We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Awesome”
Review of GEMS Seaside Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ahipara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
GEMS Seaside Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I love staying here. Paul and Jenny are friendly and welcoming, and will treat you extra-nice if you're a return customer. Their apartments are wonderful, and you can't go past the magnificent beach view.

Room Tip: Pay more for the upstairs apartment if you prefer more spacious accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aroha7070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 198 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

The welcoming smiles of Paul and Jenny on arrival set the tone for our few days at the lovely Beachfront Motel.Superb accommodation, immaculately presented, true professionals in the game.
The West facing view of the beach and the sea from the motel had immediate impact, drawing us both to the deck outside, to absorb the pleasure of just being there and part of the so often written and talked about far north, with 90 mile beach disappearing in the distance, and it is all true.We loved it all.
Torpedo line fishing from the beach in front of the Motel is a passion of Paul's, a skilled operator who always catches fish. Well he did for us anyway.
A big tick from us for the Beachfront Accommodation.

Room Tip: All rooms have the magical outlook towards the beach and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Wish we would've stayed longer. Great little place close to northland sights. The hosts
Were very accommodating and the apartment was very clean and comfortable. Make use of the sand sleighs they provide and head straight to the sand dunes.. One of the most magical & memorable spots in NZ

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollydrapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

What an amazing apartment. Absolutely everything I could have needed. A truly wonderful location and then there is the view to die for. Photographs cannot do this beach justice. I really had to drag myself away from the beach view to move on.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn_Vicary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We arrived in Ahipara at 7.00 p.m. with no accommodation booked and were very lucky to find this wonderful apartment.

Paul and Jenny were very welcoming, friendly and helpful, and the recommended Gumdiggers Cafe certainly did not disappoint.

The apartment is beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean and has a very comfortable king sized bed.

The view is stunning across 90 mile beach to the blue sea and breaking waves.

Our only disappointment was that we were unable to stay longer as the apartment was already booked for the following day. Paul and Jenny's recommendations for our next stop were helpful and much appreciated. They are truly great hosts.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P59AL61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

PARADISE absolutely loved it here the views were amazing the hosts Paul and Jenny, wonderful, Paul very knowledgble on local and surrounding area's. We didn't want to leave, the unit was beautifully appointed and very comfortable, loved the finishing touches. Well done Paul and Jenny . We will definitely be back one day, and of course recommend you to anyone that asks.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PukekoNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

A truly wonderful place to chill out on my birthday even if it was raining & windy, our hosts Paul & Jenny were most welcoming, accommodating us in the larger apartment overlooking 90 mile beach with wonderful views every hour of the day. 5 star is what we both felt we had found via the internet, with the most reasonable rates for such luxury. The apartment was exceptional clean with a great touch of home with books,including the history of the area, games, fridge stocked with beer & wine if you had forgotten yours, even binoculars to view the bird life etc. Beds very comfortable and both rooms had their own deck & on suites, such a treat! We will return again in the summer for fishing and digging for shell fish.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahipara
0.5 mi away
Ahipara Holiday Park
Ahipara Holiday Park
#4 of 8 in Ahipara
133 reviews
1.5 mi away
Endless Summer Lodge
Endless Summer Lodge
#3 of 8 in Ahipara
100 reviews
7.3 mi away
Waters Edge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
43 reviews
21.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
24.7 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GEMS Seaside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GEMS Seaside Lodge

Address: 14 Kotare Street, Ahipara 0481, New Zealand (Formerly Ahipara Beachfront Accommodation)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Ahipara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Ahipara
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GEMS Seaside Lodge offers the discerning traveller exceptional lodgings in the jewel of Ahipara, at the base of the 90 Mile Beach. Begin your adventures to Cape Reinga, the Bay of Islands, the Hokianga, and other treasures of Northland, from here. However, there is actually a wealth of activity in Ahipara for you to enjoy. World class surfing at Shipwreck Bay, fabulous fishing (both chartered and surf casting), board paddling, horse-treking, 4 Wheel Driving and Sand Duning are just a few of the many activities available. For those who wish to enjoy a more leisurely experience, there is golf, beach walks, and visits to our very own award-winning vineyards. If you simply prefer rest and refreshment with book in hand, then absorb the beauty of this magnificent beach paradise, with crashing waves, beautiful birdlife, and stunning sunsets, from the comfort of your lodge, as part of your ‘seaside therapy’. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing