We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Land lady is scary” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garden Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gardenstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Garden Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Gardenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Land lady is scary”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

if you stay hear you had better not coplain about anything . or the landlady might bite your head off. only stay if everywear is booked up. dirty rooms discusting food very noisy in room not good value

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneWhite, Owner at The Garden Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Did you REALLY stay with us ? We’ve checked our records for June – we had German guests and Australian guests (repeat visitors) stay with us in May, June & July but they all left us perfectly happy with their accommodation and the time that they spent with us.
During the rest of the summer due to family/business/holiday commitments we have had no guests, so did you REALLY stay with us ?
We would be interested to know the date(s) when you believe that you were our guest. Your review contains no specific information – just a lot of negative comments and could be viewed as malicious. We would always welcome constructive criticism from our guests - if you stay/eat somewhere and are unhappy with any aspect of your visit, the adult solution is to mention the problem to the proprietor at the time. We have very happy customers leaving here after a meal, the only criticism being that our portions are too generous.
So did you REALLY stay with us ? or did you have a problem such as refusal of service in our bar area due to underage concerns as we always insist on proof of age identification ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    9
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
42
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

a very nice and warm place to stay. good lacation just a few minutes walk down to beach and harbour. nice people and very good breakfest. we had a nice view over village and beach from our room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OLFRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

If you are looking for a good pint, a friendly atmosphere, and satisfying food, then you cannot get any better than this pub/hotel. Landlady Lynne is a great cook, and her food represents the best value for money. Goats cheese and oven roasted tomatoes on ciabatta bread - yum. And salmon with maple syrup and chilli - fab! The village is packed with holiday let cottages so to be sure of a place you'd best book ahead. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

I had the pleasure of visiting this spot and having dinner there several times. The couple that run it is lovely, and the locals pleasant. If you go, you must try the chicken on their dinner menu, with the whiskey cream sauce, it is to die for and I am still dreaming about it. Book ahead for dinner. Such a beautiful seaside village to wander around.

Room Tip: Book ahead if you want to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauder, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Very highly recommended, do plan ahead and book for a lovely evening in a homely pub with great hosts. We ate here twice during our holiday in Gardenstown, which is a fantastic seaside village. Both times we had excellent service and delicious, freshly prepared food. Very generous portions, lovely vegetables and I was given a tasty alternative to the roasted veg as I am allergic to tomatoes and peppers. We had steak, fish and chicken, all were yummy. Puddings are equally mouth watering - our 8 year old is reminiscing already about the chocolate pudding and custard. If that's not enough, the menu is also reasonably priced. If staying in or visting Gardenstown, you should book ahead.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KateColinLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

A gem of a pub, warm, welcoming, great beer, great wine, great locals, food sensibly uncomplicated and delicious so book to avoid disappointment. We will be back to take advantage of the great hospitality offered. We were drinkers and eaters there so cannot comment on the accommodation, but if it is half as good as our eating and drinking experience you will not go wrong!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmaBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

We really could not recommend this pub anymore highly. The owners are so warm and friendly along with the locals. Felt like we belonged. The food was great, plenty of it and you really can't quibble at the price. Do not hesitate get yourselves in there!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gjlw21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardenstown
7.1 mi away
Fife Lodge Hotel
Fife Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Banff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
18.6 mi away
Cullen Bay Hotel
Cullen Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cullen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
7.4 mi away
Banff Springs Hotel
Banff Springs Hotel
#1 of 2 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Tufted Duck Hotel
Tufted Duck Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Combs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kathleen's Bed and Breakfast
Kathleen's Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Gardenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mill of Nethermill Holidays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Arms Hotel

Property: The Garden Arms Hotel
Address: 69 Main Street, Gardenstown AB45 3YP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Gardenstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gardenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at our 18th-century hotel. Relax, stay a while, browse the gallery of local arts & crafts including hand-made gemstone jewelery, enjoy a hearty meal (best to book !). Free wi-fi is available, and if it's chilly - a log fire. There's a cosy residents lounge to enjoy a book, music or the sea view. Large selection of malt whiskeys always available. Our dining room (seats 16) is available for special occasions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Garden Arms Hotel Gardenstown, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing