We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel and Spa maybe in the world!”
Review of The Giri Residence

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sant Joan de Labritja
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Giri Residence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Wow is all I can say, what a perfect day we had in the Giri Spa/Cafe. Every second of our experience was pleasurable and not one element let it down, everything completely surpassed my expectations. It was lovely that we had the spa to ourselves this really made it special. The design and the tranquility of the hotel completes the experience as you can just relax outside in a pagoda and listen to the sounds of nature. You feel like you have escaped to paradise but you are only 20 minutes drive from Ibiza town. The massage was the best my husband and I have ever experienced and my husband has had many of them in the past as he is an avid traveller. The duo bath experience we had at the end was how time in a bath should always be, side by side, with a glass of champagne and chocolate dipped strawberry's, rose petals and essential oils.
We followed our spa experience with a meal in the restaurant, and their motto is Echo Con Amor (Made With Love), and it certainly was. The food was amazing, Michelin star standard, and to top it all off they grow their own vegetables in the back of the restaurant in a garden which you can see and everything is from local farmers and traders - very eco friendly. The staff were very friendly and as it was my husbands birthday they gave us a complementary glass of champagne and a birthday cake complete with candle. The chef also made an appearance at our table and offered another delightful dessert on the house - you can see the passion for food everywhere, the staff believe in it and you can taste it in every mouthful. The price tag is very reasonable for this top class experience.
We left having the most perfect day and I want to do it all again, we will be back!
Thank you to all the staff that made this day so special.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaniLIbiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 81 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed one week at the giri in the Oleander suite and loved our stay fro the first moment.
We especially liked the hotel concept. It felt more like staying at a private villa than in a hotel. You are not fixed to eating times and places. Just go to the kitchen and ask for your favourite dish and choose your favourite dining spot, no matter what time it is.
Most of the time, we had the pool area for ourselves, relaxing in the sala, having a delicious lunch or dinner around the pool. The food is to die for. Everything is freshly cooked and tastes great.
One evening, we had dinner at the giri cafe which is just round the corner from the hotel. The drinks were great, the food also very nicely presented. Worth to try it!
Our room faced the pool side. Looking from the pool to the house, the Oleander suite is located an the left side behind the loungers with two smaller windows. The suite was well designed, not very huge but unique in style. We had the chance to see the olivo suite (faces the inner patio) which has in my opinion the nicer interior and layout but I prefered the view from the oleander suite.
This is a unique luxurious place, for couples who like to relax and slow down. This is NOT a place for families with children. Couples come here to relax and enjoy the calm of this place.
Special thanks also to the staff! Everyone was so friendly und helpful.
We already booked for next year.

Room Tip: Facing the pool and landscape, choose Oleander, Almendra or Bourgainville suite, for patio view choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luxuryvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We recently stayed for 5 nights at the Giri Residence and we absolutely loved it.

The hotel has been furnished to a very high standard in very chic but unpretentious ibiza cool - with no expense spared. We stayed in the Jasmin room which is the entry level and it was far from 'entry level', with full wet room and free standing bath and big bed.

The area by the pool was very chilled with nice beds, a lovely pool and 4shaded chill out area with beds and tables to relax on, with lovely gardens and views of the hills.

The service is the best ive experienced. Vincent, Carlos, Nuno and the Girls were all very attentive but never instrusive, the food is to die for. The breakfast is amazing and they bake all their own bread and Croissants too - which are delicious. They also have a fresh vegetable plot so the ingredients they use are all as fresh and pure as can be. My wife and i had dinner around the pool one evening and Carlos asked us what kind of food we like and created 2 lovely menu's, I had rib of lamb which was stunning and my wife had a lovely spaghetti Vongole - and the wine list is ok too.

On the couple of nights we rolled back late there was always staff on hand to serve us nightcaps and the chef even cooked us some delicious pizzas late at night !!

The Spa is very good and the massages our crew had were obviously good as they came out looking very dazed and chilled !!!

The town of San Joan is bueatiful and the Giri Cafe also serves amazing food in a pretty cool restaurant with outside seating as well as a very pretty interior.

In summary, my wife and i have been fortunate enough to stay in some of the best hotels around the world over our years of travel, and this is dfefiantely in our top 3 and we cant wait to go back !!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This is only my second post on tripadvisor , as I think its only relevant when the property is either exceptionally good or bad ! The Giri is exceptionally good .
 
Its only a 5 bed boutique residence , and as such you would expect good service . But here the service is outstanding , and never intrusive . Vincent deserves special praise , always there when you want him , but never a pest !
 
The food is exceptional . Carlos runs the kitchen and although there is a daily menu , you only have to ask ! He makes his own breads , croissants and , for afternoon tea ,  bakes his own cakes . Much of their produce is grown in the gardens , and as such the salads are amazing . The Giri Café , which is located next door , has the same ethos .
 
The hotel and the rooms are very smartly kitted out . We stayed in the Oleander Suite , double showers , Ren products etc . We both used the spa , and all of out treatments stood up to the standard of the hotel .
 
The pool area is quite intimate , but is not usually crowded , as guests come and go . here wears , there are only 8 sun loungers between 5 rooms . Should all the guests want to sit around the pool , especially on changeover days , there could be a problem . However , there are 3 large shaded cabanas and a separate courtyard , so plenty of room .
 
Location : San Joan is 30 minutes from the glitz and glamour of Pacha and Blue Marlin etc . But the town itself is tiny and beautiful . The nearby beaches around Portinax and San Vicent are also worth a visit .
 
Finally , I read at least one review suggesting that it was expensive . Whilst its not cheap , if you were to compare the prices to the other top class hotels on the island , I think that it actually represents fantastic value .

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobboEpping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This hotel is truly stunning. Only 5 rooms so most of the time it's extremely quiet and you feel like you have the run of the place. Rooms are gorgeous, pool area is amazing, staff are just lovely and the food is delicious.
Most people seem to head out during the day; if you're hanging around the pool it really is quiet. So if it's a "scene" you're looking for, this is not the place to come to.
Situated in a gorgeous little village which is so far removed from the San Antonios of this world, you'd hardly know you were in Ibiza. Still got the old ladies of the village sitting on a bench watching the world go by.
Despite being in the north of the island, it is very easy to get to from the airport and close to plenty of good beaches (Benirras being one).
It's up there with the nicest hotels I've ever stayed at. I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellTravelled888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is truly magical! amazing venue, Staff all totally adorable, breakfast really relaxed and divine. Kids welcomed. Enjoy time lazing around and then head for local beaches. The restaurant is also fabulous. Honestly one of my favourite destinations in the world.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 128JenIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at the Giri Residence at the end of April. My only criticism was that it was just not long enough!!!!
Ana Maria was especially helpful but all staff made our stay so memorable. Nothing was too much trouble and to offer 24hour service in such a small establishment speaks volumes. From the moment we arrived, we felt that the whole experience was going to be something very special and it was! I can not recommend the Giri highly enough. The rooms are exquisite. We stayed in the Olivio suite and just loved it! We had lunch in the hotel by the pool and then dinner in the Giri Cafe. Again the food was outstanding! Yes this hotel comes at a price but we felt that the experience was well worth it. I certainly hope to return and would love to stay longer next time.

Room Tip: All rooms look superb but we choose the Olivio because of the stone bath tub. The suite is off the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGPMCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Joan de Labritja
3.9 mi away
Agroturismo Atzaro
Agroturismo Atzaro
#31 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
381 reviews
2.3 mi away
Apartments Del Rey
Apartments Del Rey
#7 of 9 in Portinatx
286 reviews
10.6 mi away
Agroturismo Ibiza Can Jaume
Agroturismo Ibiza Can Jaume
#2 of 2 in Puig d'en Valls
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Agroturismo Can Planells
Agroturismo Can Planells
#1 of 3 in Sant Miquel De Balansat
272 reviews
0.9 mi away
Agroturismo Ca Sa Vilda Marge
Agroturismo Ca Sa Vilda Marge
#3 of 10 in Sant Joan de Labritja
157 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Rural Es Trull de Can Palau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Giri Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Giri Residence

Address: Alcalde Jaume Mari Roig 3, 07810, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Joan de Labritja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sant Joan de Labritja
Price Range: $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition meets fashion at this intimate and hip home away from home. The Giri Residence is a small boutique hotel, located in the north of Ibiza, featuring five unique suites with a warm and inviting atmosphere to create an oasis of tranquility and comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Giri Residence Hotel Sant Joan De Labritja
The Giri Residence Ibiza/Sant Joan De Labritja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing