We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A visit to the Garden Arms should be mandatory!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gardenstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Garden Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Gardenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A visit to the Garden Arms should be mandatory!”
Reviewed May 11, 2011

We stayed one night at this small and charming place. Lynne and Dave gave us a warm welcome and some tips about the area. Our room had a real sea view and we were lucky to enjoy a beautiful sunset from our bed.

We spent some time in the small bar were the atmosphere is warm, genuine and friendly. We also enjoyed a delicious two course meal and a very generous breakfast.

We can really recommend taking a walk along the beach and climb up to the old church/graveyard overlooking the sea and village.

The villlage of Gardenstown is definitely worth a visit, and a visit to the Garden Arms should be mandatory!

Thanks again Lynne and Dave for a pleasant stay, hope to see you again!

Anna & Johan
Sweden

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan7605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    10
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
45
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Recently had a family dinner at the Garden Arms hotel, Gardenstown - whilst staying in a self catering home nearby. I had read the reviews and although these encouraged a visit, they didn't do it justice. I am a coeliac and usually have difficulty eating out ... but not so at the Garden Arms. I had special gluten-free rolls bought in for me and the food was free from all wheat and gluten but still very, very tasty. The tomato and basil soup was simply delicious. I had the monkfish main course (first time I have eaten this type of fish) and it was delicious. Atmosphere was great and you could browse the selection of crafts whilst waiting for your courses .. I ended up buying an original pastel/picture. Only complaint ... a complaint! I hear you so ... too much food! I walked out like a barrel ... they certainly know how to feed you. All of the other seven guests with me absolutely loved their food but we all had very full tummies at the end of the evening ...

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lynneharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leith
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We were not staying in the Hotel, but ate in the restaurant. The food was locally sourced and of the highest quality - my venison was perfectly cooked. As you would expect the fish was as fresh as can be from a fishing village, and beautifully prepared. The Hotel is a free house, so they are able to source and select their own wines and I was really impressed by the quality and value of the wines on offer. However if you are looking for a good beer they have well kept real ales too.

The service was attentive without being smothering, and I would heartily recommend the Garden Arms Hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBoyLeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Arrived there somewhat disillusioned after having been denied in Pennan because it was after 7.30pm (Saturday!). The bar had a slightly dubious look but the friendly staff made the atmosphere very welcoming.
The menu offered a interesting choice of refined standard dishes and local seafood delicacies. The restaurant room was very inviting.
Do not dare to leave anything on your plate as you may be denied the indispensable sweets by the assertive chef!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank craut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yutz
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Great food and warm welcome
Probably best to book in advance for diner.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroVo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dufftown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2010

If you are looking for a relaxing break then this is the place! An unpretentious hotel with excellent service, extremely good evening meals and a breakfast that will set you up for the day. No frills (no radio nor tv in the bedroom - heaven!), no 5 star aspirations - just honest to goodness simplicity dished up with a level of care and attention that would put a lot of hotels to shame. Will most definitely return and make it a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara211Dufftown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2008

I've just returned from a weekend stay at the Garden Arms Hotel in the beautiful village of Gardenstown on the Scottish coast. I had a great weekend away and was really pleased with my choice of where to stay.

From the moment I contacted the Garden Arms Hotel to make a reservation, I was delighted with the level of service and hospitality of the hosts Lynne and Dave.

When I arrived, this was reinforced even further. Arriving in Gardenstown on a cold, snowy Scottish day I was greeted with the warmest of welcomes and made to feel at home. As the hotel bar serves as the local bar, it's nice to meet other people from the area and to learn all about it.

From the room itself (with sea-views), to the delicious home-cooked dinner - I had an excellent stay at the hotel. I was welcomed so warmly to the area by Lynne and Dave and can honestly say that I hope I can make the trip back again.

  • Liked — Service - from start to finish the service was excellent
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardenstown
16.0 mi away
Tufted Duck Hotel
Tufted Duck Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Combs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
7.4 mi away
Banff Springs Hotel
Banff Springs Hotel
#1 of 2 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
18.6 mi away
Cullen Bay Hotel
Cullen Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cullen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Fife Lodge Hotel
Fife Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Banff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mill of Nethermill Holidays
0.0 mi away
Kathleen's Bed and Breakfast
Kathleen's Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Gardenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Arms Hotel

Property: The Garden Arms Hotel
Address: 69 Main Street, Gardenstown AB45 3YP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Gardenstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gardenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at our 18th-century hotel. Relax, stay a while, browse the gallery of local arts & crafts including hand-made gemstone jewelery, enjoy a hearty meal (best to book !). Free wi-fi is available, and if it's chilly - a log fire. There's a cosy residents lounge to enjoy a book, music or the sea view. Large selection of malt whiskeys always available. Our dining room (seats 16) is available for special occasions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Garden Arms Hotel Gardenstown, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing