We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location and accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alen do mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alen do mar
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Finisterre
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Two families stayed here after walking the last part of the Camino. Wonderful location just off the beach en route to Finisterre. Beautiful rooms which were made available on our arrival even though we were earlier than expected.
Staff were very helpful providing towels for the beach in addition to room towels.
Adjacent to excellent cafe with fresh seafood on the beach.

Room Tip: Room with balcony is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TMW2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
125
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed at this hotel after walking along the camino from Portugal.
The rooms are clean bright some with balconies and a wonderful view of the beach through the trees.
The staff were very welcoming and helpful.suggesting places to see and good restaurants which they were willing to drive,me to.
Breakfast was delicious with many home made goodies.
Town was easy to reach along a flagstone path,
I definitely plan to stay longer next time

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bigfer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vigo, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Just spent one night and it was lovely. They had just opened after being closed for renovation and holidays, so not many rooms were available but they offered me another room when I asked for one with a view. The rooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfast is amazing, everything home made, really delicious. Very nice helpful friendly owners. Its a perfect place to stay while exploring Finisterra.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillvigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This property was a great find - exceptional! My stay here was a highlight of my trip - understated elegance. Friendly and helpful people, accommodating with special requests. We had a room with the excellent sea view and we walked back along the beach after dinner at Finisterre - about a 30 minute stroll. Highly recommendable by a frequent traveller.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezuela
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We arrived late and tired after a very long day of driving and were recived by the owner of this lovely hotel. The rooms are very modern and confortable and have a lovely view of the beach. Very early the next morning we enjoyed a great breakfast at the hotel and inmediatly headed off to a walk on the beach, Finisterre is a lovely town with great food. The owner and his son gave us great típs as to where to go and what yo visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tere_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alora, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here for almost a week. Lovely, just lovely. The food was great with home made sweet cake, the people very helpful and friendly, great view of the sea through the trees. Great walks close by, and smart, comfortable, clean and contemporary rooms and bathrooms. No complaints at all and have been recommending the hotel to everyone we know. We wish them all success with this family run hotel in such a beautiful location. Helen and Alan

Room Tip: Book in advance if you can, but don't hesitate to call in en route if not. Is the best value fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nellyd1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Cannot say enough about our time at Alen do Mar. We couldn't have asked for more... the gracious hospitality, the lovely accommodations, breakfasts in a lovely light-filled dining room! Add to that an ocean view through the trees from our patio (& 2 minute walk down to the lovely Playa da Langosteira), and you have a place to relax and rejoice in the surrounding natural beauty.

Our hosts were so gracious and kind, helping us with everything from a late night cup of tea, to a suggestion which resulted in an exceptional seafood dinner (one of our best of the trip), to a sunset over the Atlantic that was breathtaking!

You know how once in a while on a trip you have an absolutely perfect day? We had one of those in Finisterre and we will never forget it!

Room Tip: Rooms are elegantly spare. Our room faced the water, which was wonderful. Not sure if all rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clare057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Finisterre
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mar da Ardora
Hotel Mar da Ardora
#2 of 8 in Finisterre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.7 mi away
Playa Langosteira
Playa Langosteira
#4 of 8 in Finisterre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Rustico Spa Finisterrrae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ancora
Ancora
#7 of 8 in Finisterre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Oca Insua Costa da Morte
1.1 mi away
Dugium
Dugium
#3 of 8 in Finisterre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alen do mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alen do mar

Property: Alen do mar
Address: Calcoba S/N, 15154 Finisterre, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Cape Finisterre > Finisterre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Finisterre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alen do mar 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Alen do mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing