We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the more local floating markets around Bangkok”

Amphawa Floating Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$362.23*
and up
Full-Day Floating Market and Biking Tour from Bangkok
More Info
$87.18*
and up
Half-Day Amphawa Floating Market and Fireflies Watching Tour from Hua Hin
More Info
$53.34*
and up
Private Full-Day Real Bangkok Tour
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Amphawa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Markham, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“One of the more local floating markets around Bangkok”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Amphawa has a nice and sizable floating market, which is frequented by many Thais as well, as opposed to some of the other and more touristy floating markets around Bangkok. This place is only 1.5 hours from Bangkok (and 10 min. from the Maeklong railway market) but only opens on weekends (afternoon) and can get really busy mid-afternoon. With the fishing port of Samut Songkhram being so close, the seafood there is very fresh and I definitely recommend trying it (BBQ or in a soup, ...) at some of the food stalls (either on land or on a boat). Also at nightfall you can go one one of the river boats to see many fireflies along the river.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tri168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    419
    130
    22
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Normal Decent Market”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Nothing spectacular but a nice bazaar by the river with many stalls selling all kinds of stuff. The "floating" part of the market wasn't really necessary as most of the stalls were on land, just a few boats to spice up the atmosphere.

Fireflies tour is ok, at 60 baht per pax for an hour. Yes, you can see fireflies (mostly stationary on bushes) but if you are lucky like us, you can see some buzzing around. The night view across the river horizon was splendid.

Don't go to Amphawa by signing up exorbidant day trips with tour companies or using commercial guides etc. We did ours with private transport (excellent service) for 4 persons and less than 3000 baht all in (inclusive of transport hire, boat, toll n petrol). Buzz me if you need an itinerary.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank ABChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool, lancs
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Take the boat tours”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We visited Amphawa Floating market as part of a tour combined with the Train Market. When we got there it was early afternoon and I was disappointed to find many stalls closed; however, by the time we left the place was very busy. I think it's more aptly called a water town as there are few boats but plenty of shops build over the water. You can take a boat ride around the canals for a small fee but we chose to do the boat tour which visits 5 local temples instead. The long tailed boat ride is a great experience and the boat waits at each temple till everyone returns ... there is no rushing around. The last temple we visited was the one I had gone to see ... it has been completely swallowed by banyan trees so that you wouldn't even know it was there ... like a very small version of some of the Angkor Wat temples. The temple remains in use and is lovely to see. This temple also has a small zoo attached to keep the children occupied! After the temples tour we did the fireflies tour and I have to say this was a bit of a waste of time ... yes, we saw a few fireflies which were very pretty, but this takes about 5 minutes of a boat ride in the dark which lasts a very long time. I actually found it a bit scarey being out on the river with so many other boats with just one light marking the presence of each.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank angieinwonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“More authentic, but still very crowded”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We really enjoyed the Amphawa floating market as there were lots of options for food - the market itself has very tight walkways along the river so for big family it was difficult to keep track of everyone - also there was rarely any space to stop. We did enjoy sampling all the different food - but the firefly tour was average - depending on the season you may not be able to see many fireflies, and at night on an open boat it gets very chilly. The market only opens on the weekend (in the afternoon) and we went with a tour guide - just be ready to be in the masses of people walking up/down the market. Stalls start closing around 9-10 pm.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nix_Mpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A typlical Thai floating market”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We were told that this was more of a local market than one that is set up for tourists. You could have fooled me, as the waterways were congested with boatloads of tourists. There are areas you can visit on foot, but for the best experience hire a boat to haul you up and down the canals. Lots of fresh food, souvenirs, trinkets, art etc. If you are going to take photos of the Thai ladies selling goods from their boats, as a courtesy, buy something from them first.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RickBeaulieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amphawa Floating Market also viewed

Damnoen Saduak, Ratchaburi Province
Samut Songkhram, Samut Songkhram Province
 

Been to Amphawa Floating Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing