We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bronte Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Morpeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A little gem!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2009

My husband booked this place during a surprise romantic getaway to the Hunter Valley and I fell in love with it!
Bronte Guest House is located in the beautiful, quaint and historical town of Morpeth. It is approx 30 mins from the Vineyards of the Hunter Valley and the same distance from Port Stephens.
It is basically an old shop (I believe it was the original Soul Pattison Chemist) that has been converted into a B&B. There are a number of rooms with a common lounge area. The rooms and ensuite bathrooms are reasonably sized. We found the decor in the room quite modern and very clean. There is a plasma television and DVD player in each room as well as a hair-dryer and shampoo/conditioner etc in the bathroom.
Downstairs there is a common kitchenette which stock basic items. There is also a small but FREE DVD collection.
I particularly loved this and couldnt decide what to see! In the lounge area, there were a number of recent magazines and newspapers.
The breakfast is served in the morning on the balcony which overlooks Morpeth. The view from this balcony was gorgeous and we LOVED the breakfast. It was freshly made and very tasty!
Finally, we found the staff to be really helpful and friendly.
I definately will come back to this place!!!!! A real gem!
PS. Be sure to try the woodfire pizza place down the road.

  • Liked — breakfast!
  • Disliked — nothing.
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misssyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    21
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
84
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, NSW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2008

The room was agreeable. However, one manager was very cold and unfriendly. Due to this, I would not return or recommend the property.

  • Liked — Quaint and clean
  • Disliked — Unfriendly manager
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank novocastria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2008

We did not enjoy our stay at this 4 star guesthouse! The owner/ operators are unfriendly and unhelpful. The lounges are stained, CD's are scratched. Only one communal fridge located downstairs and at the other end of the house - not convenient or secure. No full length mirrors in rooms. Dirty sheets were left lying around in washing baskets. The place lacks any ambience, is cold and dark.

  • Liked — Going to the wineries
  • Disliked — the accommodation
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kdreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2006

We arrived after a short trip from the Central Coast, we were greated and shown our room, which had a huge (and very comfortable bed), a flat screen TV and a nicely designed ensuite. We were left on our own (some B&B's think you need them around all the time) to enjoy the room and the area. In the morning a wonderful breakfast was served on the balcony which included fruit and yoghut, tea and coffee, a hot meal (was an omlette while we were there) and cereal.

The only problem was we had asked them to make a reservation at their sister resturant in the next town only to arrive and they had no booking for us! Luckly the sqeezed us in.

Would recommend for a nice, simple weekend retreat.

  • Liked — The bed and the breakfast
  • Disliked — They messed up with our dinner reservation
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelChick78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morpeth
4.1 mi away
Quest Maitland
Quest Maitland
#1 of 10 in Maitland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Windsor Castle Hotel
The Windsor Castle Hotel
#4 of 10 in Maitland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
17.5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Monte Pio Hotel and Conference Centre
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hunter Gateway
6.4 mi away
Owlpen House B&B
Owlpen House B&B
#2 of 16 in Maitland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bronte Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bronte Boutique Hotel

Property: The Bronte Boutique Hotel
Address: 147 Swan St, Morpeth, Maitland, New South Wales 2321, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Maitland > Morpeth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Morpeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bronte Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNER - Trip Adviser - 2015 and again just now in 2016 Award of Excellance as voted by our guests. The Bronte offers stylish boutique accommodation located in the heart of the historic town of Morpeth, originally a bustling river port town founded in the 1820's. The township sits above an elbow in the Hunter River, its just 5 minutes from Maitland , 40 minutes from Port Stephens and Pokolbin Wine Country and is only an hour and half from Sydney. Enjoy an all inclusive gourmet breakfast overlooking the township and the Hunter River. All rooms have own private bathroom facilities and air conditioning. In house dining options and wine tours can be arranged by contacting us directly prior to your arrival. **The Bronte is not suitable for children under the age of 12 year** The Bronte is proud to be a 100% smoke free. To ensure the comfort of all guests, all guest rooms and guest's common areas are non smoking and a sanitisation fee of $250.00 will apply if smoking occurs within a guest room or any of the common areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Bronte Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing