We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bronte Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Morpeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A weekend escape at Bronte Guesthouse is a great way to explore the historic town of Morpeth. A very comfortable home away from home with lots of nice little touches of luxurious comfort that made us feel very spoilt. Hosts Lisa and Nigel provide an awesome breakfast on the balcony overlooking the main street and Hunter River. This place ticks all the boxes.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 155 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

We spent two mid week nights with good friends in the two king size bed 'Hunter & Garden suite rooms'.
The first impression was that the gardens and exterior needed maintenance. Unfortunately the council were in the process of upgrading the street right outside the Bronte Guest House, which made the Hunter room noisy.
That apart, nothing was too much trouble for Lisa, Nigel and Kerrie. On our booking we asked Lisa to arrange a Hunter wine tour. She chose Rover Wine Tours who provided an outstanding full day tour.
We can only say "wow" as to how great the breakfast was. Nothing was too much trouble.
Would recommend Bronte as B&B

Room Tip: Both king size rooms were good. The Hunter room had a nice balcony and the Garden room had a nice lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ollie30955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Gorgeous renovated and decorated historic guest house! Right in the middle of the buzzing township. Short stroll to everywhere! Warm, friendly, welcoming hospitality! Delicious home cooked breakky enjoyed on the balcony overlooking town and river.
Super comfortable! Highly recommended!!!
Thanks Lisa and Nigel! :)
Nicole

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent two nights recently at Morpeth which is an historic village on the Hunter River just outside Maitland. The Bronte Guesthouse is a gem! Delicious breakfast, comfortable beds and friendly helpful staff. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

A quick phone call to the owners on my arrival had me inside the premises and the owner arrived a few minutes later. I had the choice of 2 rooms and picked the queen size. Very comfortable with a lot of character, including chocolates!

This is a 2 story guesthouse with what appeared to be livingrooms downstairs and most of the bedrooms with ensuites upstairs.

I was initially concerned with the noise from other guests on the creaky staircase but after 8pm I never heard another noise.

My other brief moment of concern was when I could not unlock my door whilst inside the room. It was an old fashioned lock and key and was almost at the point of ringing the owners when I heard the joyful click of the lock. After that it was simple to do and I was greatly relieved that I had not embarrassed myself with a rescue call.

Breakfast the next morning was served on the sunny balcony over looking the town and countryside. Good menu choice -I had fresh fruit and yogurt, French toast with banana and bacon and a pot of tea - just lovely!

Would definitely stay here again and might even suggest it to a small group of friends!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DisneyDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I have just returned from a wonderful wonderful four night stay at Bronte Guest House. I travelled there for work and it was pure bliss to arrive back at the guest house at the end of a long day and sit in one of the two guest rooms enjoying a glass of red or a drop of their complimentary port.

The accommodation is great – Bronte Guest House was actually the original house of Soul Pattinson, the pharmacist, so it is steeped in history. The guest house has been beautifully maintained and has lost none of its heritage charm, but with some modern touches in the furnishings.

Our hosts, Julie and Nigel, couldn’t have done more for our party. From Nigel’s fabulous cooked breakfasts every day to Julie ensuring that everything was perfect. No request is too much – on hearing that I liked reds Nigel recommended some to me and even bought them for me as I couldn’t get away from work – when I arrived home that night there was a box of red waiting for me.

I had not travelled to Morpeth before and was amazed at the history of the place, the home of Brambles transport, Arnotts, Soul Pattinson and AMP

I really liked the fact that Julie and Nigel do not reside onsite, but live a few doors away. It means that when you are in the guest house you can treat it as your own home – and what a home.

Another plus was the walking distance for dinner – the pub on the corner is only 50 metres from doorstep to doorstep and serves really good meals.

And there is a great cheese shop between the pub and the guest house.

There are five fashion boutiques in the main street – my favourite was Princess Bazaar. So I can thoroughly recommend a visit to Morpeth and a pampered stay at Bronte Guest House.


Tania Waterhouse,
Judges Associate

Room Tip: My favourite room was the Hunter Room - although slightly smaller than some, it has a beautiful terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed here at the end of a regional sales trip - as a sales rep I decided to spoil myself and stay in this lovely part of the hunter instead of maitland. It's close enough to maitland for work purposes yet far enough away to feel like a holiday, away from the hussle. The rooms are wonderful and the breakfast was a real treat. On arrival I was given the run down on the local restaurants and I loved the local pub for a really good quality home style meal. Bronte Guestshouse really felt like a home away from home with a lovely heritage ambience, yet a modern feel as well. I will try and stay here whenever I am anywhere near the area.

Room Tip: I had the garden room, which is at the back and I enjoyed hearing the birds each morning intead of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyebluey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morpeth
17.8 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.1 mi away
Quest Maitland
Quest Maitland
#1 of 10 in Maitland
325 reviews
4.8 mi away
Monte Pio Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Hermitage Lodge
Hermitage Lodge
#2 of 8 in Pokolbin
371 reviews
20 mi away
Grapevines Boutique Accomodation
11.6 mi away
Lochinvar House B&B
Lochinvar House B&B
#1 of 2 in Lochinvar
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bronte Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bronte Boutique Hotel

Address: 147 Swan St, Morpeth, Maitland, New South Wales 2321, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Maitland > Morpeth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Morpeth
Price Range: $120 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bronte Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNER - Trip Adviser - 2015 and again just now in 2016 Award of Excellance as voted by our guests. The Bronte offers stylish boutique accommodation located in the heart of the historic town of Morpeth, originally a bustling river port town founded in the 1820's. The township sits above an elbow in the Hunter River, its just 5 minutes from Maitland , 40 minutes from Port Stephens and Pokolbin Wine Country and is only an hour and half from Sydney. Enjoy an all inclusive gourmet breakfast overlooking the township and the Hunter River. All rooms have own private bathroom facilities and air conditioning. In house dining options and wine tours can be arranged by contacting us directly prior to your arrival. **The Bronte is not suitable for children under the age of 12 year** The Bronte is proud to be a 100% smoke free. To ensure the comfort of all guests, all guest rooms and guest's common areas are non smoking and a sanitisation fee of $250.00 will apply if smoking occurs within a guest room or any of the common areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your The Bronte Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing