We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best steak in Aberdeenshire” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harbour Restaurant

The Harbour Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: This restaurant is in Banffshire, Scotland
Banffshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best steak in Aberdeenshire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Jane W's comment was very unfair. I too have a child and I accept they cannot eat at the restaurant, it is about insurance and health and safety why a child cannot eat there. The food is fresh, cooked perfectly and service is excellent. I recommend this restaurant to all, booking by phone is necessary as it is a small establishment.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    9
    1
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsoy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just been taken to this little gem of a restaurant - what a find. Warm and inviting as soon as we stepped through the door. The owners made us feel right at home and the food - OMG!!! Spicy prawns - excellent as was the Prawn Cocktail and the Salmon (I was told!) Fish and vegetables wonderful - and served on hot plates which can be a bit of a rarity nowadays ! I've never seen steaks so big (will be trying them next time) and the home-made chips were the best I have ever tasted. Sticky toffee pudding and lemon cheesecake for puds - again absolutely delish. Tea and coffee to round off a beautiful evening of good food, good surroundings and good company - what more could you want? The bill? Incredible to believe that all this came in at under £85 - for four! Taking your own wine keeps the price down, but I don't even think if they had a licence you would be ripped off. No fee for corkage either. Already looking at going back in the New Year - just wish we could get back sooner but booked weeks in advance - so just goes to show how popular it is. If you want more than either fish, beef or chicken, don't bother going - although for the life of me I can't think why anyone would want to go anywhere else!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best steak you will ever have - this place is a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We went with family who live in the area. This place is off the beaten track and takes some getting to and is only open 3 evenings a week and only takes reservations over the phone....but don't let any of that put you off. This place is a find! First of all...it is the best steak you will ever have ..unless you want to pay £50-£70! The steak is all they do unless you want fish...but they do both oh so well. There are no kids running about and it feels like you are a guest at a dinner party. It's great for adult time and all round feel good hosting. The owners are lovely and friendly and the desserts are all home made and to die for!! This place is must and should be experienced. The price is great for a good all round 3 course dinner and includes coffee!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Razzaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The 'Steak you can cut with a butterknife' review is no exageration!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Excellent restaurant that we were taken to by local family members. The restaurant is run by a Husband and Wife team who used to farm their own cattle, but now get their fillet beef from good friends at a local farm, they know the breed of cattle (Norwegian Blue), the land the cattle graze on, the butcher etc etc. They instruct their butcher to wet hang the fillet for 8 weeks before it is served to you. The steak was at least 2 inches thick and cooked to perfection, the normal cutlery knife glided through the steaks, theres not one steak knife in the entire establishment because they dont need one! The restaurant are a steak house really with very little else on the menu, but they did serve me a piece of fresh fish bought (from the harbour that they over look) that very morning. If you dont want steak or fresh fish please dont go, but if you want the best steak you've ever had in your life, then you must put this restaurant on your bucket list! Sticky toffee pudding was also to die for! The restaurant don't allow children in... which was a bonus! ;o) There was a set price for the four courses which was next to nothing, very very good value (any where else the steak would cost at least £30+ but the whole 4 courses didnt even come to this much), they dont have an alcohol licience so its a take your own bottle situation which again keeps the cost down.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CheshireBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic, first class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Myself and my husband managed to book a table at The Harbour Restaurant and visited twice in the week when we stayed at Crovie. The starters of the warm chilli prawns was wonderful, however the steak ..... wow !! The fillet steak was presented to us on the plate of the largest fillet steak I have ever had and it was absolutely mouth watering. The vegetables are so fresh. For the desert my husband had the cheesecake which he said was so light and really tasting and I had the raspberry meringue which I couldn't have had enough of, really nice. We took our own wine with us. The cost of the meal was unbelievable ... where else can you get a 3 course meal for £22.00 each and have the exceptional quality of food that you are presented with. You have absolutely everything you could wish for here a) a wonderful restaurant with the most wonderful hosts b) the restaurant is small and well laid out hence intimate c) you can overlook the harbour d) you look at the sea e) you have the most wonderful back drop of the hills. Jayne and her partner have this so right and clearly work very hard but will give you a fantastic evening. Thank you Jayne, look forward to seeing you again and will send our well wishes to the Dudley Arms :-)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Harbour Restaurant also viewed

Gardenstown, Aberdeenshire
 
Fraserburgh, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Harbour Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing