We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A good choice!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kilfenora, The Burren, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Joseph M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A good choice!”
Reviewed July 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Way slower pace of life to what we're used to and in a lovely area with great people E.G Mark the Barman, the Bike rental woman, the Taxi Man who was expecting a child and the woman who offered to make us chips when we were searching for a Chippy. The house was in great condition and so neat and clean. Great value for money! It was something different and gave us a taster of what it would be like to live in a small area in contrast to a place like Belfast. Although unable to meet her, the lady we were dealing with was very hospitable and friendly which made the trip much more enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2017
Hi Joseph, thanks a lot for such a great review. It's great that you mentioned all the people you met on your visit to Kilfenora. Let's hope u will be back. Anna Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neema Y
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I believe that you can overlook several flaws while you are travelling if the owners of the place where you are staying make you feel welcomed and taken care of. Mary's daughter Anna, is who manages the house and bookings. Her house is as big and warm and welcoming as her heart. We made a mistake booking the place with incorrect dates and as soon as we called Anna to get that sorted out we realized she is a wonderful person and very organized and meticulous. She immediately booked us up for the right dates.
We met Anna at the house at 6:15 pm. She walked us through the entire house. The beds are so comfortable and you got everything in the kitchen to make a meal for yourself. Fresh clean linen, towels, you got everything you need right there. Vaughan's pub is close by where we had a delicious roast, stew and and their famous bacon and cabbage. Everybody in Clare is so welcoming and warm. We loved it there. There is a fireplace too . Anna had topped up the meter for heating and water. Internet is available but it is a little weak . We did not mind that at all. We drove to this place from King John's castle via the loop head , kilkee cliffs , Spanish Point, and lahinch beach. It is a beautiful drive. The next day due to bad weather our Aran Islands cruise was cancelled. But that didnt bother us one bit. We did the cliffs of Moher, the entire walk to the Southern platform . It is breathtaking. The house is so close to these major attractions. The doolin cave, cliffs, burren,Poulnabrone dolmen. There is a supervalu at driving distance. Next day the weather surprisingly cleared up and we got on the cruise despite forecasts of poor weather . We checked out at about 9 AM to get to the pier although Anna told us we could take our time to leave since there were no arrivals that day. The house is very clean and we hoped that Anna would find it in the state she lent it to us after we left. It was an absolute joy staying in Fair Green. For my own selfish reasons I did not want to talk too much about this place , the reason being I dont want it to get overbooked the next time we visit Clare. LOL. Cos we are only going to stay in Mary and Anna's house. If the place is overbooked , we will time our vacation dates around the available dates! ha ha!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cosy cottage with all mod cons in the heart of Clare.”
Reviewed September 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We (myself, my husband and our two daughters aged 7 and 2) booked this cottage for our wedding/honeymoon. We arrived on Thursday and got married in Vaughan's pub (around the corner) on Saturday.We then stayed for another 6 days and explored all the wonderful sights Clare has to offer.
Our host Anna Maria was a pleasure to deal with from the start. She made everything very easy for us and we knew that she was always on hand to assist us should we need any help. We were even surprised with a lovely card and bottle of champagne on our arrival on account of our upcoming celebration :) We also decided that we wanted to stay an extra night which was sorted with just a quick text to Anna Maria who very generously allowed us to stay.
The cottage itself is beautiful and while it retains all the original features of an old Irish cottage, it also has everything you need for modern-day living - great kitchen facilities, dishwasher, washing machine, dryer etc. It has everything you would want even a lovely table outside to eat al fresco (weather permitting!).
The cottage is also perfectly located in the lovely village of Kilfernora where you can find Vaughan's pub (which does beautiful food and a ceili every Sunday night) as well as The Burren Centre. The village is also close to pretty much all the sights in Clare. We saw the Cliffs of Moher, Moher Open Farm (twice), The Aaran Islands, Aliwee Caves, Father Ted's house and lots more.
All in all couldn't recommend this cottage or location highly enough.We'd go back tomorrow if we could and will certainly be returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The stove fireplace.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2016
Hi Jennifer, Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and congratulations.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon, thanks for the lovely review- much appreciated.
Anna Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevosky
Northern Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect for travelling around County Clare”
Reviewed September 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Fair Green Cottage a couple of weeks ago and thoroughly enjoyed our experience both of the beautiful cottage, and the area as a whole. The cottage itself is so quaint and comfortable we were so delighted the minute we arrived. The owner and family could not do enough to make sure that our stay was memorable, which they managed to do by the special little things they did for us throughout our stay, especially bringing us logs for the log burner in the living room which we enjoyed each evening to great effect. The cottage is broken into two parts, there is the older original dwelling, really quite unspoiled, and very Irish if that is what you are after, it has a big stone fireplace in the living room coupled with the log burner, adequate comfortable furniture, and everything that you would need to make this a home from home. As well as the old part, there is a fantastic new extension comprising of a bedroom with ensuite, a massive kitchen/dining area, a fully equipped utility room and a bathroom. Must say the showers surprised me, they were both power showers and were fabulous. The cottage has oil fired central heating, and has a very efficient boiler which heated the water and radiators very quickly. The bedrooms are really comfortable, in fact, the bed in the older bedroom was so comfortable that I slept sound from the first night, something which I find quite difficult when trying to sleep somewhere other than my own home. The kitchen as I mentioned was a lovely size, we made breakfast each morning, and it comes fully equipped with everything that you would ever need. The parking area was great in that we were able to bring the car inside every night and close the gates which made us feel very secure, not that anything in Kilfenora would ever make you feel threatened, it's a lovely little village with a very interesting monastry which is well worth a visit. Thankyou Mary and your lovely family for letting us share in this little jewel nestling in this fascinating part of Ireland, we would recommend it to anyone wanting a clean, comfortable home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely Irish feel about the whole experience, and the friendliness shown during our stay!!
Liked least: Coming home!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2016
Thanks ever so much for your lovely review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to seeing you again in the future,
Anna Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisdob1
County Westmeath, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Weekend Away”
Reviewed February 14, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This fabulous cottage situated in the heart of the burren offers everything you need for a break away. The flow of the old style with the new build is fantastic as well as been clean its comfortable, spacious and inviting. The cottage was very well equipped with all mod cons (Tv, Dryer, etc) necessary for our stay. Electric was metered and topped up before we arrived. Bedding and towels were provided and all were spotless which I was most pleased about. Essentials such as Tea, Coffee, etc were also provided even a packet of biscuits which I can honestly say was very thoughtful of the owner and well welcomed after our journey down. Off road parking was also available at front of cottage. The village of Kilfenora was within walking distance, where there was shops and pub should we required anything. Sights such as the Cliff of Moher, Alliwee Caves and tour of the Burren among others were within driving distance and information on all these sights and more were provided at the cottage. This cottage is an ideal place to stay. To Mary and Family, I would like to express my sincere thanks for your hospitality on our stay and would hope to see you again in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accommodation was excellent
Liked least: Could not fault it in any way
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2016
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here and thank you for taking to time to write such a kind review. It was our pleasure to have you here and hope to see you call by again soon!

Cheers,
Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaud D
Lille, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome accomodation”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Mary and it's familly have renewed this old typical house with a lot of taste.
All bed linen are furnished and this is good quality bedding.
You dispose a washing machine and a dryer which is very useful in Ireland because of the wet weather.
The house is not equiped with Internet but 100m from the house you can find the Linnane's pub, which offer free wifi with a good data bandwidth.
The house is equiped with a large flat TV cabled for local DTV and satelite TV.
The house is well situated: 20 min. for Moher Cliffs, 15 min. for Burren, closest supermarket at 10min in Ennistimon. There are also some facilities in Kilfenora (post office, proximity shop, restaurant, pubs with live irish music, tourism information center...)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2015
Thanks for the great review.

Talk to you soon,
Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierce M
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a fantastic week at this cottage and will certainly be looking at going back next year. Just off the main street in Kilfenora, the cottage is close enough to walk to local shops and pubs yet just far enough away to give total peace and quiet. A mix of the old and new, the main living room brought back wonderful childhood memories of sitting in front of the fire chatting for hours whilst the newer kitchen/diner felt like we were in a new built house. The owner lives close by so all needs can be catered for.
Local sights that must be visited are the Cliffs of Moher and the Ailwee Caves and a stop off for a bit of surfing in Lahinch is a must. The beach at Fanore is one of the best we have ever been to and with so many ghost stories abound my teenagers loved the stay during Halloween.
No stay in Kilfenora can be complete until the Bacon and Cabbage dinner from Vaughan's has been tried - you may struggle to finish a Guinness after such good food.
Highly recommend Fair Green Cottage, Kilfenora and Vaughan's.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The mix of old and new. Sat around the fire at night whilst having breakfast in the fantastic new kitchen.
Liked least: Coming home.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2015
Thanks so much for your lovely review. It was so nice to meet you. You are welcome back anytime.

Regards,

Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing