We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Endless Summer Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely guest house with lots if character and a really nice atmosphere. Only thing I thought was weird was that we were not allowed to arrive after 7pm even though the owners live there! That messed up our day because we had to rush to make it there on time and skip places we wanted to see. When we got there I couldn't see why we weren't allowed to arrive later.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank NoelyK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AW0481, Owner at Endless Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for your nice review. We put all our energy and passion into the lodge. We close our office at 7.00pm because we are a small family run hostel open 7 days a week. This way we can have dinner, walk our dogs and catch up with friends in the community. Everybody is informed that we close at 7.00pm when they book as we know this is not always convenient, and some people choose to stay elsewhere with later office hours. Enjoy the rest of your trip, Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 100 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

Fantastic building situated just over the road from the beach with hammocks, table tennis and a large front garden to relax in. The rooms were spacious and well decorated and the owners were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AW0481, Owner at Endless Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for your lovely words, great that you enjoyed your stay, regards anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Beutifully renovated Victorian house,Kauri floors and panneling.Made most welcome by anna and Blair,lovely well furnished room overlooking the sea.A large garden to relax in and great area to eat in at the back.One of the best hostels we stayed in.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AW0481, Owner at Endless Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Your review made us smile, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The beach views are amazing from the front bedrooms. The house is large and the decor is lovely. The house has everything you could possible want including a dishwasher. You can hire surf boards and wet suits. The hosts were really friendly and helpful. It whole house has a real relaxed atmosphere and we really enjoyed our time there.

Room Tip: the front double rooms have sea views which are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AW0481, Owner at Endless Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Lovely to read such a nice review, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We drove up here from Auckland arriving late on Sunday evening aroun 9.30pm - we were welcome by a lovely english lady and gentleman, they showed us to our room and then around the property, the amenities are first class - although this is a hostel type environment it is so beautiful, so homely, better than some motels I have stayed at in the past. High ceilings and beautiful furnishings, a gorgeous large immaculate kitchen. We stayed in room 1 with a seaview for $81 per night and it was worth every cent! Our room was in presented beautifully, not a thing out of place, towels strategically placed on the bed with a beautiful sunflower rested on them, the slat bed was comfortable, a bit squeaky in the frame, an oil fin heater in the room,more than enough linen, extra blankets and pillows too. The only thing that was a little odd was there seemed to be an electricity timer so at about midnight the lamps went out and the phones stopped charging but we were still able to use the main overhead light. The shower was great, excellent pressure and underfloor heating in the bathroom, a larger mirror would have been useful for make up application but we had a great stay overall. The sea is just accross the road and you can hear the water lapping at shore as you as you drift off to sleep or sit outside to smoke or stargaze. The owners and staff really love this place and enjoy being hospitable to their guests, it really shows - i cannot fault this place... Thank you endless summer for the endless memories.

Room Tip: Room1 has amazing sea views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique-of-Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This backpackers was absolutely beautiful (inside and out). The rooms were clean and beds were comfy. It was great that all linens were provided with the room fee. We booked an awesome, and very cheap, day trip to cape reinga through them. They picked us up at the lodge and dropped us back off as well. The lodge is right on the beach and the area is not stuffed with tourists or shops. The ultimate relaxation. My only complaint is that we brought our food into our room and the next evening the wall and food was covered in ants. Anna was great though and vacuumed them all up and sprayed our room. They were all gone after that, but I would advise future travellers to not keep food in the room. Thanks for a great weekend!

Stayed: August 2013
Thank KMA2788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AW0481, Owner at Endless Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great house, great people and I felt great because of it. Stayed 3 nights. Very relaxing atmosphere and great location across from beach and great surfing at Shipwreck Bay. Best to have a car because it is a bt out of town and that is part of the charm. Bring your own food and drinks and use the great kitchen, grill and dining areas.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimmellDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AW0481, Owner at Endless Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Hello Tim, thank you for your great comments. I believe it is the people who create the atmosphere and you definitely did that. We enjoyed your company, your happiness and music. Keep up the surfing. Cheers anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahipara
2 mi away
Ahipara Holiday Park
Ahipara Holiday Park
#3 of 8 in Ahipara
136 reviews
8.8 mi away
Waters Edge Bed & Breakfast
8.6 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Loredo Motel
Loredo Motel
#1 of 3 in Kaitaia
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Foreshore Lodge
Foreshore Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ahipara
9 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bellovista
Bellovista
#6 of 8 in Ahipara
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Endless Summer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Endless Summer Lodge

Address: 245 Foreshore Rd, Ahipara, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Ahipara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Ahipara
Price Range: $30 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Endless Summer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing