We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday, nourishing body, mind and soul.”
Review of Boghill Centre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilfenora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boghill Centre
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family holiday, nourishing body, mind and soul.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our family (kids aged 7 & 9) spent a week at the Whistling Along family week at Bog Hill. We all had an excellent time. Gentle and playful morning yoga was a good was to start the day; the kids learned to play some tunes on the Tin Whistle, and my husband and I learned some basics of fiddling (to our surprise and delight!) We greatly enjoyed the afternoon outings to members of the local ecotourism network (farm, nature walk, etc), but Bog Hill is also a great place for parents to sit and relax while the kids explore outside.

The Vegetarian food was simply excellent, and the young Woofers (volunteers) lent a joyful and international atmosphere. The week was organized with great care, warmth, and kindness, especially our end-of-week concert!

One small thing could be improved - the wifi was weak.
We were all sad to go, and are already looking forward to coming back next summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mulberry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
1
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I will always come back . Food wonderful. This was great experience and a perfect place to relax. I felt welcome from the first moment. Thank you . I like places like that. No restrictions.total freedom and helpful all the time. Everything was there. Next village close by.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m3760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you are looking for luxury, don't go to Boghill. If you are looking for an (eco-)friendly, warm place to stay while visiting the beautiful Burren, don't miss it! The food was excellant and almost all home-grown or local produce. The people, including the large and international group of volunteers, were all very friendly. They offer different workshops, including one on Irish music.
While you're there, don't miss a music session at the nearby pubs in Kilfenora or Lisdoonvarna.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madeleine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My stay at the Boghill was a vegan's dream! The food was yummy and the day trips were fabulous. The hosts care about the individual experiences of each of their guests and do their best to make sure everyone is enjoying themselves. They are caring people who have a standard of excellence that was well achieved during my stay. I enjoyed the international flavor of the Centre and the fun and cultural experiences that were offered.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maldon
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My dream come true, a stay in County Clare at a beautiful, nourishing, friendly, personal, comfortable,amazing food,like being at home setting! Nothing was too much trouble at Boghill
I found my ancestry that i have been searching for!
i will be returning many times as the Burren magic has put a spell on me!
the inventory was amazing, dancing, trad in a tavern, art on the beach, the cliffs on Moher and much more, i loved the flexibility of dipping in and out of activities.
ideal for single people, couples or families.
i also liked meeting people that worked there and the fact that they joined in everything.
Many thanks to all that made my stay so wonderful.
visit June 2013

Room Tip: any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The food was vegetarian and brilliant. The staff are helpful. The setting is amazing, County Clare is wonderful. The beds were comfortable.
The walk along the Cliffs of Moher is not to be missed as are the music sessions in the local pubs.
Well recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

How do I begin to describe the delights of County Clare, the rugged coastal areas, beautiful beaches, the Cliffs of Moher, The Burren National Park it is truly one of the most beautiful places I have visited. The Burren is almost spellbinding, it is a quirky moonscape that holds many secrets and pleasures, from tiny little rare orchids to the Dolmans.

There is so much to do from the Boghill Centre, you can take part in their many activities or use it as a base to explore the area, you can surf, walk, climb, go Dolphin Watching, visit the Birds of Prey Centre or visit the majestic Cliffs of Moher, the pretty little coastal town of Doolin is nearby.
The Boghill Centre itself is warm and friendly, single visitors are soon absorbed in to the group and are not left to feel alone, large groups are catered for with ease, it is possible to feel completely at home and welcomed there, you can either sit and relax or be kept in a whirlwind of activities. It is a perfect centre for children too with lots of activities which will keep them entertained and amused. We recently visited with a group of friends and had a fantastic week, we went on a walking week and every effort was put in to make sure that the walks were not only enjoyable but also interesting, with lots of information about the area, customs and history. Evenings were spent listening to fabulous traditional music, and also watched the speedy step dancing night, some of us did it some of us watched!
The food was fresh wholesome, organic and all home made. It was a great holiday, I will definitely go there again, and many thanks to all the care and attention to detail from the lovely hosts.

Visited May 2013

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeedHelp!Oldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilfenora
1.7 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
303 reviews
1.5 mi away
Elements Guest House
Elements Guest House
#2 of 16 in Lisdoonvarna
52 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kilfenora Hostel
Kilfenora Hostel
#1 of 2 in Kilfenora
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boghill Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boghill Centre

Property: Boghill Centre
Address: Boghill, Kilfenora, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Kilfenora
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kilfenora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Boghill we offer a break with a difference – a refreshing change from a hotel or guesthouse. B&B and Hostel accommodation is available all year round. Sleeping for up to 40 people can be arranged in bedrooms and dormitories to suit your particular requirements with ample toilet and shower facilities to hand. Single and twin Rooms En-suite twin rooms or single rooms sharing shower room are available for €35 including a continental breakfast. The double en-suite rooms are comfortable and practical. Each has two single beds which can be combined to create a double bed. The en-suite shower rooms feature power showers and shaving points. The single rooms are in two blocks – each block of two sharing a separate entrance and a shower room.Hostel accommodation Boghill welcomes hostelers particularly during the summer months when there aren’t so many large groups taking over all the centre beds. Do contact us if you would like an off season break as there is often room for individual hostelers. At quiet times kitchen facilities can be provided for those wishing to self cater. Hostel beds are €23 including continental breakfast (€17 without breakfast) Dormitories have attached shower rooms and hold 4 – 6 people. They can be booked for single or double occupancy only. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing