We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope to come back here and stay longer”
Review of GEMS Seaside Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ahipara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
GEMS Seaside Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2014

One's soul can breathe easily here - great, expansive beach and ocean, safe swimming and body surfing, virtually infinite walking/running potential along 90 Mile Beach, wonderful sunsets, fabulous view from the upstairs unit, no noise except for the surf, very friendly host - what more could one want? Only downside was having to wade about 10 metres across the not-quite-waist-deep stream to get on to the vast sandy beach (or go the long way around).

Room Tip: The view from upstairs is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 198 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

Great location, great view, fabulous service, and beautiful accommodations. Paul is a wonderful host, a fine cook , and lots of fun. Would highly recommend. Visit Gumdigger's too! Good food and service there as well.

Room Tip: The two bedroom suites are perfect for traveling couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Where on earth can you beat the West Coast sunsets, remote privacy and luxury accommodation? Beachfront has it all and such warm helpful hosts. We took their advice and had a wonderful tour and the meal at Gum diggers was fantastic. Thank you we will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We only stayed one night here as we were passing through. We thought it was in a lovely situation and we have rarely woken up to such a beautiful view. The upstairs rooms are very comfortable, spotless and well equipped (and probably have the best views of all). Host, Paul, was helpful and interesting and we would happily have stayed longer to enjoy the beach walking and swimming. The town is quiet and there is only one restaurant, the other eatery being a cafe which was closed. We would love to return to this B&B sometime and would plan to bring our own food.

Room Tip: Upstairs if possible: stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This was our fifth visit to this location and it still remains one of our favourite places in New Zealand, if not the world. The views are amazing, the accommodation standard is superb and the hosts are welcoming. Located at the foot of 90 mile beach it is a good place to explore both north and southwards. The sunsets are amazing and we unreservedly recommend this place.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed in both the studio and the two bedroom apartment at different times during our visit to New Zealand. They were beautiful, quiet, very clean, and the views of the endless beach and sunsets are amazing. Paul went out of his way to make sure that our stay was perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

If I knew how wonderful this accommodation was, I would have stayed at least 2 nights instead of just one. As we climb the stairs to the upper unit we didn't know what to expect, so as door opens, it was quite a shock to us, the world famous 90 miles beach was right in front of us! And it was only a short walk towards the beach itself after crossing a warm and gentle waist-deep stream. Definitely one of the best room I have ever stayed in! Unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahipara
0.5 mi away
Ahipara Holiday Park
Ahipara Holiday Park
#4 of 8 in Ahipara
133 reviews
1.5 mi away
Endless Summer Lodge
Endless Summer Lodge
#3 of 8 in Ahipara
100 reviews
7.3 mi away
Waters Edge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
43 reviews
21.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
24.7 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GEMS Seaside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GEMS Seaside Lodge

Address: 14 Kotare Street, Ahipara 0481, New Zealand (Formerly Ahipara Beachfront Accommodation)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Ahipara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Ahipara
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GEMS Seaside Lodge offers the discerning traveller exceptional lodgings in the jewel of Ahipara, at the base of the 90 Mile Beach. Begin your adventures to Cape Reinga, the Bay of Islands, the Hokianga, and other treasures of Northland, from here. However, there is actually a wealth of activity in Ahipara for you to enjoy. World class surfing at Shipwreck Bay, fabulous fishing (both chartered and surf casting), board paddling, horse-treking, 4 Wheel Driving and Sand Duning are just a few of the many activities available. For those who wish to enjoy a more leisurely experience, there is golf, beach walks, and visits to our very own award-winning vineyards. If you simply prefer rest and refreshment with book in hand, then absorb the beauty of this magnificent beach paradise, with crashing waves, beautiful birdlife, and stunning sunsets, from the comfort of your lodge, as part of your ‘seaside therapy’. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing