old structure. The door to our room is an original 1745 door. The floor joists, visible in the common areas, are tree trunks. Our room was very comfortable.

Location
The hotel is in a great location. It is one or two blocks from many restaurants/bars. The terrace overlooks the Rio Alhama gorge. There is a short, but steep walk into the gorge where one can walk from many kilometres. The gorge is an excellent bird watching site.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanCovington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews