We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't want to leave”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ahipara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ahipara Beachfront Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights in this heavenly spot and didn't want to leave. Apart from the amazing situation, views and sounds, this apartment had a big and comfy bed with bedlights and side tables both sides(most important for us seasoned travellers) and the apartment was very well equiped, and great value for money. Excellent non intrusive hosts. If you are in this region of NZ this is THE place to stay, we will be back!

Room Tip: Both apartments are excellent, depends on the size of your party
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wenfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    12
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
50
95
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
242 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I am reluctant to publish this review because I want to keep this 'Jewel in the Crown' a secret, but that seems too selfish so here goes. We have visited this place on four occasions over a period of time and it still makes your toes tingle when you survey the view. It has direct access to the beach and you can lie in bed and watch the waves crashing and birds calling. Paul and Jenny are superb hosts and they provide everything you need and are welcoming. The apartment is well maintained and comfortable with high quality fittings.

Room Tip: The lookout or penthouse affords the best views and although being a little more expensive than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have stayed in many places and this was the absolute best. In my opinion the photos do not do it justice which is unusual in my experience. The hosts Jenny & Paul are friendly, helpful and unobtrusive. Right on the beach, sliding doors leading to the patio off the bedroom and lounge room. Fabulous outdoor setting and a view to die for. They have everything one could possibly want including real coffee, tea (even tea leaves and a tea pot) and none of those tasteless sachets. Superb decor, I could quite happily live here for the rest of my days. I stayed in the studio which has a separate large bedroom with an ensuite. I can not recommend this place highly enough.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debstar55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had been meaning to take our family to 90 Mile Beach and Cape Reinga and finally made the journey to the Far North in January. The beachfront accommodation was simply stunning. Jenny & Paul created a slice of heaven in this remote but stunning part of New Zealand. The views were to die for and the amenities were superb. We enjoyed the library of local books and guides and were very grateful for the advice to take a bus trip on the beach and to the Cape. We initially intended to take our own car but the local guide who collected us in the morning and dropped us back off at the lodge late afternoon, was superb. His local knowledge of the area was outstanding and the experience would simply not have been the same without his colorful anecdotes. On our return we got treated to home made Tuatua fritters by Jenny which were delicious. We highly recommend a visit to the Far North and stay at this beachfront retreat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laetitia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We chose to complete our 3 week visit to NZ by spending two nights at Ahipara Beachfront Condo. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer! The setting is spectacular and the landscaping is beautiful & lush. The condo was very comfortable & included every ammenity you could want. On our last evening we grilled fish and accompanied it with lemons picked from the tree in their garden. Paul & Jenny were very gracious hosts. We left with recipes and recommendations for scenic stops on our trip back to Auckland.
As another reviewer said "Don't hesitate, just book it" and try to stay a few extra days. It truly is a little slice of paradise!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2013

best beachfront location and accomodation that i have found in 40years of travelling. the view from all the rooms was stunning.the furnishings were very well thought ot.the owners could not have been more helpful.we felt that a week was far too short a stay.

Room Tip: choose the apartment onthe top floor for the best of views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertheathcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

A truely fantastic spot to stay - a totally unique environment! Very hospitable hosts, extremely clean and tidy, and really comfortable beds. Right on the beachfront with stunning views. A very special spot in NZ. Would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JABHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahipara
0.5 mi away
Ahipara Holiday Park
Ahipara Holiday Park
#4 of 8 in Ahipara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Endless Summer Lodge
Endless Summer Lodge
#3 of 8 in Ahipara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.6 mi away
Foreshore Lodge
Foreshore Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ahipara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
21.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
7.1 mi away
Loredo Motel
Loredo Motel
#1 of 3 in Kaitaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahipara Beachfront Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahipara Beachfront Accommodation

Property: Ahipara Beachfront Accommodation
Address: 14 Kotare Street, Ahipara 0449, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Ahipara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Ahipara
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two apartments on the water's edge both fully self contained with complete kitchens. Serviced daily. Quality super king beds with surf views from every pillow. Webber gas BBQs - separate entrances and privacy assured -The Lookout apartment is a full two bedroom apartment with balconies and a large separate lounge kitchen area. The studio apartment has an adjoining 2nd bedroom plus a covered patio area. Both apartments enjoy stunning sea views - the Lookouts view has the wow factor. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing