We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clare's Rock Hostel
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Wow. Best hostel of my life, and I'm 62 so I've seen a few. Pat, the owner/operator is a true gem. The hostel is new, spacious, warm. The rooms are clean, with en suite and hot water supplied by solar heating, soon to be augmented by a wind turbine. The kitchen is huge, better equipped than some restaurants, and Pat supplies cereal, milk, jam and, if you're lucky, some of his own home baked bread.
There is an excellent reading/TV room and internet is available. There is even an outside chess patio with full sized pieces. It is centrally located in the Burren. Hint: Get the Burren Walking Trails Pamphlet from any tourist Info shop

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ska7cis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 48 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here in the last month. The hostel is composed of two houses. Its basic, clean, immaculate and well equipped. The owner is very friendly and will give you loads of tips and recommendations. There is a pub pretty much across the road that does great food, has trad sessions and has a friendly cat (outside) and a sheepdog that will accompany you home if you wish. The location is right bang in the middle of the impressive limestone landscape that is Burren and very close to the Burren Perfumery that is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SupaHon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I loved clare rock hostel. I come from Germany and i was staying here. It was great. I good fan of golf and here there was a mini golf course. the beds were very comfortable and we had everything we needed and more. Cassidys pub was up road and the food there was divine. I really enjoyed my stay.



Please excuse my english

Room Tip: every room is comfortsable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Great base for our tour of the Burren in this ecofriendly hostel. We stayed in the self-catering accommodation, which was warm, comfy, well equipped and well managed with plenty of space for our group of 10.
The hostel is in a central location, which enabled us to take in some amazing aspects of this really special area. The Farm Heritage Tours were brilliant, the farmers were excellent communicators, each tour and each farm were very different in their diversity of landscape, heritage and management techniques - really interesting.
The local people’s friendliness and the information provided by the Burren Life Project Officers made for an amazing trip.
We had a lovely meal at Vaughan’s pub in Kilfenora (open through the week) and a good farewell evening at Cassidy’s Pub – which was closed through the week (we visited in late November). Thanks to our own project co-coordinator, without whom this trip wouldn’t have happened (Good job Rima!).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HazelBrowFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hostel was wonderful for our family. The game room and life size chess board were a hit with my kids (7 & 11) and I felt very comfortable about letting them run about. The hostel was very clean and the owner is charming. The shower was a little odd being a push button water saving shower. As another review says "you have to explore it yourself." Not to worry, you get clean. There was even a restaurant just a couple of yards down the road (Cassidy's) that according to my son "has the best burgers in the world!". Very reasonably priced too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dragonflyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Wonderful place, wonderful people, wonderful countryside - perfect in every way. Whether you want a sightseeing holiday, cycling, walking or just meeting the locals - this ticks all the boxes. Great location for all the sights of Clare.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jml965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

You get good value for money and stay at a perfect place for exploring the spectacular Burren.
We have booked a private room and got a 6-bed-room for the two of us. As there was a double bed in the room this wasn't a problem for us.
The bathroom was not the biggest one, but had everything we needed. The shower was very special - you have to explore it yourself ;o)
In my eyes it's better to make breakfast on your own, if you need more than black tea, milk, toast, butter, jelly and cereals to start into the day (but that small breakfast is cheep, just 2,50 EUR pp).
Anyway, it's a wonderful hostel with an unbeatable location, it's new, clean, the kitchens offer everything you need - and it's affordable.
(And in the evening: Go to "Cassidy's" just across the street - you won't regret it!)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haarnasenwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clare's Rock Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare's Rock Hostel

Address: Main Street, Carran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Carran
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Carran
Price Range: $24 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clare's Rock Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare's Rock Hostel Ireland/Carran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing