We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dorset”
Review of GEMS Seaside Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ahipara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
GEMS Seaside Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dorset”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

best beachfront location and accomodation that i have found in 40years of travelling. the view from all the rooms was stunning.the furnishings were very well thought ot.the owners could not have been more helpful.we felt that a week was far too short a stay.

Room Tip: choose the apartment onthe top floor for the best of views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertheathcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    12
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
50
95
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

A truely fantastic spot to stay - a totally unique environment! Very hospitable hosts, extremely clean and tidy, and really comfortable beds. Right on the beachfront with stunning views. A very special spot in NZ. Would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JABHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2013

One of the best places I've ever stayed- absolutely gorgeous location. Accomodation is right on the beach, very clean and spacious. Excellent service and great breakfast. Paul and Jenny were very helpful and welcoming. Room was very comfortable and safe. Even though I was there for work I felt very relaxed and it felt like I was on holiday. Room has everything you need in it and would love to go back! Highly recommend a stay at Ahipara Beachfront.

Room Tip: The rooms are all stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelC210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saigon
2 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2012

- absolutely beachfront
- great surf right infront of you
- a real holiday location
- very nice hosts, very service oriented, very friendly, very helpful, Jenny and Paul give you a homely feel, people that you just like without really knowing them
- a wonderfulf place for some relaxed days
- could have easily stayed for another 6 nights or more
- kids can play forever while you sit on the terrace and watch them
- would definately come again if New Zealand wasnt so far away from Germany...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saigonaese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Paul & Jenny

We enjoyed our stay very much and wish we had booked more time. It was a perfect sun-shiny day and we got a lot of great photos of shore birds on the beach, directly in front of our apartment. I say apartment because everything inside was spacious and perfect. The furnishings and decor are done with the same thoroughness and detail I would surmise you use for your own living quarters. The sea-facing garden especially, is outstanding.

We moved to New Zealand to get out of the commercial rat-race. What most tourists see when they go to the northern part of the North Island however, is an extension of that. By comparison, your place feels like home; very comfortable. Everything is well thought-out and nicely appointed. We also like your location because it is off the beaten track just far enough away from all the tourists milling around to be quiet and private; a whole different world away, yet still centrally located for all the outdoor things we like to do. For the setting and location, your place is easily the best place we have stayed regardless of higher prices at other locations. The next time we come north, we are planning to use your beachfront apartment as home base.

RL & Sands

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We toured the North Island for three weeks, staying at a different place most nights. Without doubt this apartment stood out from the rest. Perfect in every detail, and most importantly, super comfortable beds for a great sleep. The setting is second to none, right on the water, and the views are to die for. Perfect hosts,Paul & Jenny, made us feel very welcome but did not invade our privacy. Cannot recommend highly enough. You will not be disappointed if you choose to stay here.
Steve & Joan Branton

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2012

An incredible location for a beach holiday.

The Steele's place is perfectly situated to make the most out of ninety mile beach.

Paul & Jeeny are lovely people with a hospitable nature who made our stay even more enjoyable.

Excellent facilities, internet access, local area knowledge, and a nice homely feel to top it all off.

The rooms were comfortable, clean, well furnished.

Paul & Jenny took the time assist us with our plans and even continued to contact local activity providers to make plans for us even when we had given up.

the area has plenty to offer. quadbike riding on the beach, surfing equipment rentals if needed, horse riding, driving a 4WD along the beach, kayaking (Paul was happy to offer his for us to use), an amazing dawn run along the beach interrupted only by a beautiful sunrise, or simply sitting in the nice backyard with an amazing view and enjoying a beer and a bbq.

The accommodayion wasn't cheap, but was definitely worth spending that little bit extra to make the most of the great location by having the most comfy temporary home one can ask for.

Next time we're in the area... we know exactly where to stay.

Thanks Paul and Jenny.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxFreemynd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahipara
24.7 mi away
Peppers Carrington Resort
24.5 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ahipara Holiday Park
Ahipara Holiday Park
#3 of 8 in Ahipara
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Waters Edge Bed & Breakfast
24.7 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
7.1 mi away
Loredo Motel
Loredo Motel
#1 of 3 in Kaitaia
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GEMS Seaside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GEMS Seaside Lodge

Property: GEMS Seaside Lodge
Address: 14 Kotare Street, Ahipara 0481, New Zealand (Formerly Ahipara Beachfront Accommodation)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Ahipara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Ahipara
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GEMS Seaside Lodge offers the discerning traveller exceptional lodgings in the jewel of Ahipara, at the base of the 90 Mile Beach. Begin your adventures to Cape Reinga, the Bay of Islands, the Hokianga, and other treasures of Northland, from here. However, there is actually a wealth of activity in Ahipara for you to enjoy. World class surfing at Shipwreck Bay, fabulous fishing (both chartered and surf casting), board paddling, horse-treking, 4 Wheel Driving and Sand Duning are just a few of the many activities available. For those who wish to enjoy a more leisurely experience, there is golf, beach walks, and visits to our very own award-winning vineyards. If you simply prefer rest and refreshment with book in hand, then absorb the beauty of this magnificent beach paradise, with crashing waves, beautiful birdlife, and stunning sunsets, from the comfort of your lodge, as part of your ‘seaside therapy’. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing