We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise at Ahipara”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ahipara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ahipara Beachfront Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Paradise at Ahipara”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We four friends stayed at Ahipara Beachfront Accommodation recently for two nights. The accommodation was excellent, lovely views and very comfortable. Our hosts were hospitable,charming and very helpful with advice on nearby attractions and further travel. I would recommend it 100%.

Marion Grant (Wellington)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    12
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
50
95
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kaitaia, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed in the separate unit and it was fantastic 5 star accommodation. The hosts were very welcoming and friendly. A relaxing and enjoyable night away for two frazzled parents! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Sadly we only had two nights at this delightful accommodation. It is right on the beach with stunning sunsets. Our lovely hosts arranged a day trip up the 90 Mile Beach to Cape Reinga and back which was terrific and great vale at only $55 including light lunch. Our apartment had a patio looking out to the beach and the facilities were excellent including a very comfortable bed and nice hot shower. Jenny and Paul hosted us for breakfast one morning and it was fresh and delicious. If you want to self cater pick supplies up in Kaitaia on your way through. We would definitely recommend Ahipara Beachfront to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this property in March this year. The location is fabulous right on 94 Mile beach. The owners are great people and made us so welcome we only stayed for two nights but will definitely go back and stay longer the view is to die for.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This place is well run with the best views of 90 Mile Beach. As for the comments about not having shops etc at you finger tips, this is the whole reason why you go to the far north to get away from it all.. Research is the key people!! :) ... The views from the top apartment are to die for!! We loved our weekend stay and will go back in a heart beat...

Room Tip: Go for the 2 bedroom apatrment views will amaze you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRIZNWILZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

A bit of a mixed review for this one. The Apartment itself was very nicely laid out, comfy bed and good views - I had a Studio Apartment. Not suitable for small children as the garden is not fenced in and there are steps to a river between the beach and apartments which is not ankle deep as described by the owner, more like 2ft deep. You can walk 5 mins up a path to where you can get on the beach without walking through the river, but beware of dog poo around the path and entrance to the beach.

There is a lack of a decent grocery shop nearby which is not mentioned in the description so without a car, self catering would be difficult. Even with a car, Kataia is not that close, about 14 km. Within walking distance, there is a small cafe, where the coffee machine was not working during my week, and a small takeaway which did not appeal.

The owner booked a trip for me up to Cape Reinga on a coach which was fab, picked up from doorstep and only $55. I did ask about boating/fishing but he advised it was expensive and no alternative such as beach fishing offered. The 4x4 trip was also a no-no as the company charge around $700 and do not take mixed parties so if there is only 1 or 2 of you, far too expensive.

I needed to get to a pharmacy and asked for a taxi number, there is only one taxi company and they did not answer the phone over a period of 4 hours calling. Take mosquito repellant and bite med with you!

Did not meet Pauls wife Jenny as she was away so maybe why I did not feel the overly warm welcome most of the other feedback mentions and why no offer of breakfast or evening meal and not a bbq in sight.

I went for a walk and swim leaving the patio door unlocked so I could get back in, to find on return the owner had been in and locked it which was then denied although the room had been cleaned.

All in all, Ahipara has a lovely beach..... maybe better for a 1/2 night stay and not the 4 I was there for.

Opportunities for improvements:

Additional condiments in the apartment such as oil, vinegar, sauces.
Fan in the absence of aircon
Mosquito coils/deterrents (although the owner says they don't have them)
wooden planking across the river
less dog poo
BBQ on patio
Description to include local amenities or lack of
Cleaner toilet in the apartment

Room Tip: all have views of beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollieworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulandJenny, Owner at Ahipara Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry you feel this way. We try very hard to meet our guests expectations. Paul and Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were two couples, a party of four. The bedrooms and ensuite bathrooms gave us all the privacy and comfort we required, while the open plan living, well equipped kitchen and marvellous view enabled us to thoroughly enjoy time together and a couple of lovely "home" cooked meals. Then there was the beach, the birds, the sea and the hospitality of Paul and Jenny. Truly excellent! Thank You.

  • Liked — The gorgeous location
  • Disliked — We disliked nothing.
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adelux_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahipara
0.5 mi away
Ahipara Holiday Park
Ahipara Holiday Park
#4 of 8 in Ahipara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Endless Summer Lodge
Endless Summer Lodge
#3 of 8 in Ahipara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.6 mi away
Foreshore Lodge
Foreshore Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ahipara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
21.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
7.1 mi away
Loredo Motel
Loredo Motel
#1 of 3 in Kaitaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahipara Beachfront Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahipara Beachfront Accommodation

Property: Ahipara Beachfront Accommodation
Address: 14 Kotare Street, Ahipara 0449, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Ahipara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Ahipara
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two apartments on the water's edge both fully self contained with complete kitchens. Serviced daily. Quality super king beds with surf views from every pillow. Webber gas BBQs - separate entrances and privacy assured -The Lookout apartment is a full two bedroom apartment with balconies and a large separate lounge kitchen area. The studio apartment has an adjoining 2nd bedroom plus a covered patio area. Both apartments enjoy stunning sea views - the Lookouts view has the wow factor. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing