We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveler rating
29
15
12
5
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
15
12
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday carverybeer gardenbar areaorange juicemy mothersome tlccomfortable roomsstayed for nightsyoung waiterfriendly atmospheremealsmanagerpubmeatlocalsangleseysample
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 69 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2014

i must recommend the holland arms for the lovely food i had when i went 2 visit my daughter on a tuesday afternoon i will call again keep it up and it feels like home,i will always be visiting here good caring staff always helpful

Room Tip: did not stay that time
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 604annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

There were 13 of us including a baby and we were welcomed by lovely staff. The rooms were clean and beds lovely. Evening meals were excellent and not pub grub, nice and freshly cooked , enjoyed by all. Would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Food cooked with TLC not what you would expect from a pub my husband had duck with black pudding followed by cherry crumble, myself chicken stuffed with smoked salmon done to perfection , followed by bread and butter pudding . If you want good fresh cooked food look no further by the way we went back twice more during our break in anglsey . Friendly staff ,Found on A5 at gaerwen towards holyhead next to a good garden centre, just up the road rspb walk on flat

Room Tip: Didnt stay at hotel
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misspiggy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We went for dinner tonight, shared the garlic mushrooms which were the best I have ever tasted, the sauce was amazing! Both of us had fish as main meals and we were very satisfied, the sauces were so nice! We will be back for certain!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jayniejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Straight up, this review is scathing!!!

1. At least the Castle, for all its bad points, had hot water in the shower. In fact, it had water in the shower, and you could actually fit underneath it.

2. Again, for all its bad points, at least at the Castle, I could get a hot breakfast.

3. The single glazed windows allowed me to enjoy the sounds of cars, police vehicle sirens, the great outdoors, since they did not even block the cold weather.

Take a drive 10 minutes down the road and stay in LLangefni township, where you can get a good hot shower, a decent meal, and stay nice and warm.

Yet another wonderful experience to be added to the company blacklist.

Thank you very much for nothing...I gave you one dot only because it wouldn't let me give you NONE!!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShouldBeFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saz181, Manager at Holland Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at the Holland Arms Hotel.

We only took over this establishment at the end of September last year so have altogether only been here nearly 5 months, we are currently working hard to update and refurbish all our rooms to a high standard. But unfortunately we cannot justify closing the hotel to do this so the rooms are getting done up one at a time.

Also on the day you checked in we had no water at all that morning due to a burst water main just a little down the road. I'm sure if you had gone into Llangefni the following morning you would have had to stop at the traffic lights that had been put in place so they could dig up the road to get to the water pipes.

The hotel is also owned by a brewery so anything to do with the structure is unfortunately not something we can resolve ourselves (as much as we would like to) if it was we could take your comments regarding the windows on board.

In regards to the rescue services going past the hotel they were acting in response to a road traffic accident in which a vehicle had overturned and the occupants had to be cut free from the wreckage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews