We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”
Review of Hotel La Seguiriya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Seguiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The hotel is located 1 minute from the main square, with stunning views over the local gorge from the terrace and impeccably clean and well maintained throughout. Paco and Agustín made me feel immediately like one of the family and couldn't do enough to help...finding rooms for my friends, advice on local places to visit and even leaving breakfast out for me when I left on the final day at 5:30am - small touches but made a big difference! Good free wi-fi (for a countryside location) too.

Room Tip: The Martinet room opens on to the terrace with views over the stunning local gorge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelseguiriya, Propietario at Hotel La Seguiriya, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Hi Paul!!!!This is Agustin!!!
Many thanks for your comment!!!
I´m glad you felt like at home!!!we try our best with each friend who visit us in La seguiriya,we hope you had a good time in Alhama de granada and La Seguiriya and hope to see you soon!!!
All the best.

La seguiriya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 158 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

Bit late with this review as we stayed here in October but couldn't let it go without a review. Booked online whilst in Spain as a stopover on the way from the coast, Costa Tropical, up to Granada and it was brilliant. Paco, our host was charming. He speaks little English and told us that he was giving us the romantic room - he wasn't joking. Can't remember the name of the room but it is a small doorway leading off the beautiful terrace, which overlooks the fabulous gorge. Our room was small but the bed was comfortable and it was v.clean. There is a lovely bathroom with a powerful shower and a bath and toiletries provided. No door however, just a curtain, but then it is the romantic room! there is a small dressing/wardrobe area with full length mirror. The location of the room really made it for us as in the morning when the sun comes up it is just lovely on the terrace, no one was eating breakfast outside so it's like having your own private view of the gorge. Breakfast was served in the dining room, one end of the dining room doubles as Paco's office and the small kitchen is also situated in there. It's a lovely atmosphere.
It's about one hour to Granada from here but Alhama is certainly worth a visit. Make sure you do the tour from the tourist information office. It costs 2 euro and another euro when you go into one of the churches. It's very relaxed and friendly, there were three of us on our tour and it was more like a stroll with a friend who holds the keys to the village. Overall if you're in the area it's definitely worth a visit and we shall definitely go back to visit Paco.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the gorge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy186377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a lovely charming small hotel in the centre of Alhama de Granada, it's position is superb with a terrace at the rear of the hotel overlooking the Canon de Los Tajos which is a deep gorge and the views of which are superb.
Our room was the Martinete, a room which previous reviewers had used. It was a lovely room done in traditional style which opened up onto the rear terrace, what a lovely view to wake up to.
The room was big enough for us with a bathroom off and also a changing/ wardrobe area which was very useful for storage, there was also wi-fi in the room.
Everything in the room was nice and clean.
Breakfast was simple but enough and was served by Paco and his daughter, Paco in particular was pretty jolly when he served breakfast.
One thing I must mention regarding the staff in this hotel , my wife left a pouch containing her jewellery in the room when we checked out and left the hotel. She did not realise until the next day when we were above one hundred kilometres away in Fuengirola and no longer had a hire car. The reception personnel in our next hotel contacted La Seguiriya and the next day my wife's jewellery arrived by post at our hotel, what first class service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTraveller6161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Don Paco and his family are the perfect B&B hosts and excellent cooks. The town is small but there are options for walking to parks and through the olive fields. Our room overlooked the terrace and was very peaceful. I'm a vegetarian which isnt easy in Spain but they made a fabulous and healthy dinner! Paco and his family are charming and helpful with everything. I would recommend this 100%. It's a bitfar if you want to stay in Granada but worth the side trip.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank JaneGoesTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here when the feria was in town. The owner kindly rang us after we had booked on the internet to inform us that the feria was on and it would be noisy - he offered to find us alternative accommodation if we preferred to stay somewhere quieter - which was very considerate. In the event we did not find it too noisy and we really enjoyed being in town and seeing the feria, including the farming show where we sampled local cheese and wine.
We stayed in the tiny room with glass bricks separating the bathroom. It was a very small room,but very clean. I think we booked the last available room as I looked in some of the other rooms and they were much larger.
Breakfast was simple and very spanish, there was no choice, but we felt this was part of the real spanish experience.
We paid a reasonable price and so were happy with what we got for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel itself is charming with wonderful views from the balcony. The room we stayed in was quite small (incl. the bed) but clean. The bathroom was divided by glass bricks so perhaps if you are in early stages of your relationship this could be a problem. There is no air-conditioning in the room which made sleeping difficult (we stayed in August).
We were excited about eating at the hotel after reading such good reviews from the previous guests. Unfortunately, we did not share the same views. The food was ok but we expected more than just shop bought chips with our main meal. We thought we would still give the dessert a go but should have not bothered as the stodgy souffle and greek yogurt with fig did not lift the mood. The price of the meal was well above the local average.
The next morning we sat down and waited for our breakfast to arrive as there was no choice given. We received a dry slice of bread, a boiled egg (which was hardly boiled), three thin slices of tomato, a pot of greek yogurt, a mouthful of cooked pork and a coffee. We didn't bother with breakfast again.
After this dining experience, the next evening we ate in another local restaurant and the food was amazing for half the price.
Perhaps we were just unlucky and the chef was on holiday during our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Andersona2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We arrived in the afternoon and spent hours on the patio eating tapas/treats from town and enjoying the view. After 8pm, Paco (the owner) brought out some very unique soups and excellent steaks. The next morning, we had the house breakfast (great!) and took a dip in the local hot spring a couple miles away before checking out to head to the coast. We all enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. Paco is a very gracious host; he seemed to take pleasure from our enjoyment of his establishment and food. The artwork in the dining area and the landscaping in the patio area is really exceptional. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. I felt slightly guilty that we did not spend more time in town...

Room Tip: We chose the family room. NOTE: It is 2 separate chambers divided by a set of curtained french doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alhama de Granada
23.9 mi away
Balneario de Alhama de Granada Hotel
Balneario de Alhama de Granada H...
#3 of 3 in Alhama de Granada
83 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Ventorro
Hotel El Ventorro
#2 of 3 in Alhama de Granada
75 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Rural Sierra Tejeda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows
20.2 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
17.7 mi away
B Bou Hotel Vinuela & Spa
B Bou Hotel Vinuela & Spa
#1 of 5 in Velez-Malaga
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Seguiriya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Seguiriya

Address: Calle Penas 12, 18120, Alhama de Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Alhama de Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alhama de Granada
Price Range: $77 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Seguiriya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Seguiriya Alhama De Granada, Spain - Province Of Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing