We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Disappointment”
Review of Ahipara Bay Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ahipara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ahipara Bay Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahipara
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Anniversary Disappointment”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

A disappointing Wedding Anniversary taking in account we drove 5 hours to the get away .Standard Studio was attached to the office so lots of people walking past to office & restaurant. View from room was other units no views of the sea as per picture on treatme . Privacy was lacking we had to keep the blinds close while there , the windows & a sliding door was right over beds in room. The room was below restaurant and bar so noise level at night wasn't good. Shower was too small my husband is a big man. Overall The place was neat , tidy the owners & staff friendly the weather beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prophetess82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    32
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
47
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Neil and Raewyn are terrific hosts at what was a great find in a lovely part of the world. We booked for one night and stayed on for a second. Our spa equipped one bedroom apartment was practical and the bed very comfy. The view is stunning and the main reason for choosing this hotel once we'd stumbled upon it. The restaurant food was fresh, high quality and affordable. I will return!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We state one night on short notice at the Ahipara bay motel, dined in the restaurant which was nice and reasonable price for the meal. The rooms are nice enough and look over the bay with great views, we had breakfast on the deck overlooking the bay. All in all a good place because of the outlook, not 4 star but nice enough.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in a deluxe studio over looking the Bay, what a fantastic place to stay ! the room was lovely and clean, well equipped and very comfortable bed. Had dinner both nights at the restaurant, staff were very friendly and food great. Would highly recommend this motel, run by a very friendly couple, thanks for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0602Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaikohe, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We dined at the restaurant on Saturday 12/4/14 night. We were given top service, fantastic food and drinks, excellent hosts, gorgeous views and brilliant entertainment - definitely a restaurant we want to share with others. Enjoyed it so much we couldn't help but leave a tip. Thanks for a fantastic evening Raewyn, Neil and the team

Josephine and Andrew

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine-Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Checked in for two nights at this motel, a small studio unit overlooking the beach, very well set up with everything you could need for a couple of days stay/ comfy bed, everything clean and up to date, good spacious, spotless bathroom with wet room shower, plenty of fluffy white towels, bifold doors open onto a spacious deck area overlooking the beach, with table and chairs for four, comfy sofa (possibly bed settee) TV and DVD player with DVDs available at reception, WiFi also available at a reasonable cost, there is a restaurant but we did not use this, drove into Kaitaia instead, spent the days in the bay fossicking about in the rocks for muscles and clams to have for lunch. cooked on the BBQ, all that fresh air wears you out so early nights lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves. Run by very accommodating couple, nothing too much trouble, highly recommended.

Room Tip: pay a little extra for that view at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbyjosing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed one night at the motel in the deluxe studio room with a deck overlooking the bay. The view was as beautiful as advertised. The room was comfortable. We had a great dinner of fish of the day at the restaurant. Overall, a very nice stay.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra to get the rooms with the decks overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ORbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahipara
1.7 mi away
Ahipara Holiday Park
Ahipara Holiday Park
#4 of 8 in Ahipara
131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Endless Summer Lodge
Endless Summer Lodge
#3 of 8 in Ahipara
98 reviews
8.3 mi away
Loredo Motel
Loredo Motel
#1 of 3 in Kaitaia
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Foreshore Lodge
Foreshore Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ahipara
8 reviews
8.3 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
42 reviews
9.7 mi away
Ninety Mile Beach Holiday Park
Ninety Mile Beach Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Waipapakauri
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahipara Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahipara Bay Motel

Property: Ahipara Bay Motel
Address: 22 Reef View Road, Ahipara 0481, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Ahipara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahipara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ahipara is a small coastal village at the Southern end of 90 Mile Beach, Northland, New Zealand.Our Motel has great ocean views over Reef Point and 90 Mile Beach. Activities in the area include: Surfing, Fishing, golf, Horse Trekking, tours up the beach, Quad Biking and Land Sailing. Our Complex has a small restaurant & bar (The Bay View). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing