We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burren Study Tour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clare's Rock Hostel
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Great base for our tour of the Burren in this ecofriendly hostel. We stayed in the self-catering accommodation, which was warm, comfy, well equipped and well managed with plenty of space for our group of 10.
The hostel is in a central location, which enabled us to take in some amazing aspects of this really special area. The Farm Heritage Tours were brilliant, the farmers were excellent communicators, each tour and each farm were very different in their diversity of landscape, heritage and management techniques - really interesting.
The local people’s friendliness and the information provided by the Burren Life Project Officers made for an amazing trip.
We had a lovely meal at Vaughan’s pub in Kilfenora (open through the week) and a good farewell evening at Cassidy’s Pub – which was closed through the week (we visited in late November). Thanks to our own project co-coordinator, without whom this trip wouldn’t have happened (Good job Rima!).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HazelBrowFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 48 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hostel was wonderful for our family. The game room and life size chess board were a hit with my kids (7 & 11) and I felt very comfortable about letting them run about. The hostel was very clean and the owner is charming. The shower was a little odd being a push button water saving shower. As another review says "you have to explore it yourself." Not to worry, you get clean. There was even a restaurant just a couple of yards down the road (Cassidy's) that according to my son "has the best burgers in the world!". Very reasonably priced too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dragonflyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Wonderful place, wonderful people, wonderful countryside - perfect in every way. Whether you want a sightseeing holiday, cycling, walking or just meeting the locals - this ticks all the boxes. Great location for all the sights of Clare.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jml965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

You get good value for money and stay at a perfect place for exploring the spectacular Burren.
We have booked a private room and got a 6-bed-room for the two of us. As there was a double bed in the room this wasn't a problem for us.
The bathroom was not the biggest one, but had everything we needed. The shower was very special - you have to explore it yourself ;o)
In my eyes it's better to make breakfast on your own, if you need more than black tea, milk, toast, butter, jelly and cereals to start into the day (but that small breakfast is cheep, just 2,50 EUR pp).
Anyway, it's a wonderful hostel with an unbeatable location, it's new, clean, the kitchens offer everything you need - and it's affordable.
(And in the evening: Go to "Cassidy's" just across the street - you won't regret it!)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haarnasenwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

This hostel is exceptionally clean with a genuine warm friendly owner who really does care about the customer. The accomadation was modern, clean and excellent value for money. I even got the recipe for their famous Clare's Rock Brown Bread!!
All extras are included in the price which is invaluable with young children.
The location is truly in The Burren, close to lots of castles and forts.

We had internet access and lots of local info. So far our best hostel to stay in

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simplybeWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

This was the loveliest place imaginable. The rooms were clean and nice. It was quiet. It was convenient. It was very inexpensive. It was roomy. There were games for the kids and a huge, fantastic kitchen.

Very worthwhile.

One word of warning. This is not a family run hostel. The hostess that was there when we arrived left at 9PM and when another couple that came without reservations after she was gone, the phone number to call for help didn't work. Later we found out the phone was not out of order but it was a cell phone and the owner of it was out on the farm running heavy equipment and missed the call.

Long story short, if you don't want to sleep in your car, call the hostel and tell them when you're planning to arrive. It's well worth the effort. The place is beautiful. The price is low. And it's very comfortable. In June it was mostly empty. The hostess was most accommodating - you just can't arrive at night when they aren't expecting you.

A note about breakfast. It's self serve cereal and bread for toast and jam. Pleanty of good bread and 3 or 4 cereals, but we ran out of milk and there is nowhere near by to get more. There should have been enough, but a couple who ate before us drank more milk than most people. It was not necessarily the fault of the owner. For 2.50 Euros per person for breakfast, it's really hard to complain.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Stayed here on a walking vacation , the place was spotless the owner was very helpful and the rooms were spacious and airy.
No stores in this village so bring supplies, but there is a great pub and restaurant "Cassidys" (who gave us supplies for breakfast)

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennywise49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clare's Rock Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare's Rock Hostel

Address: Main Street, Carran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Carran
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Carran
Price Range: $44 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clare's Rock Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare's Rock Hostel Ireland/Carran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing