We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little piece of paradise”
Review of Ahipara Bay Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ahipara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ahipara Bay Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahipara
Certificate of Excellence
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of paradise”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We recently stayed for 2 nights in this beautiful spot. The views took our breath away and the accommodation was very comfortable. We booked a one bedroom spa bath suite and we had the most relaxing time.
We had friends next door and spent the morning exploring and walking along the beach and the afternoon relaxing on the deck.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLS43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, Owner at Ahipara Bay Motel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. Your title "A little piece of paradise" says it all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    32
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
47
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We had a room at the front overlooking the Bay and it was clean & spacious with a nice balcony & a comfortable bed. The equipment was up to date but there was only a microwave (presumably to encourage visitors to eat breakfast and supper in the owner's restaurant). Fortunately there is a very good fish n chip place 5 minutes drive away in the village. We paid 320 NZD for 2 nights which we felt was OK given the size of the room and the view.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherG-E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, Owner at Ahipara Bay Motel, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Thank you for your Trip Adviser review.
Regarding your cmment about the unit only having a microwave. Our studio units only have Microwaves as they are predominatley set up for our regular corporate guests who, as you correctly point out use the Restaurant.
Most other units have full cooking facilities. Thanks again and happy you enjoyed your time with us.
Regards
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
151 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This hotel offered beautiful views of the beach. However the rooms need some updating, the bed was really soft and the door to the room was warped (causing me to have to slam it to close). I have seem some other comments regarding the owners, but they were very nice and kind to me so that was not an issue.

If you are in Ahipara, this is an OK choice, but next time I would skip this town and continue to Omipere.

Room Tip: Pick one whose deck overlooks the beach. If it is a nice day, you can spend most of the time outdoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, Owner at Ahipara Bay Motel, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to reviw your time with us.
The views are great and after 18years we are still inspired by them.
Sorry that you had trouble with your door. Although the bulding is only a few years old.it moves a little with the seasons and sometimes the door may require a slight adjust. A quick comment would have had it sorted.
Unfortunate that the bed wasn't to your liking but all the beds in the complex are the same and you will note one other clients found the bed to hard.
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Regards
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dargaville, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We turned up and was okayish...Came with Sky TV but the TV was so bad that it was double vision. The bed was the hardest thing I had ever slept on, so the last two days of our honeymoon we were both grumpy, sore and tired. Lack of soap etc and towels were pretty raggy and brownish. Didn't even have a dish rack! So I had to pray the dishes didn't fall off the bench. Felt it wasn't very clean and it stated private deck. Which wasn't, it was one big deck with no privacy at all. Never even met the people who owned the place. Was very different to the experience we had at another stay on the two other nights. Way to expensive for what you get. View was pretty awesome though, but reading the compendium it sounded like it would even cost to breathe so I didn't feel very welcomed at all. All I wanted to do was get out of there and go home. At $180 per night I was shocked. We got a better room and service at our last holiday which only cost us $90 per night and had a spa. So pretty disappointed. We wont be back

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaziaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, Owner at Ahipara Bay Motel, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Thak you for your comments.
Congratulations on your Marriage. If we are made aware of something special like that, we would likely invite you to the bar for a complimentry drink.
It is disappointing to us that you did not enjoy your time with us.
The "Hard" bed !! . All the beds in the complex are the same and are a top range commercial bed.
One of other Guests has commented the bed was to soft, showing us that unfortunatly we can't get it right for everyone.
Regarding the TV reception. TV 1, 2, & 3 are still VHF reception and not the greatest quality. This will change soon with Freeview, but our SKY reception should be 100%. If this was not the case a quick word would have rectified the problem. Same with lack of soap etc.
We feel that the rooms are well equipt and in 18 years have never had a comment about a dish rack.
Regards
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Impressive views of Shipwreck Bay from the front rooms (11, 12 etc) with private deck/balcony and table and chairs with sliding doors for access, the rooms themselves are spacious with excellent self catering facilities (at least room 12 is) and a spa bath and powerful shower. Room 12 has a fold out sofa bed and separate double bedroom. Pay as go Wifi avaialbe as well as ironing board and iron. It's a fair walk to the shop/cafe so I would advise you to drive unless you fancy an hour round trip!

Room Tip: Get a room at the front with the big deck and views - room 12 is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandidKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, Owner at Ahipara Bay Motel, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Thanks for the positive review.
We also feel the front units with deck and views to be special.
3 sizes of units in the block, Studio, 1 B/Room spa bath unit & two bedroom unit.
The studio only has a Micowave but the others have full self catering facilities.
The walk to the shops along the beach can be great if you have the inclination and time.
Thanks again and very glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Regards
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Stayed here for a week while working in Kaitaia.
I regularly travel away for work and have stayed in a number of motels throughout Northland.
The compendium in the room states that they don't expect their staff to do dishes every day or make beds that are covered with personal effects.....I'm sorry I thought this was a motel?
The lack of servicing of the rooms includes bathroom servicing, so make sure you bring your own soap and shampoo etc....
Internet access is a staggering $10 for 200mb....incredibly expensive
Room was comfortable enough with excellent views over the bay. No heating so during winter it can get a bit chilly....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank banzai173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, Owner at Ahipara Bay Motel, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay with us.
Sorry about the delay in reponding as we have only recently been made aware of Trip Adviser.
We are very sorry that your time with us was not up to your expectations as we have a good working relationship with a great number of repeat customers who travel with their work.
Not making clutered beds.... Many years ago one of our cleaners was accused of breaking a laptop left on a bed. After that we made a decision that if beds were clutered not to touch them.
Dishes... We are happy to do a tidy of a few dishes, but have made a decision that on a daily basis that is it. Regarding soaps etc, that is an oversite of our cleaning staff and we apoligize for that. There is a heater in the cupboard in all rooms. In all cases, for any problem, we are only a phone call away.
Regards
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Very solid motel with stunning views over the beach.

The rooms were spacious and well appointed, totally self contained if needed.

The bathroom was a little small, but you ain't staying in that, so no biggie.

See the previous reviewers complained about the owners (Neil & Raewin ? sp) - we found them a delight.

Couldn't have been nicer or friendlier. Reviewer Infourtime complained about being asked if they were going for dinner - it's only a small restaurant so they probably wanted a heads up on who was coming for dinner so they knew how many staff they needed.

Can't fault that in a small business like this.

Lovely food in the restaurant - ask Raewin to cook your Scotch Fillet. About the best one I've ever had. We finished off with some terrific port.

Lovely spot too, up on the hill overlooking the bay.

If you stay tell them "The Captain" sent you! They'll remember me for sure (????!)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugged2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, Owner at Ahipara Bay Motel, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Hi Captain,
Thank for your positive review. I know it was a while ago but we have only just been made aware of trip adviser.
Glad you enjoyed your steak and Port.
Thanks again and hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Regards
Neil (and Raewyn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahipara
1.7 mi away
Ahipara Holiday Park
Ahipara Holiday Park
#4 of 8 in Ahipara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Endless Summer Lodge
Endless Summer Lodge
#3 of 8 in Ahipara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Foreshore Lodge
Foreshore Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ahipara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
8.3 mi away
Loredo Motel
Loredo Motel
#1 of 3 in Kaitaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
8.3 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahipara Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahipara Bay Motel

Property: Ahipara Bay Motel
Address: 22 Reef View Road, Ahipara 0481, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Ahipara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahipara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ahipara is a small coastal village at the Southern end of 90 Mile Beach, Northland, New Zealand.Our Motel has great ocean views over Reef Point and 90 Mile Beach. Activities in the area include: Surfing, Fishing, golf, Horse Trekking, tours up the beach, Quad Biking and Land Sailing. Our Complex has a small restaurant & bar (The Bay View). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing