We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hols”
Review of Hotel Presidente

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Presidente
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have just come back from a weeks stay at the Presidente Hotel, Ibiza all inclusive and we had a great time. The food was nice but limited variety, there was no queuing for drinks or in the restaurant. The hotel and rooms were very clean but the rooms were basic and the shower was rubbish and needs updating. The rooms were cleaned every day and new towels. Every one was friendly and the club reps gave 100% every day. The entertainment/activities in the day and evening were good. To get a good sunbed we had to put our towels down around 7.30am which was ok. The only down side which is a big downside and out of anyone's control is we had 4 days of thick cloud and only 2 days of sun!!!!! it would have been nice to stay for a few more days. My girls loved it (age 12 and 7) and so did me and my husband. We would rate the overall holiday 4/5 but think the hotel would be a 3.5/5 rating. If you are thinking should you book this hotel I would say definitely yes xx

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikaela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

611 - 617 of 1,262 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our holiday at the presidente on an all inclusive basis was by far the best family holiday we have ever had. Our children (aged 6 and 8) absolutely loved it. They had the pool, the splash pool, kids club, drop in club, aqua fit and fun, Thomson the dog shows, team time to keep them more than occupied. Not to mention the chocolate party (8euro each) and the monday mayhem 3 hour party (10euro each) which they absolutely loved. The hotel is definitely a family orientated hotel so if you do not have kids I wouldnt recommend it as there are kids everywhere. We on the other hand barely saw ours as they were constantly occupied and could help themselves to icecreams and icelollies and also get drinks from the bar so never asked us for anything. The entertainment team work really hard to keep everybody entertained, children and adults alike. We especially enjoyed the afternoon quiz and evening entertainment. The buzz in quizzes are fab for getting everybody involved and getting your brains working! The selection of drinks is fab and although all local brands there is something for everybody. (We stayed at a 5 star resort in Turkey last year and there wasnt anywhere near half as much choice) People have complained that the cups are too small but they certainly don't skimp on the alcohol and also soft drinks are all genuine coca cola, fanta, etc.
The rooms are basic but very clean and well maintained, our bedding and towels were changed on a daily basis.
The resort of Portinatx is beautiful with clean relaxing beaches, beautiful waters and just enough shops to get everything you need. The small beach to the left of the hotel is better as there are no rocks in the water (The one on the right is very rocky and hard to walk in the water). Also the prices in the resort are great, We got the children a large inflatable each, set of snorkles each, football, bat and ball, 3 extra balls and set of sinkers which cost a total of E45.95 (approx £40) and kept them entertained all holiday.
Also at the hotel there is a swap shop which encourages people to leave behind anything they don't want to lug home so we got a bucket and spade each for the children, extra suncream, shampoo and conditioner, books and magazines and even tea and coffee. We left all our extras there too including inflatables. I think its a great idea and have never seen it before.
We hired a car from Europcar which cost E70 for the day so we visited Ibiza old town which is gorgeous (although very hilly), San Miguel beach and San Antonio for the beautiful sunset. I would highly recommend doing this as the excursions are expensive and you have to stick to their timescale which would be difficult as there is so much to see.
Also we hired a pedalo from the smaller beach which cost E15 for an hour which was lovely and the kids really enjoyed sliding into the beautiful crystal clear water with all the fish.
We would highly recommend going all inclusive as there is something there for everybody and the resort can be quite pricey to eat out in.
All in all we had a fabulous holiday and can't wait to return next year, fab hotel, fab staff, fab weather, fab resort. Absolutely loved it!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JennaMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

the hotel is nice and it is kept clean, if you do not like kids not not go here. the pool is too small there is not enough beds to sunbathe on around the pool unless you are sad and go down at 07.00am and put your towels on them.
the reps were good tried sorting all issues out, we did have one bad trip which cost a lot of money which was the catamaran trip the sea was a bit rough on the day and what they had told us we were going to do did not happen this trip was a rip off and we got nothing back from them and everyone on the boat complained.
take your own plastic pint cups because the cup they provide takes on sip and its gone but they will fill your cup up.
the entertainment is for kids but we found an English pub called Del boys were the entertainment was really good every night.
we went as a family me wife and 13 year son and we all stayed in one room which was not big enough the beds had been moved around and two of the beds the pillows were against the light switches so every time you moved during the night the lights would switch on ....not good took the light bulbs out to stop it

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We took our four young grandchildren and our daughter and our son to the Presidente. The hotel is fairly basic but very clean and well maintained. The public and room areas were very clean. The food was good with a wide choice to suit fussy kids (and adults), it can get a bit repetitive by week two however. We went half board so we could eat out of the complex for lunch either in Portinatx town, a short walk down the hill to the beach, a stroll across the beach and into the town. Or in one of the beach side bars which were OK, good in fact and very relaxed. Portinatx is a small town with some basic small town facilities and reasonable restaurants and shops. The beach and sea are great with a shallow slope to the water so its great for children. the sea was generally clear so the kids could practice snorkeling. The hotel was full to capacity on our visit and the sunbeds could be in short supply around the main pool, which is fairly small. Fortunately our kids loved the children's pool with its slides and fountains which always had plenty of room. The hotel staff were great and very friendly and helpful. The evening entertainment was of a typical holiday hotel standard for adults. The kids evening entertainment however was a riot of noise, kids dancing and singing and having a wonderful time, with face painting on some occasions, waving colored led wands around and so on. We had a wonderful children centered holiday at the Presidente!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel away from the main pool are quieter when the evening entertainmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

As already said, previous reviews are a fair reflection on this hotel. It has good and bad points and it will depend on your needs and priorities for a holiday.

I travelled with my teenage daughter on a last minute deal so wanted a safe and quiet location where we could chill out for a week with guaranteed sun. On that basis, we were not disappointed. We have travelled with Thomson/First Choice before so have come to expect that they will tend to inflate the star rating and so expected this to be 3 stars. If you expect a UK 4 star rating you will be disappointed. This is definitely a hotel aimed at families with younger children but this is clearly advertised so have no grumbles on this point.

Good points:
-Very family orientated
-Great location for a quiet week away in the sun- however, we would have struggled to spend a fortnight here without hiring a car
-Local drinks menu is fine and you can upgrade at a reasonable price for branded drinks
-4th floor with sea view worth paying for (lower floors might have a view obstructed by the kitchen ventilation towers/roof)
- The hotel and resort is ok for younger teenagers
-Gym is free (but basic)
- All inclusive (on balance) seems to be reasonable value as the resort seems a bit pricey for eating and drinking out
-Overall, hotel staff friendly and helpful
- Pool towels are free and can be changed every day (just need a 10 euro deposit for the duration of your stay)
- A hotel room is available for a limited time to get showered/changed if you have a late flight so we didn't feel the need to pay for a late check out
-The Thomson team work very hard and are clearly loved by the younger children.

Not so good points:
- Transfer time of 1 1/2 hours from the airport due to several stops en route to the hotel (we were the second to last drop off)
- Rooms very basic and dated- space was ok for 2 people but would be a squeeze if there had been an extra bed/cot in the room
- Bathrooms are in a need for update- public washrooms often had no soap or the drier not working
- You have to pay to use the fridge (approx. 3 euros/day)- not an issue for us but would guess frustrating if you have to keep baby milk etc.
- The pool area is very crowded and basic - the whole hotel but particularly the outside space feels that it a general refurbishment is needed.
- sunbeds are crammed together due to lack of space given the number of guests and you do need to put towels down early to get a space
- Lots of cases of ear infections during our stay. Pool closed on two occasions for several hours for cleaning
- The restaurant is very busy and noisy and evening buffet closes at 8.30pm
- Food ok but limited choice. Menu repetitive for a week's stay
-Evening entertainment not our cup of tea and some of the acts were so bad they were funny

Overall, we had a nice relaxing holiday - we were expecting a 3 star hotel and this is what we got. We would return to Ibiza but probably not to the Presidente.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ddew39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

All the reviews sum up this hotel perfectly.
Spent 1 week with 3 friends and kids aged 10, 16 and 17; we got home yesterday.
POOL- too small. Packed out with sunbeds that have to be reserved with a towel or you'll find yourself sitting on a white plastic chair.
There was an outbreak of ear infections during our stay, this was the possible reason for the pool closure one afternoon. Chinese whispers told us that the pool was getting a special treatment.
ROOMS - basic, beds hard, a/c shafts and toilet system noisy.
There are 70 stairs to the 4th floor but using them always beat the lifts.
FOOD - the restaurant is a canteen. It gets so noisy that I couldn't hear my companions speaking at the dinner table. I have never gone all inclusive before and I never will again. If you enjoy hoovering up any old grub then you won't be disappointed. It was mostly edible; thankfully, there was fresh fruit, salad and veg every day, the pasta pleased my 16 yo. You do spend a lot of time wandering up and down finding butter(not next to the bread), refilling drinks etc. They did make us a tasty birthday cake for free and decorated the table with flowers.
Drinks - all national brands, if you want to upgrade it costs 1.05 euro.
STAFF- very friendly, very helpful, very hard-working.
LOCATION- stunning views, wonderful adult only chill-out area. Nothing for our 17 yo in Portinatx but we knew this beforehand. It's a hilly, steep area that was a bit tough for a couple in our group. Beach is great - soft sand leading into the sea, which is incredibly clear so you can easily spot fish and jellyfish!
We got great tans, had a laugh, didn't go hungry, the younger kids loved it.
Thanks Portinatx, it's been emotional!

Room Tip: Get a sea view, it's worth the little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The holiday was fantastic! I did not find it too crowded, it is a kids hotel after all, you must expect kids running around etc. We went All Inclusive and I now would never go without All inclusive, it is very well worth it! there are nice restaurants around but a bit pricey it would of cost more catering for own teas and lunch, although it is nice to eat out and sit by the sea occasionally.

From start to finish we were guided from the airport to the hotel and back by Louise (Little Lou) who was friendly and very helpful, and also who played a part in the hotels entertainment on some nights. The Entertainment team are the best team of entertainers I have ever came across on holiday. Fab Faye, Koo Koo Kirsty, Cheeky Chelsea, Zack Attack, Disco Dave, Silly Sammy, Ice Gem, Dotty Lotty, Holly Pop, Thomson The Dog and the rest of the Thomson Team were absolutely brilliant and If I were to continue a successful entertainment team in the future I would not split those guys up. Considering the resources that was available to that team, they did outstandingly well to involve EVERYONE! not just kids, within the daily activities. If Fab Faye and the crew were to be here next year I would be first to book.

The hotel was very clean, and was cleaned every day all day throughout. Food was fantastic! breakfasts got a bit boring after a few days especially when your staying for 14! but I could not fault the lunch they provided! The pool side snacks could be improved as you only have the choice of a cold ham and cheese sandwich or a cold ham and cheese sandwich.

Drinks at the pool were fantastic although I usually stuck to the same drink of Malibu (Balu) and Coke or a sangria. They served San Migel in a very small plastic cup and to me was disappointing, so a quick tip to the hotel is to get some plastic pint cups.

The adults only area on the level below the pool was great! the view was fantastic, although the bar down there was not inclusive they were half price and if you want a cocktail they were definitely worth the price as they were amazing and of a larger size. It was surprisingly quiet down there considering what was happening above, at one time in the afternoon I even fell asleep!

The deck chairs could of done with being upgraded as a lot of them were broken, If you wanted decent deck chairs you would have to be up very early sometimes at 6:30am to be by the pool side; this was disappointing as the hotels policy was that they could not be reserved before 8:30, this was never put into force.

There are a few "hotel rules" that seemed to have been broken on a regular basis. Under 16's were in the adults only Jacuzzi, sometimes in the gym, and often in the adults only area down below. Although there were signs clearly displaying this there was never a member of hotel staff on site to in force anything.

Another issue which only lasted half an hour or so was the noise levels between 23:00-23:45 where you would often be disturbed by children stamping and running down corridors, as well as the odd adult shouting. this is not the hotels fault but clear disrespect towards other residents. This could of been resolved by a member of the staff just patrolling these areas within this time. The hotel should maybe consider fitting doors which don't have to be slammed to close and fit a handle to them to enable silent opening and closing of doors.

Apart from the issues above which can easily be resolved, the Thomson team were fantastically brilliant, the hotel staff were friendly, Emilio always showed us to a seat and welcomed us into his restaurant, the bar staff, Enrique, Mohammed and Elliott were great guys and managed their bar efficiently.

Portinatx as a whole made it a great holiday, great beaches, clear waters, great bars, restaurants and it was quiet so if you want to go clubbing it's not the best location. There were Jelly fish within shallow waters of the sea on some days, which the hotel obviously cannot do much about; so it does not affect my review, but they did upset many kids and people in the sea.

Overall Fantastic holiday, Great hotel and a brilliant entertainment team!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a sea view room, preferably on the top floor!! You will not regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Joan de Labritja
0.1 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Apartments Del Rey
Apartments Del Rey
#7 of 9 in Portinatx
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
AluaSoul Ibiza
AluaSoul Ibiza
#25 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,896 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Anfora
Hotel Anfora
#1 of 13 in Es Canar
660 reviews
5.8 mi away
Invisa Hotel Club Cala Verde
Invisa Hotel Club Cala Verde
#9 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente

Address: Cala de Portinatx, s/n, 07810, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Joan de Labritja
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Sant Joan de Labritja
Price Range: $104 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Presidente 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Presidente Ibiza/Sant Joan De Labritja
Presidente Hotel Ibiza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing