We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty poor overall”
Review of Hotel Mas Camarena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mas Camarena
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Paterna
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a tour group, this hotel was obviously chosen as it was cheap and it is well out of town so the bus could be parked nearby. I cannot see why any other normal traveller would stay here. The staff seemed uncaring, rooms were not maintained (roof damaged from water leak) and they charge extra for pillow hire if you don't like the mediocre ones provided. "Clean" dishes at the buffet breakfast were not, and the coffee was average. The server/waiter at dinner served up paella in a rushed careless manner like it was slops at a school cafeteria. One of the passengers on the tour suffered a medical emergency, and reception would not allow his family to use their phone to call their travel agent in the US, insisting they use the phone in their room to ensure the call was charged correctly, but could not tell them what the rate was. Wifi was easy enough to connect but was very slow. Too far out of the city for tourists.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyrock81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 243 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

I suppose there’s nothing wrong in principle with bare floors, but wall-to-wall carpeting -- or even some area rugs -- would go a long way to muffling the sounds from the floor above during the siesta hours or late at night. On the bright side, however, an argument can be made that you don't need to sleep when there is so much to see in the beautiful, historic, lively, vibrant port city of Valencia.

Like the sleeping area, my bathroom was also bare bones, with only two towels -- one bath towel and one face towel -- provided in a single-occupancy room, and no shower cap, wash cloth, or facial tissue dispenser, although housekeeping does offer a tiny package of tissues. The hot water in the sink was very slow in coming, and the drain was sluggish.

The Husa Mas Camarena is situated in an inconvenient location a long way from the city center, and there is not much going on in the area. Still, the hotel provides a large, cheery lobby and good elevators / lifts, and our tour group was served an excellent paella dinner.

I suppose we could have done better with a centrally located hotel and more amenities, but this was a budget tour and you get what you pay for. For the money, we probably could have done worse.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonKVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

A good location for the circuit and nearby facilities. Rooms were clean and other areas.

Breakfast left a lot to be desired and the room pillows are awful! You can hire pillows however but that seems a bit of a cheek to me.
The wifi in the hotel was hit and miss and took an age to fix.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

If you are on business, alone, don't care where you stay and are simple minded then stay here, otherwise don't.
This is never a 4* hotel.
Stayed here as part of a track day package to Valencia but decided to extend our stay, big mistake. This is not a good place to stay. Breakfast is bad, staff are unfriendly and the standard of hotel is "Tired".
If you enjoy a nice cup of something in your room then you will be disappointed here to. No coffee, tea making facilities.
Pool small and cold, 3 sun beds so you better be quick in the morning if you want one.
Take my advice and book another hotel. There are plenty in Valencia.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blade61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I went on a school trip for 5 days and 4 nights at this hotel for a Valencia football training camp. The very nearby Valencia training facility is excellent but however the hotel is not. The rooms are average the bathroom has no lock and the water stinks. The food the hotel serves is horrible, cold, tasteless, soggy and I was also served turkey that was raw on the inside. The only good thing about the hotel is that there is free wifi. If you are thinking of staying at this hotel please chose another nearby hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron235678900654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Sauna not working
Steam room not working
Room basic
Food poor
Location poor
Parking poor
I could go on / book hotel near city

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Husa Hoteles
Thank DEREK H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Florence
23
Reviewed September 30, 2012

It is a very good place if you have to visit and stay at the parque tecnologico de Valencia. With very nice room, hall and at a very accesible price.
Of course it is quite far from the city center.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Husa Hoteles
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paterna
0.1 mi away
Posadas de Espana Paterna
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Wellness
Aparthotel Wellness
#3 of 7 in Paterna
83 reviews
2.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Valencia Aeropuerto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Tactica
Hotel Tactica
#2 of 7 in Paterna
307 reviews
5.7 mi away
Expo Hotel Valencia
Expo Hotel Valencia
#70 of 98 in Valencia
2,194 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Beleret
Hotel Beleret
#77 of 98 in Valencia
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mas Camarena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mas Camarena

Address: Calle Valencia 2 | Autovia Valencia - Ademuz, Salida 9, 46980 Paterna, Spain (Formerly Husa Mas Camarena)
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Paterna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Paterna
Price Range: $62 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mas Camarena 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and functional with all necessary services when someone is away from home (restaurant with home cooked food and daily menu, reception 24 hrs. Laundry, wi-fi in the room grautito, pool and fitness center with dry sauna and wet, Garage Hotel, Irish pub, meeting rooms, etc ...) Well located for arrivals and departures from the A7 (Barcelona, Madrid and Alicante) Valencia 10 minutes and quietly to rest by noche.Buen price and good quality of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mas Camarena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Mas Camarena Hotel Valencia
Husa Mas Camarena Valencia
Hotel Mas Camarena Province Of Valencia/Paterna, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing