We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
CheapTickets
StayForLong
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveler rating
4
11
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4
11
3
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 18 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Chotika is a nice riverfront guesthouse. A bit far from town if you don't have your own transport, but you can still walk (it's about 1 kilometre from the town and the floating market). Go to Ampawa before it gets too commercialised like Damnuan Saduok. My family enjoyed the resort very much. Breakfast is minimalist, but they have congee and chicken rice ouside for you to buy and enjoy at the "pak" soi, and you can bring them back to the guesthouse to eat them. The owner manager is very friendly and they have a family of 7 dogs! We went during the quiet period, mid week, and shared the resort with another couple.

Room tip: Go on Thursday and stay till Saturday to enjoy the quiet and slow lifestyle on Thursday and then enjoy the floating market on Friday evening.
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skwan00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

I agree with the previous reviews. We really enjoyed our stay at Chotika. The friendly owner and his family do their best to make your stay comfortable, helped especially by the owner's excellent English. We particularly appreciated that he accommodated our very late arrival and helped us with a problem we had with our hire car. Chotika consists of converted wooden canal-side houses (and is currently being expanded). The room was more like a simple suite. It was very spacious, consisting of a sitting area including a TV and fridge, a bedroom and a private courtyard and bathroom beyond it. There is a nice area to sit at the front and watch life on the canal. Free wifi was available in the room and the restaurant.
Things to be aware of are as mentioned by previous reviewers. The hotel is not in the main floating market area of Amphawa so it's a 15 min walk or tuk tuk ride along the road to get there. You can clearly hear sounds from your neighbours' rooms, dogs outside and longtail boats on the canal (though this is a quiet canal) so earplugs will help you have a more peaceful night.
All in all a good base to explore this very interesting corner of Thailand.

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank geckotale
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

If you want to visit a 'real' floating market, that is not for tourists, but actually used by the Thai people, then Amphawa is the place to visit. Chotika is a great place to stay to visit all the local area has to offer. The owner is extremely helpful & can speak excellent English. He arranged for a tuk-tuk to take us where we wanted to go (30 baht to the floating market) and told of us a cheap way to visit the Tree Temple (just across the river to the temple for 5 baht). The Chotika is great to just sit, relax & watch the world go by as you see who lives and works on the river from morning until night. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights here (only downfall is you can hear everything your neighbours are saying/doing) but we would certainly go back again & recommend this great place to anyone. It is superb value for money.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SPandHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Whilst Chotika wasn't our first choice due to its location, it turned out to be an excellent second choice for our 3 night stay in Amphawa. Chotika is located around 15 minutes walk from the floating market, a pleasant walk during the day or a cheap tuk tuk ride after dark (or a few too many Singhas), although 2 out of 3 of our nights we received free motor bike rides home courtesy of a great bar along the main canal (can't remember its name). The benefit of staying here is that it is located in a more residential area, therefore very peaceful with a very convenient 7/11 (Thai style) on the opposite bank of the canal. Rooms are simple but very clean and spacious with a small area to sit outside looking over the canal. We would definitely stay at Chortika again. As for Amphawa, it was fantastic to find and stay somewhere where the Thai tourists heavily out number the farangs. Enjoy sitting on the side of the canal eating freshly cooked seafood prepared and served from the sampans moored along the canal side. Friday and Saturday are the nights to stay, after which Amphawa returns to a sleepy hamlet.

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank thecookes37
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews