We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding accommodation - MUST STAY !”
Review of GEMS Seaside Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ahipara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
GEMS Seaside Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013

A truely fantastic spot to stay - a totally unique environment! Very hospitable hosts, extremely clean and tidy, and really comfortable beds. Right on the beachfront with stunning views. A very special spot in NZ. Would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JABHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 198 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

One of the best places I've ever stayed- absolutely gorgeous location. Accomodation is right on the beach, very clean and spacious. Excellent service and great breakfast. Paul and Jenny were very helpful and welcoming. Room was very comfortable and safe. Even though I was there for work I felt very relaxed and it felt like I was on holiday. Room has everything you need in it and would love to go back! Highly recommend a stay at Ahipara Beachfront.

Room Tip: The rooms are all stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelC210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

- absolutely beachfront
- great surf right infront of you
- a real holiday location
- very nice hosts, very service oriented, very friendly, very helpful, Jenny and Paul give you a homely feel, people that you just like without really knowing them
- a wonderfulf place for some relaxed days
- could have easily stayed for another 6 nights or more
- kids can play forever while you sit on the terrace and watch them
- would definately come again if New Zealand wasnt so far away from Germany...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saigonaese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Paul & Jenny

We enjoyed our stay very much and wish we had booked more time. It was a perfect sun-shiny day and we got a lot of great photos of shore birds on the beach, directly in front of our apartment. I say apartment because everything inside was spacious and perfect. The furnishings and decor are done with the same thoroughness and detail I would surmise you use for your own living quarters. The sea-facing garden especially, is outstanding.

We moved to New Zealand to get out of the commercial rat-race. What most tourists see when they go to the northern part of the North Island however, is an extension of that. By comparison, your place feels like home; very comfortable. Everything is well thought-out and nicely appointed. We also like your location because it is off the beaten track just far enough away from all the tourists milling around to be quiet and private; a whole different world away, yet still centrally located for all the outdoor things we like to do. For the setting and location, your place is easily the best place we have stayed regardless of higher prices at other locations. The next time we come north, we are planning to use your beachfront apartment as home base.

RL & Sands

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We toured the North Island for three weeks, staying at a different place most nights. Without doubt this apartment stood out from the rest. Perfect in every detail, and most importantly, super comfortable beds for a great sleep. The setting is second to none, right on the water, and the views are to die for. Perfect hosts,Paul & Jenny, made us feel very welcome but did not invade our privacy. Cannot recommend highly enough. You will not be disappointed if you choose to stay here.
Steve & Joan Branton

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

An incredible location for a beach holiday.

The Steele's place is perfectly situated to make the most out of ninety mile beach.

Paul & Jeeny are lovely people with a hospitable nature who made our stay even more enjoyable.

Excellent facilities, internet access, local area knowledge, and a nice homely feel to top it all off.

The rooms were comfortable, clean, well furnished.

Paul & Jenny took the time assist us with our plans and even continued to contact local activity providers to make plans for us even when we had given up.

the area has plenty to offer. quadbike riding on the beach, surfing equipment rentals if needed, horse riding, driving a 4WD along the beach, kayaking (Paul was happy to offer his for us to use), an amazing dawn run along the beach interrupted only by a beautiful sunrise, or simply sitting in the nice backyard with an amazing view and enjoying a beer and a bbq.

The accommodayion wasn't cheap, but was definitely worth spending that little bit extra to make the most of the great location by having the most comfy temporary home one can ask for.

Next time we're in the area... we know exactly where to stay.

Thanks Paul and Jenny.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxFreemynd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and i have traveled the world and rarely (other than the very best hotels) have we found accommodation that offers this experience.

It is the little details that the very best accommodation providers take into account and in this case we were pleasantly surprised..

From the moment we set foot on the property, we were made to feel relaxed. The scenery from our room was stunning. The welcome, advice and assistance from Paul and Jenny was beyond expectation.

This is a place to stay in NZ even if you go out of your way. Get in quick, because the secret will not last - particularly not at these prices. Fantastic value for money, wonderful experience, great memories. Thanks Paul And Jenny.

Wayne and Sharyn

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHARWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahipara
1.5 mi away
Endless Summer Lodge
Endless Summer Lodge
#4 of 8 in Ahipara
100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ahipara Holiday Park
Ahipara Holiday Park
#3 of 8 in Ahipara
136 reviews
7.1 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#3 of 3 in Kaitaia
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
1.6 mi away
Foreshore Lodge
Foreshore Lodge
#6 of 8 in Ahipara
9 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bellovista
Bellovista
#7 of 8 in Ahipara
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GEMS Seaside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GEMS Seaside Lodge

Address: 14 Kotare Street, Ahipara 0481, New Zealand (Formerly Ahipara Beachfront Accommodation)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Ahipara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Ahipara
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GEMS Seaside Lodge offers the discerning traveller exceptional lodgings in the jewel of Ahipara, at the base of the 90 Mile Beach. Begin your adventures to Cape Reinga, the Bay of Islands, the Hokianga, and other treasures of Northland, from here. However, there is actually a wealth of activity in Ahipara for you to enjoy. World class surfing at Shipwreck Bay, fabulous fishing (both chartered and surf casting), board paddling, horse-treking, 4 Wheel Driving and Sand Duning are just a few of the many activities available. For those who wish to enjoy a more leisurely experience, there is golf, beach walks, and visits to our very own award-winning vineyards. If you simply prefer rest and refreshment with book in hand, then absorb the beauty of this magnificent beach paradise, with crashing waves, beautiful birdlife, and stunning sunsets, from the comfort of your lodge, as part of your ‘seaside therapy’. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing