We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab”
Review of YHA Ahipara

YHA Ahipara
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ahipara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
YHA Ahipara
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ahipara
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This a great hostel in a lovely setting. Stayed in a simple cabin that was very clean and tidy and great value for money. 10 min walk from start of 90 beach and a great base to travel round northland from.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank AmandaAJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Location
Ahipara is a small town. From the backpacker to the next small supermarket it's a 20 minute walk. The next big supermarket is in Kaitaia (Pak 'n' Sav). The backpacker's location is very quite and relaxing and it's near to the great 90 Mile Beach.

Stuff
Friendly but a little bit slow! Our YHA membership wasn't activated by them.

Cleaness
Clean kitchen, clean rooms and a clean bathrooms.

Livingroom
The living room is connected to the kitchen. No couches and an old TV.

Kitchen
The euqipmet is nice espically the big BBQ grill in front of the entrance.

Wi-Fi
Free for YHA members but you have to get a new voucher every 100 mb. They provide you more vouchers at one time. Just asked the stuff.

Heater
The heater in the kitchen/living room is a little bit to small to heat up the room. You have to turn it on early. No heater in our room but the stuff provided us a mobile heater.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stiefa00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Yha hostel on Ahipara holiday park grounds. 5 minutes walk to the awesome 90 mile beach. Set in very pretty grounds. Good kitchen facilities. All rooms ensuite and bathroom very clean. Towels and soap provided. Balcony at the back and great outdoor sitting area at the front with BBQ facilities. Rooms clean, tidy and spacious. We stayed in a 7 bed room in a double bed but no other guests checked in. Staff friendly and helpful. I would recommend it for you're North end/west coast stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EbronDoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

We are a middle aged couple who have returned from 3 weeks travel on the north island of New Zealand. We stayed in a number of YHAs, and also other accommodation, and our reviews of YHAs will be based on TWIN ROOM accommodation.

YHA Apihara is situated in the middle of a caravan park. It is close to the beach, and there is plenty of room all around so you don't feel hemmed in. The accommodation is spread out through a number of cabins, size depending on how many are in each cabin; some are dorm style, others are double or twin or family.

We were allocated what appeared to be a family cabin, with an ensuite, and a separate bedroom, great kitchen facilities, TV and lounge, with a deck to sit on and look over the surrounding paddocks. A bargain at $NZ70 per night.

A quick walk through of the YHA communal kitchen and bathrooms found them to be clean and tidy as expected.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LydiaNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Leeloo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ahipara hotels
0.1 mi away
Ahipara Holiday Park
Ahipara Holiday Park
#3 of 8 in Ahipara
136 reviews
2 mi away
Endless Summer Lodge
Endless Summer Lodge
#4 of 8 in Ahipara
100 reviews
2 mi away
Foreshore Lodge
Foreshore Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ahipara
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bellovista
Bellovista
#6 of 8 in Ahipara
23 reviews
Show Prices

Been to YHA Ahipara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Ahipara

Address: 168 -170 Takahe St., Ahipara 449, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Ahipara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ahipara
Number of rooms: 153

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing