We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic! Ahipara Luxury Beachfront Apartments”
Review of GEMS Seaside Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ahipara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
GEMS Seaside Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2009

Outstanding! We were only able to have 2 nights here this time but are planning on returning for a week. Top class everything from hosts to kitchen facilities( for 2 people who loved cooking the fresh seafood caught from the beach outside the front door).

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for GEMS Seaside Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 196 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2008

We booked this Apartment because we wanted to be close to the start of 90 Mile Beach. We had been told that we were booking the "Penthouse" on the beach. We asked for the "Penthouse" as we wanted two bedrooms and a larger apartment.

When we arrived at the Apartment, the owner showed us to our Penthouse and advised us that we were not to use the second bedroom as we had only paid for one bedroom. She then proceeded to inform us about our relationship and what was expected of a couple. We were absolutely stunned.

The Penthouse is an over exaggeration. It is more like a two bedroom/two ensuite apartment which is on the top of someone's house. The "Penthouse" is furnished with outdoor furniture which was most uncomfortable. The only saving grace was the large king bed which was very comfortable. The ensuite was small but adequate. The kitchen was adequate.

We did have a fabulous view of the beach and could have walked to the beach had we not been busy doing other things.

I guess the experience we had here was an unwelcome one and we certainly would not and could not recommend this as a place to stay. Although in a beautiful part of the world, the owners of the property need some people skills and need to update the furniture to make it more comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lez_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2008

My wife and I were only due to stay one night at the Beachfront, however, as soon as we were showed to the apartment and saw the views out over the beach we knew we had to stay for two.

We stayed in the two bed apartment which appears to be brand new, wine and beer in the fridge on arrival and ensuite facilities to both bedrooms. The room was faultless but what makes this place is the views, waking up in the morning or sitting on the balcony with a cool beer the views were one of the highlights of our 6 week stay in New Zealand.

A full day sand safari is a must (arranged by the host) to fully explore this corner of New Zealand which is often overlooked by visitors.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnyknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2008

Not as peaceful as hoped. House next door had loud young adults and the partying went on loudly until early the next morning (one day). Vehicles of all kinds on the beach audibly many times of day every day.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Traveller888031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2007

We had 4 nights in Ahipara and stayed at Beachfront Apartments. Paul and Jenny are great hosts. They have a two bed apt ontop of their house and a studio apartment. The views from our 2 bed apt were straight out to sea as we were situated right on 90 mile beach. You could lie in bed and watch the waves. Each room had its own ensuite, kitchen had everything we needed, bbq on deck - We were very well looked after - Paul has a wealth of knowledge of the area. The bus tour to Cape Reinga is a must with a local tour place called Sand Safaris (Kaitaia) - our busdriver/tour guide John was fantastic. He had been living in the area all his life. We learned so much about the Maori histrory and legends. He loved singing and even gave us a rendition of the Haka. But watch out if you are an aussie - he will get you up to sing or tell a story!
This is a great place to stay if you want to relax, read, watch the waves but still plenty to see and do if so inclined

Stayed: January 2007
Thank wrenboldlygoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SimonRapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 163nature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahipara
0.5 mi away
Ahipara Holiday Park
Ahipara Holiday Park
#4 of 8 in Ahipara
131 reviews
1.5 mi away
Endless Summer Lodge
Endless Summer Lodge
#3 of 8 in Ahipara
100 reviews
21.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
7.3 mi away
Waters Edge Bed & Breakfast
7.1 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GEMS Seaside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GEMS Seaside Lodge

Address: 14 Kotare Street, Ahipara 0481, New Zealand (Formerly Ahipara Beachfront Accommodation)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Ahipara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Ahipara
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GEMS Seaside Lodge offers the discerning traveller exceptional lodgings in the jewel of Ahipara, at the base of the 90 Mile Beach. Begin your adventures to Cape Reinga, the Bay of Islands, the Hokianga, and other treasures of Northland, from here. However, there is actually a wealth of activity in Ahipara for you to enjoy. World class surfing at Shipwreck Bay, fabulous fishing (both chartered and surf casting), board paddling, horse-treking, 4 Wheel Driving and Sand Duning are just a few of the many activities available. For those who wish to enjoy a more leisurely experience, there is golf, beach walks, and visits to our very own award-winning vineyards. If you simply prefer rest and refreshment with book in hand, then absorb the beauty of this magnificent beach paradise, with crashing waves, beautiful birdlife, and stunning sunsets, from the comfort of your lodge, as part of your ‘seaside therapy’. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing