We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect spot for exploring 90 mile beach”
Review of GEMS Seaside Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ahipara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
GEMS Seaside Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The perfect spot for exploring 90 mile beach”
Reviewed March 26, 2010

I recently spent a week at this "bach" apartment in northern New Zealand. The location couldn't be better, right on the beach but in the case of "90 mile beach" that doesn't mean looking out at a forest of sun umberellas, in fact most times you'd have to look hard for anyone else enjoying "your" beach.
I had the studio which is one large room with plenty of room for 2, a king bed, well appointed kitchen, TV sitting area and large bathroom.
Paul and Jenny are attentive but not intrusive hosts with lots of local knowledge to share.
A great base for exploring the northland.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayanhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    12
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
50
95
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Ahipara has a couple of shops and cafes in the village, but the nearest main town is Kaitaia, about 10-15 mins drive away. The apartment was right on the beach at Ahipara, in a quiet & peaceful spot, with stunning views of Shipwreck Bay & 90-mile Beach. You can walk directly out of the property onto the beach.

The Beachfront property was recommended to us by relatives who had stayed there a couple of years ago, and who ran out of superlatives to describe it. They were right!

We had the Penthouse apartment - there is another apartment available in the same property. The apartment was spacious, comfortable and well equipped, incorporating two 'King' bedrooms with ensuite shower rooms, a lounge, dining area and small kitchen with microwave, cooker, fridge & dishwasher. All rooms were tastefully decorated and furnished. The lounge area had TV with several NZ and SKY channels, plus a DVD/VCR player. The apartment has a balcony overlooking the beach with outside furniture and its own barbecue. Paul & Jenny Steele, the owners, provide you with complimentary tea, coffee, sugar and milk, and there is both beer and local wine in the apartment which you can purchase. The owners are also happy to arrange various activities for guests, including boating, fishing, surfing and in-room meals.

We found Paul and Jenny extremely friendly and helpful hosts, who went out of their way to welcome us, to explain all the amenities and to help us with local bookings. One or other other of them is on-site most of the time to keep an eye on things.

Although more expensive for two guests than other places we stayed in NZ, the apartment has two bedrooms sleeping four people, which makes excellent value considering the quality of the accommodation and the fabulous beachfront location.

All in all, we were totally smitten by this beautiful property, and would wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone visiting the far north of NZ.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2009

Stay at least for 3 nights. There is plenty to discover. The hosts help with good information.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans-Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2009

Outstanding! We were only able to have 2 nights here this time but are planning on returning for a week. Top class everything from hosts to kitchen facilities( for 2 people who loved cooking the fresh seafood caught from the beach outside the front door).

  • Liked — Everything. Location, classy accommodation, fairly priced
  • Disliked — could've done with an iron - minor detail
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2008

We booked this Apartment because we wanted to be close to the start of 90 Mile Beach. We had been told that we were booking the "Penthouse" on the beach. We asked for the "Penthouse" as we wanted two bedrooms and a larger apartment.

When we arrived at the Apartment, the owner showed us to our Penthouse and advised us that we were not to use the second bedroom as we had only paid for one bedroom. She then proceeded to inform us about our relationship and what was expected of a couple. We were absolutely stunned.

The Penthouse is an over exaggeration. It is more like a two bedroom/two ensuite apartment which is on the top of someone's house. The "Penthouse" is furnished with outdoor furniture which was most uncomfortable. The only saving grace was the large king bed which was very comfortable. The ensuite was small but adequate. The kitchen was adequate.

We did have a fabulous view of the beach and could have walked to the beach had we not been busy doing other things.

I guess the experience we had here was an unwelcome one and we certainly would not and could not recommend this as a place to stay. Although in a beautiful part of the world, the owners of the property need some people skills and need to update the furniture to make it more comfortable.

  • Liked — The King Beds
  • Disliked — The owners and their attitude to their guests and furniture
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lez_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2008

My wife and I were only due to stay one night at the Beachfront, however, as soon as we were showed to the apartment and saw the views out over the beach we knew we had to stay for two.

We stayed in the two bed apartment which appears to be brand new, wine and beer in the fridge on arrival and ensuite facilities to both bedrooms. The room was faultless but what makes this place is the views, waking up in the morning or sitting on the balcony with a cool beer the views were one of the highlights of our 6 week stay in New Zealand.

A full day sand safari is a must (arranged by the host) to fully explore this corner of New Zealand which is often overlooked by visitors.

  • Liked — the views
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnyknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2008

Not as peaceful as hoped. House next door had loud young adults and the partying went on loudly until early the next morning (one day). Vehicles of all kinds on the beach audibly many times of day every day.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Traveller888031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahipara
0.5 mi away
Ahipara Holiday Park
Ahipara Holiday Park
#4 of 8 in Ahipara
131 reviews
7.3 mi away
Waters Edge Bed & Breakfast
24.7 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Foreshore Lodge
Foreshore Lodge
#6 of 8 in Ahipara
9 reviews
21.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
8.8 mi away
Ninety Mile Beach Holiday Park
Ninety Mile Beach Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Waipapakauri
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GEMS Seaside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GEMS Seaside Lodge

Property: GEMS Seaside Lodge
Address: 14 Kotare Street, Ahipara 0481, New Zealand (Formerly Ahipara Beachfront Accommodation)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Ahipara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Ahipara
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GEMS Seaside Lodge offers the discerning traveller exceptional lodgings in the jewel of Ahipara, at the base of the 90 Mile Beach. Begin your adventures to Cape Reinga, the Bay of Islands, the Hokianga, and other treasures of Northland, from here. However, there is actually a wealth of activity in Ahipara for you to enjoy. World class surfing at Shipwreck Bay, fabulous fishing (both chartered and surf casting), board paddling, horse-treking, 4 Wheel Driving and Sand Duning are just a few of the many activities available. For those who wish to enjoy a more leisurely experience, there is golf, beach walks, and visits to our very own award-winning vineyards. If you simply prefer rest and refreshment with book in hand, then absorb the beauty of this magnificent beach paradise, with crashing waves, beautiful birdlife, and stunning sunsets, from the comfort of your lodge, as part of your ‘seaside therapy’. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing