We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, great location, well run & excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bronte Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Morpeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The historic village of Morpeth is a full-on tourist destination so it's just as well Bronte guest house has off-street parking at the rear. The house is itself part of the history as it used to be a pharmacy in it's way back when life. Part of this great building actually extends over the footpath and it's up there, in the very stylish breakfast room, that you will start your day with what can only be described as a superb breakfast. We had the upstairs room at the back which had a nice king size bed. The room was well equipped with television, reverse cycle aircon and tea/coffee making facilities. The room was also nicely decorated and being at the back of the house was very quiet. The bathroom had a good shower and our only gripes were there were no tissues and the varnished wood surrounding the basin was minus some of it's varnish - but very minor things which didn't spoil a really very nice stay. The owners are obviously sticklers for detail and cleanliness and are also very professional and friendly. We would have no hesitation in recommending a stay here to anybody. For the price, the room and that fantastic breakfast can only be describe as exceptional value for money!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yungkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for The Bronte Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 153 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

Travelled with two other couples we were pleasantly surprised. The service was amazing. Breakfast was fantastic. New operators couldnt do enough for us. Highly recomend The Bronte.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miztraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We had made a very late booking for Easter, were unable to make the first night and checked in late for the second night. the owner, Lisa made sure she knew when we were arriving and as soon as we stopped the car outside the front door in the pouring rain, she was at our car with an umbrella to usher us in. This was tyoical of the welcome we receved.
Ignore any previous comments regarding the staff and service as there are new owners and such remarks could not be further from the reality.
Hihgly recommended (particularly for those of you who have a low tolerance for children when you want to relax). We'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebandRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Great hospitality
I stayed 1 night at Bronte Guesthouse with my husband for my birthday. Lisa welcomed us with a smile, and when I mentioned about my birthday, she upgraded to the garden suite which was really nice. The room is very spacious, nicely decorated and the bathroom has nice amenities.
The accommodation also has a beautiful lounge area with some DVDs, books and games. You can enjoy a glass of local port there.
There are nice selections of food for breakfast. Although I have difficult dietary requirement, Lisa tried her best to serve a nice breakfast for me. She also invited other guests to sing a birthday song for me which was very sweet.
Thanks to Lisa, I had a great birthday. I will definitely recommend Bronte Guesthouse for anyone visiting Morpeth. Judging from many of my hotel experience, Bronte Guesthouse should be 4.5 stars with great hospitality and service they offer.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akm193Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We stayed at the guesthouse in order to be close to the Hunter Valley vineyards. The guesthouse was a real surprise - great room (we were upgraded to a kingsize room on arrival), lovely owner who gave us a bottle of champagne and was really helpful. The room was clean, there were DVDs and CDs to borrow, free wifi and breakfast was perfectly pleasant.

BUT it was super humid and rather than have the noisy air con on, we opened the window. And there was another very noisy air-con/water heater which went on all night.

So while I really enjoyed the welcome and the amenities, it was just too noisy to sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atomicjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

We were delighted to stay at this guesthouse for 3 nights just before Christmas. The property is very pretty and situated on the main street of the very beautiful village of Morpeth. Lisa and Nigel, the hosts, made us all feel very welcome and helped to recommend the activities available. The breakfasts were absolutely superb and varied each day. It was slightly unfortunate that we were in Morpeth on Monday and Tuesday when many of the eating places are closed. However this did not dampen our short break. We would thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay in Morpeth and the Hunter Valley. We would like to thank Nigel and Lisa for making our stay so enjoyable. We hope to stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian_Glass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

My daughter (in her 20's) and myself went to Morpeth for a few days of R&R. We chose Bronte even though previous reviews were a bid negative. FORGET ALL THOSE REVIEWS!!! Bronte has been recently taken over by Lisa and Nigel. We were welcomed by Lisa, who is a wonderful Hostess and made us very welcome. Our room overlooked the main street and had a private balcony, which was wonderful to sit on in the evening with a bottle of wine and nibbles. I was concerned there may be some street noise, but Morpeth is a small town and the nights are nice and quiet. The room (with an ensuite) was extremely neat and tidy and clean. Breakfast was an amazing affair, with a choice of all the usual cereals and breads and lovely fresh fruit and yoghurt, but there is always a breakfast special of some version of eggs. We were treated with different specials each morning - Eggs Benedict being my favourite, beautifully prepared by Lisa. We stayed at Bronte for 3 nights and I am returning in the next few weeks with my husband. I was able to see some of the other rooms and their is a great choice of large airy and very comfortable rooms. Lisa and Nigel are delightful hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. They are very professional about their commitment to providing a relaxing and enjoyable experience. I can see that with Lisa and Nigel at Bronte it will only get better and better. - I highly recommend this B&B - don't miss the chance to stay at a true hunter valley gem!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freelulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morpeth
4.1 mi away
Quest Maitland
Quest Maitland
#1 of 10 in Maitland
295 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Windsor Castle Hotel
The Windsor Castle Hotel
#4 of 10 in Maitland
56 reviews
16.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Hermitage Lodge
Hermitage Lodge
#2 of 8 in Pokolbin
364 reviews
0.7 mi away
Morpeth Lodge Motel
Morpeth Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Raworth
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Close
The Close
#3 of 4 in Morpeth
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bronte Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bronte Boutique Hotel

Address: 147 Swan St, Morpeth, Maitland, New South Wales 2321, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Maitland > Morpeth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Morpeth
Price Range: $125 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bronte Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WINNER - Trip Adviser - 2015 and again just now in 2016 Award of Excellance as voted by our guests. The Bronte offers stylish boutique accommodation located in the heart of the historic town of Morpeth, originally a bustling river port town founded in the 1820's. The township sits above an elbow in the Hunter River, its just 5 minutes from Maitland , 40 minutes from Port Stephens and Pokolbin Wine Country and is only an hour and half from Sydney. Enjoy an all inclusive gourmet breakfast overlooking the township and the Hunter River. All rooms have own private bathroom facilities and air conditioning. In house dining options and wine tours can be arranged by contacting us directly prior to your arrival. **The Bronte is not suitable for children under the age of 12 year** The Bronte is proud to be a 100% smoke free. To ensure the comfort of all guests, all guest rooms and guest's common areas are non smoking and a sanitisation fee of $250.00 will apply if smoking occurs within a guest room or any of the common areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Hotwire so you can book your The Bronte Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing