We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best homebaking ever!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burren Perfumery

Burren Perfumery
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Carran
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Free Admission. Open daily all year. Working factory. Free Film. Gardens. Shop. The Burren Perfumery is located in the heart of the Burren in County Clare and is Ireland's longest-established perfume house. Since opening its doors 43 years ago, the Perfumery has drawn inspiration from the flora and beauty of the Burren landscape to create its signature scents, which are hand-blended and bottled on the Perfumery's premises. Today, the Burren Perfumery creates its artisan range, which includes hand-crafted soaps, certified organic creams and candles, using the very best natural and organic ingredients sourced from all around the world. Visitors are welcome to come along and experience the Burren Perfumery first-hand. A busy working factory, visitors are welcome free-of-charge and all-year-round to check out its home and hub in Carron, County Clare. Open from 9am to 7pm in the Summer and from 10am to 5pm in the Winter, visitors can observe the Perfumery team members as they go about their daily work in the Manufacturing Workshops and browse the Perfumery's products and offerings in its Gift Shop. For visitors interested in gaining some insight into just how special and spectacular the Burren's natural offerings are, a beautiful, locally-shot short film (free of charge) featuring the unique local flora and landscape of the Burren truly sets the scene. The Perfumery's Tea Rooms, which are open Summer-long, offer an opportunity to relax and unwind over a selection of freshly baked organic cakes, garden soups, tea, herbal teas and coffee, while visitors can also meander through and enjoy the Perfumery's organic show Garden.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best homebaking ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Spent a very enjoyable morning in the perfumery, their gardens and the cafe. Truly the best brownies a and carrot cake we have ever had. Well worth a visit. Set in the burren the journey to it is beautiful. Enjoy!!!

Helpful?
Thank Athgarvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    83
    13
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
206 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Completely worth the stop!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stopped at this attraction on a complete whim. I couldn't have been more pleased as it turned out to be a highlight on our drive through the Burren. They have an extensive line of organic and healthy body products and perfume. In addition there is the most lovely garden and charming little cafe. We had packed a picnic lunch but had I known about it I would have definitely planned for lunch here. Plan your day around lunch (or at least afternoon tea) here as once you arrive you will want to stay awhile!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BLBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Even if you are not in the market to buy any of their products, this is worth a stop. Their shop has a variety of soaps and body care products made from botanical extracts and organic ingredients. The video about the Burrens is very interesting. A stroll through the gardens is a must. The drive to the perfumery is an experience in itself; narrow, unpaved one lane road.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jmtjbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“an oasis in the desert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We discovered this place by chance, driving on narrow roads in the Buren.
It is one of our best souvenir during our 3 weeks trip.
Staff is friendly, place is very clean, food fresh and excellent (lot of vegetables, salads, daily made soups). And for the sweets, a big variety of tasty cakes. A highly recommend the smoked herring that is just exquisite, melting in the mouth....mmmh
We returned there for a second time few days later.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank painauchocolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Oldest Perfumery is worth thirty minutes or more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a beautiful little two building stop. One of the buildings has two attached lavatories, a shop with a variety of soaps, lotions, teas and facial products, a small (no more than 20x20) room with a constantly running video on the Burren. The other building has a small cafe, a couple of rooms devoted to soap and perfume making, and an outdoor cafe. The highlight of the perfumery is it's ornamental garden, which is about 200- 250' long and 50' wide, with interesting planters, decor, and even a kids area.
Ultimately, this is just a stop to milk money from unsuspecting tourists in the Burren, but they do it masterfully. Their shop keepers have old perfume making items near each display, their products are well packaged and smell great (avoid the tea bags, which may have trouble at US customs). We bought their package of soaps, a blown glass bath oil, and some lip balm which is surprisingly fanastic (highly recommend).
The shop keepers are helpful, charming and nice. The cafe service is fast and inviting. But what is most remarkable is the well designed exteriors and garden, which make a good stop for anyone wanting a rest in the middle of the rocky and stark burren.
Three warnings- 1-- IF YOU ARE ALLERGIC TO BEES DO NOT GO HERE! They have a number of beekeepers and bee hives right outside the Perfumery, and the bees happily roam around this area. I have heard that local bike and horse riders avoid the area due to the bees.
2 --- Parking is tight at mid-day due to busses and travellers. Come early morning or late afternoon to enjoy the perfumery without crowds.
3 --- The movie is pretty boring, you would do well to just shop and walk unless you cannot find your education on the Burren in a more digestible format.
Overall, I highly recommend this stop, especially if you want to do some shopping, resting or are interested in perfumes and soaps.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mildmanneredreporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burren Perfumery also viewed

County Clare, Province of Munster
Liscannor, County Clare
 
Doolin, The Burren
 

Been to Burren Perfumery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing